We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beaches Port Douglas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Beaches Port Douglas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beaches Port Douglas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Most of the reception staff were rude and dismissive, and acted like we were an imposition (Leanne was nice). They were annoyed by basic requests such as asking for toilet paper. The accommodation is older, and needs renovating. Location was pretty good, but I would recommend looking at other options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whodatninjagirl
Trip A, Guest Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beaches Port Douglas - we see that you actually stayed in August 2015, and we just wanted to advise that since your stay Beaches Port Douglas is under new management and we have new staff working at reception. We are sure that most recent stays will reflect the hard work that new staff and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Beaches is located opposite the 4 mile beach and a short walk to the township where there are plenty of fabulous places to eat. You will notice that I did a review a couple of years ago and have felt the need to update it for a few reasons. The pool area has been renovated since we last visited and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4,747,092,016
Coral Springs FL
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

We had the 2 bedroom 2 bath ocean view apartment for 3 nights. On the ocean, full kitchen, big patio. We loved feeling like we were living there. We cooked our meals. Great to come 'home' at the end of each long busy day and relax and cook a hot meal, as well as starting the day with home-cooked breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Luv
Trip A, Public Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for for taking the time to write your kind review of Beaches Port Douglas. We are so happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We feel we have the perfect base for families and offer spacious apartments with a full kitchen and laundry loacted directly across from 4 Mile Beach. As new managers we...

Reviewed 1 December 2015

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, with beach views, for 3 nights. The apartment is in need of some renovation: many curtain control cords broken, air conditioning very unreliable (despite a maintenance visit), some torn furnishings, a balcony door that didn't shut completely and no soap holder in one shower. Our apartment was on level 3, the top level,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
Trip A, Guest Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time in writing the detailed review of Beaches Port Douglas. We have noted your comments about the issues you encountered during your stay and they will be addressed by our maintenance team, if they were not mentioned and fixed during your stay. We have a very diligent team of housekeepers who do report such things...

Melbourne
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I have been travelling to Port for over 20 years and try to stay somewhere different each time - well maybe not next time as you would struggle to find a better apartment than 311 at Beaches. Although the build quality is somewhat dubious the location to the pool, beach and cafe are the best in Port. Highly recommended. Pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WyeRiver
Trip A, Guest Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to write your kind review of Beaches Port Douglas. We are so happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. After being such a seasoned traveler to Port Douglas we are glad we exceeded your expectations. We strive to offer a great location for...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Ok great location, but room was dirty and run down. BEFORE you book ask to make sure you get one of the newer rooms. I suggest ground floor as you will be able to access pool easily. Very good access to shops and restaurants but heck, not so happy with the cockroaches sharing our living quarter! Yikes!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Krimson2014
Trip A, Public Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Dear Krimson2014 We are disappointed to hear that you did not feel your stay was as enjoyable as you where hoping. It is a surprise to read that you felt the apartment was dirty as we have a very through housekeeping team that pride in their high standards, if it was something that was missed it could have been rectified...

the patch
Reviewed 29 October 2015

My family and I had booked an apartment at Beaches for a week in October.We were really looking forward to going to Port Douglas as we had never been this far north and were not disappointed.Our check in was smooth and we were greeted by a lovely lady who's name now evades me but,lovely and friendly all the same.We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThePatchDasher
Trip A, Public Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beaches Port Douglas. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear that all your interactions with our staff were pleasant and friendly. As new managers we have been working hard to ensure all the apartments are up to our high standard and offered you and...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Whilst the location opposite the beach is unbeatable, upon entering your apartment you wished you did not make the booking. The rooms are in desperate need of updating and in particular bathrooms and kitchen areas. There is mould in all wet areas and all areas require repainting. As well as being generally dirty. What was most annoying was when we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John J
Trip A, Public Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Dear John It is a shame to read your review as your concerns were addressed with the apartment management during your stay. Unfortunately on this occasion Beaches Port Douglas did not meet your expectations, which is a shame considering the majority of the reviews of the complex are very favourable. Whilst we continually ensure that the apartments are clean and...

Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Fantastic location right across from 4 mile beach, very comfortable resort style property, full size swimming pool and spa, plenty of deck area with comfy lounges, umbrellas, tables & chairs. Unit 310 on ground floor has as outside patio area with private gate leading straight into swimming pool area. Very nicely appointed with modern furnishings in beach style, everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trish310
Trip A, Guest Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beaches Port Douglas, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was nice to read that you made the most of the great location Beaches enjoys. Should your travel plans bring yopu back to Port Douglas, we hope to be able to welcome you back again. Thank you Beaches Port Douglas Mangement

SF Bay Area
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We loved staying at the beaches, our unit was so spacious, nicely appointed and well stocked. The deck was large with dining table and chaise lounges, with sliding doors from the lounge and master bedroom. Deck was covered which provides some sun and rain protection. Large indoor dining table as well. Location is perfect, ocean view, quiet but close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mischa134
Trip A, Public Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to write your kind review of Beaches Port Douglas. We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the staff were helpful during your stay. The spacious apartments across the road from the beautiful 4 Mile Beach and so close to...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 km away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 44 in Port Douglas
42 reviews
0.1 km away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#18 of 44 in Port Douglas
124 reviews
0.3 km away
Reflections of Port Douglas
Reflections of Port Douglas
#28 of 44 in Port Douglas
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#10 of 44 in Port Douglas
845 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
227 reviews
0.3 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beaches Port Douglas is the ideal holiday getaway for couples and families. Each self contained apartment provides large living areas and spacious bedrooms with stunning views out to the Coral Sea. Each apartment has its own laundry with washer & dryer and pool towels are provided in each apartment. The property offers a selection of two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies or terraces. The property is perfectly located on The Esplanade close to restaurants, cafes, boutique shopping and across from the famous Four Mile Beach. Beaches Port Douglas offers a complimentary barbeque area, large resort-style swimming pool, undercover car parking and tour desk services. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beaches Port Douglas

Address: 19 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: €157 - €312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beaches Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beaches Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beaches Port Douglas staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Beaches Port Douglas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was in room 320 - I would book that again.”
 of 5 bubbles savillesc, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles robinm492, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“second floor, beachfront view”
 of 5 bubbles 937karstene, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“when choosing a room , consider that the property has no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles david255060, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pool view room was quiet. Not much noise from kids at pool during the day - just what you would expect.”
 of 5 bubbles hb218, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay