We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Hotwire.comUS$312*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$321*
US$312*
Great Deal
US$321*
US$321*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 942: English reviews
Start your review of Shantara Resort Port Douglas
 Click to rate
Cumbria
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Shantara for four nights on our trip around Australia. The customer service at this hotel is exemplary. All the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The owner made it her business to come and talk to us on two occasions to ask if she could help in anyway, she is the only owner I have met...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have had a lovely stay at the Shantara! The welcome staff were obliging and willing to help us reconfirm our activity bookings. They were forthcoming with recommendations and very polite. The Shantara is a great place to relax, the pool is lovely and it's convenient to walk to the main street, marina and around town. We had a hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyDinah
Shantara, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review LadyDinah. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Shantara and that you found the staff helpful, polite and professional. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Please book direct and tell staff that you are a repeat guest.

Scoresby, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Shantara Resort for our 20th wedding anniversary from 29th April - 6th May. We couldn't have asked for a better place. Very clean lovely and quiet. The staff were amazing and very friendly. Helped us decided what the best way to do one of our tours and booked it for us, confirmed another tour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellie0305
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Nellie0305. We appreciate you mentioning the performance of our housekeeping and reception staff. We are pleased to have played a part in your successful anniversary and we look forward to seeing you on your future visit. Please book direct.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is right in the centre of Port Douglas near resturants, pubs, Coles etc, Rooms are a great size, facilities excellent. We had swim out room . Planning on bringing the kids back next year. Can walk everywhere

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzie G
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Susie G.and for mentioning our great position.Please book direct for your next visit,but note that we are an adults only resort(16 and over).

Chatswood, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All the usual amenities, parking, pools, shared BBQ. The rooms were large, clean and in good condition. Wonderful king size bed (Euro style) and huge bathroom. Large, relaxing lounge room. The kitchen was small but everything worked and there was enough hardware supplied that we could comfortably cook almost anything we wanted, a big advantage if you're in town for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
Shantara, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Rob D. You are quite right that the whole area has problems with Wi-Fi. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you book direct for your next visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in a studio pool ground floor room. The room was smallish but clean and everything felt new and looked after with care. Pillows - I'm like the 'princess & the pea' - my pillow was too hard so my sleep was intermittent - third world problem so I will be quiet now. My only and real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiwijustme
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Kiwijustme, thanks for your feedback, it will be taken on board. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we do hope to see you again at Shantara.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good facilities. Had everything we needed with a balcony overlooking one of the two beautiful pools. Very quiet as it is an adults only resort and that was also a highlight. Water pressure in the shower could have been stronger and a restaurant downstairs would have been convenient, but, we were fortunate to have had 29 degrees every day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick I
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Nick, Thanks for the review. The water pressure is normally not a problem, if the guest lets us know we will just change the shower head as they do get a little blocked. We are please the balance of your stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you again at Shantara.

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 nights in April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Shantara. Great location, an easy walk to main centre without being right in the heart of Port Douglas. The adult only property is very well run, nice decor, pretty pool area, clean and the accommodations are well equipped with all the necessary amenities - well thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frangipani57
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Hi Frangipani, thanks for the excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you again at Shantara.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful room and pool , short walk to Main Street and restaurants and also Marina. The Manager Ozzie Moore makes you feel very welcome , great location to stay in Port Douglas . And highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review David.We are pleased that you had a great time and please contact us direct for your next visit.

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We stayed here for 5 nights on recommendation. We were not disappointed we had a one bed apartment on the first floor. We chose not to have the daily service, which was fine for us due to the short nature of our stay. The kitchen area had all usual facilities, a combination microwave, two ring hob, plus a large fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David_Tracey
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the comprehensive review David_Tracey. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we offer at Shantara. Please encourage your friends and family to visit our website to book an unforgetable holiday and enjoy the experiences that you have in beautiful Port Douglas.

479 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (296)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (43)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Second Pool (8)
Viewed
Shantara Apartment (37)
Viewed
Studio with Pool View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.6 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
671 reviews
0.2 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
917 reviews
0.1 km away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.1 km away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 55 in Port Douglas
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: €105 - €362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shantara Resort Port Douglas staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Shantara Resort Port Douglas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all good rooms”
811jeanm, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Top floors, pool view rooms.”
Frangipani57, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Lower floor onto the pool are the best”
87anthonyb, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All seemed to be pretty good to me!”
kerrymcg, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have there own access to the pool.”
go503, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$312* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$321
Booking.comUS$321
Agoda.comUS$316
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates