We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Plaza Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Plaza Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Showing 412: English reviews
Thailand
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Location: in the center of the city, not near the pier but it's not so far for walking Room: Very clean, quiet but the bathroom is very old Staff: Very helpful, can give a good advice such as restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pommy1881
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear pommy1881, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Joel Day General Manager

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived late in the night and were greeted by reservation staff who looked totally disinterested. Handed my key in a white envelope with a hand written name. Not very professional for a Rydges hotel. Room was ok,we were on the 5th floor. Little bit noisy from the street below. The beds were comfortable and 11am checkout was good. Worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Connie M Thank you for your feedback. While I wish your stay was more enjoyable I am happy to let you know we are currently in the process of starting a refurbishment of the property to help refresh the property. I hope you have an opportunity to see the new and improved Rydges Plaza Cairns in the future. Joel...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Great location Very good value for money The staff were very friendly and really helpful very professional Clean room The rooms are dated and are in need of upgrading We would stay again for the price and location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen W
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Colleen W, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Joel Day General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

i drove down from a stressful meeting in Mareeba just wanting to check in and stroll down to the Esplanade for a snack lunch and a drink. The staff at reception were pleasant and efficient. The room was very good, although the building is getting tired; the lift lobbies are overdue for renovation. Wi-Fi was free (which it should be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Bruce S, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Joel Day General Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We were extremely disappointed with our recent stay at Rydges Plaza Cairns Resort. We both travel a lot for work, and have stayed at Rydges Hotels in all major cities of Australia, this had to be the worst experience and furthest from expectations. We have approached the hotel manager on duty, to let her know what we thought of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luvjolene
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear luvjolene Thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed that you experienced so many issues during your stay. Could you please contact me directly via joel_day@evt.com Thank you Joel Day General Manager

Reviewed 15 September 2016

Staff are friendly and warm and It would be fair to say they try the best with what they are given. The breakfast is outrageous and terrible - you are better off going to the esplanade for a nicer and cheaper breakfast. The rooms are average - i stayed i nthe king delux so i wonder how the standard rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZainabAdams
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear ZainabAdams Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Im sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast. Id like if you could elaborate further via email so we might address the issues with the kitchen. You can contact me via joel_day@evt.com. I look forward to your email. Joel Day General Manager

Deception Bay, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

As I approached in the cab my thoughts flashed back to Syria on the TV last night... war zone...dirty street... VERY poor street cred. Check in was 2 star affair but we got there. Room is clean but tired. Cracks in the basin, well worn sofa. But as I wrote.. clean.. credit where due* andvthe view isn't too bad. Mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Dave H, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to...

Sydney
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This is not a great property. Rooms are tired, beds very soft, furniture literally falling apart, smelly, poorly maintained etc. Carpets make you want to levitate. Food terrible and needs a major overhaul Staff are friendly but unmotivated. Compared to the two other Rydges in town, unless you want to be close to the centrelink offices, suggest you go for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnzsydney
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Johnzsydney, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are in the process of conducting a refurbishment of the property which will address the issues you have raised. I hope you have the opportunity to...

Canberra
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The best thing about this hotel is its central location in the CBD. Security seems to be non- existent and drunks from the bar end up roaming on the guest room floors. Reception frequently closes up shop to deliver the room service (there is never enough staff around) and I had to change rooms as I was being eaten by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1592VOtanya
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear L1592VOtanya Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I am sorry to hear the stay wasn't perfect however Im glad you found our deluxe rooms comfortable. I hope we have an opportunity to give you a much more memorable stay in the future. Joel Day General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing stay at the Rydges plaza cairns. Perfectly located within the heart of the cbd (unlike others that claim to be in the cbd however are 5+ blocks away). Excellent facilities and incredible showers (hot, with great water pressure). The staff are wonderful, and will admit to being rather smitten for the young lass who checked us in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamiefranciss
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear jamiefranciss Thank you for the great review and I am glad the staff were able to help make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Joel Day General Manager

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#14 of 68 in Cairns
499 reviews
1.0 km away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
0.4 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
954 reviews
0.2 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 68 in Cairns
316 reviews
0.3 km away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#40 of 68 in Cairns
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: €91 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Plaza Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room above level 5 for a view”
 of 5 bubbles Jacolas, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the pool was a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles 822leannec, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles oneword, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid floor 7”
 of 5 bubbles Corey557, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms above the 8th floor are noisy due to AC on roof”
 of 5 bubbles 271perryw, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay