We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Asylum is a great hostel for backpackers that don't have too high standards and are on a budget. It's super fun with organized parties, helpful and friendly staff, a cool outdoor beachy chill out-area. You can bring your own alcohol (very unusual) and they even have a special "booze-fridge" in the reception by the chill out-area. Cheap BBQ-nights. Not super...

1Thank Emma L
Reviewed 17 November 2015

There is a special uncomfortable atmosphere!!! The stuff was unfriendly and complicated. It was dirty! Also you can´t pay with your CreditCard. Go somewhere else. I there are some better hostels than this one.

Thank Maximilian H
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

They dont allow any people in accept guests and they are rude about it! I would not recomend to stay here what so ever! Unless youre looking for a bad time. And the hostel it self is very old and not fun.

1Thank Alon T
Asylum C, Manager at Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Alon, We don't have any record of someone of your username staying here, but I can still provide an explanation for our rules. We can have sometimes more than 100 people staying in our hostel, and charge cheap rates for our rooms - we can't afford to cater to people who aren't paying for it. We try to serve...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I visited Asylum with my travel partner as he stayed for three weeks earlier this year and suggested we stay together. It was great that a shuttle bus picked us up from the hostel for free, arranged by the hostel. We stayed three nights. It was great value for the price of accommodation! It was pretty simple, but for the...

Thank Kristin W
Poitiers, France
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This place is ideal if you want to save a buck and party. The rooms were cheap but it seemed like half the place was falling apart. All the staff seemed to car about was getting drunk and partying. If that's what you want, its the place for you! For someone who wants a peaceful night to rest after traveling,...

Thank Benw9898
Asylum C, Manager at Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Ben We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Asylum. Although we do explicitly market ourselves as a "party hostel," we do have rules in place to maintain control and relative order. We will agree with you however, that if you get upset at abnormal antics that a license to party brings, then this place is most definitely...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

This was on of the smaller hostels we stayed in. It's older and quite run down in places but it was clean (kitchen wasn't always very clean... but they were short staffed when we were there). VERY affordable! Very laid back environment. Lots of movies to watch, weekly bbq's and A fun charity driven pub crawl. The staff made the...

Thank LetsGoDoThings
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 31 July 2015

the room was cheap and ok, but as a hostel should be have airport shuttle bus booking service, even you can't booking for the guest, at lease should make a phone call for us. and after check out, if you need luggage storage, they will charge you $5!!!!! what? we need leave the luggage in here just for a while.

Thank mosslee
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 22 July 2015

i came with a friend to stay at asylum for a week(ish). the staff were so helpful, friendly, got to know everyone's name- which i thought made it way more personal. our rooms were comfy, simple (dont expect luxury at hostels haha) and the kitchen was decent. they put in new gas stove burners whilst we were there, which was...

Thank emilynewbery
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

The asylum is a really unique and affordable hostel located in central cairns, everything is easy accessible, the staff is super friendly and helpful, they always have something going on, like the pants down party,BBQ, movie nights etc!

Thank wanderlustreloaded
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

This amazing backpacker hostel is a must if you travel the east coast solo, the place is basically designed for you to meet new cool people, who most likely loves the goon, gooning and gooners!! The place is awesome if you don't feel like spending a fortune on your accomodation or staying where you can't drink your own alcohol Also,...

Thank Kossanmoo

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.9 km away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#39 of 85 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.9 km away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.7 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#22 of 85 in Cairns
212 reviews
0.6 km away
Castaways Backpackers
Castaways Backpackers
#15 of 85 in Cairns
268 reviews
0.1 km away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#16 of 85 in Cairns
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


Additional Information about Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 149 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: €11 - €40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hotel Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5 bed dorms are best value”
JuicyLucy2208, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“single rooms”
RoadRacer711, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“aircon rooms # 2 or 21”
jckrijn87, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“rooms behind the kitchen are quieter close to the esplanade and CBD can book tours with the reception”
emilynewbery, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
“away from the front”
tomhL4586XR, 27 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates