We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cairns Colonial Club Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

696 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cairns Colonial Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 626: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2013

the hotel is dated as other people have commented but we enjoyed our stay.The room was basic and a bit of a let down from our hotel in Sydney but really you only sleep in your room. On holiday in Australia you want to see as much as possible. There were 3 pools that were very different and blended into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank curlystuff
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share with others your experience at ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club. There is so much to do in Cairns when on holidays our guests often comment on how nice it feels to return to the Resorts relaxing environment. A walk in the gardens is always interesting - a highlight the local butterflies and...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial for 1 night, it's quite over-rated and typically a very run down resort. We stayed in a Superior Room and there was nothing superior about it. I would recommend spending the extra money and checking into another hotel. The food at the buffet breakfast was horrible. We were there at 6.00am for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karyn1313
Management response:

Please accept our apologies as it seems the Resort did not meet your expectations on your recent stay. As a team we strive to provide a pleasant and memorable experience for all guests and we are disappointed to know we did not achieve this on this occasion. Your feedback is valued and appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to...

Culburra Beach, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club for eight days which ended up being three days too many. We were situated in the "back blocks", ie the "unrenovated rooms" which we chose for the cheaper price. We didn't realise the unrenovated rooms were where the fly in, fly out mining workers stay; whole blocks were booked out permanently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
Management response:

Celebrating over 25 years of hospitality and service - we enjoy a varied mix of guests including couples, families and groups. As a team we strive to provide a pleasant and memorable experience for all guests and are proud to welcome people from all over the world. With 345 rooms on offer there are both un-refurbished and re-furbished rooms available....

United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Although the accomodation blocks look a little dated, inside they are well equiped, comfortable and very clean, The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the restaurant good - particularly the Tuesday ';T-Bone special' - terific value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PM0555
Management response:

Your comments about the team are appreciated. They strive to make each guests stay an enjoyable one and will be delighted to hear your feedback. If visiting Cairns in the future, we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

qld australia
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we stayed here for six nights in august, the pools were nice, though we didn't have time to use them, the rooms are basic, but clean. choice of pool cafe which has a games room or restaurant, food was basic, but nice. it is starting to look run down, but for the price we didn't expect 5 star so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qldmaggie
Management response:

Thank you for your comments - we value and appreciate your feedback. The Resorts location 10 minutes from the Cairns CBD enables us to offer an ideal value option for those holidaying in Cairns. The expansive tropical gardens and three swimming pools - make for a truly tropical experience and a must to enjoy! When next in Cairns we look...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we visited for only a few days but thoroughly enjoyed ourselves would happily go back we had great rooms less than 20 metres from 2nd biggest pool . everyone flocked to main pool with the bar and resturant so had pool almost to myself . very friendly staff .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
Management response:

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The Poolside Cafe by the Resorts main pool is a fun place! You can laze by the pool with a cocktail or catch up with friends and enjoy something on offer from the blackboard menu. With a games room, childrens playground and spa there too - there is something for everyone.

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I would love to go back for a longer stay. It has everything, Great pool and spa. I arrived early and my room wasn't ready and they provided a spacious relaxing room to wait with coffee facilities, internet, television and even showers. The staff were excellent. We were a little too close to the pool and heard some noise outside...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Management response:

Thank you - your postive comments are appreciated. We trust your next visit to Cairns is longer as there is so much to see and do in Cairns. Or, if it a totally relaxing holiday you wish for there is no need to leave the Resort, we have three pools to laze around - perfect on a warm tropical day!

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Big affordable units with all the comforts you need. Great if basic food. Good and affordable kids meals with a play park and games room to keep them busy while you relax. absolutely beautiful pools and spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnj512
Management response:

Thank you for sharing your experience with others - we are pleased your family enjoyed their stay! The tropical gardens are a highlight for many, and, the three swimming pools each with a waterfall are very hard to resist. The games room, and playground help to entertain the young ones and with childrens menus offered in the outlets - its...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We flew into cairns late from weipa after a week of fishing, there was a group of nine of us. Arrived at the hotel just before 10pm. The receptionist was fantastic ( her name was geisha?) organized our luggage ,rooms and kept the restaurant open just to serve us. It is a nice motel with great pools, very good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Management response:

We appreciate you sharing your experience at ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club with others and will be certain to pass on your positive comments to the staff. It inspires the team to know a guest has enjoyed their stay as they strive daily to make everyones visit a memorable one.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Rooms are very basic, sofas not cleaned for a long time, everything looks like needing a makeover / renovation urgently. Stayed there before 10 years ago before it became an ibis Hotel, it lost soooo much since then. A very nice poolbar is closed now because it was broken into it. I definetly won't come back again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidayAugust2013
Management response:

Please accept our apologies as the Resort did not meet your expectations on your recent stay. As a team we strive to provide a pleasant and memorable experience for everyone and we are disappointed to know we did not achieve this on this occasion. The Pool-bar has not been in operation for over 5 years. We found with people taking...

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.3 km away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 65 in Cairns
456 reviews
1.5 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
545 reviews
2.5 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 65 in Cairns
319 reviews
2.6 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 65 in Cairns
468 reviews
2.7 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is set amongst 11 acres of lush, award-winning tropical gardens. We feature 5 different room categories and 345 rooms in total. Dive into one of the 3 lagoon style pools, enjoy a cocktail at the Pool Side Cafe or squeeze some sand beneath your toes on the man made beach. A variety of dining options are available from the sensational buffet at the Homestead Restaurant to something more casual at the Poolside Cafe. Work up an appetite on the tennis court. With our Guest Lounge, Tour Booking Office, Internet access and Resort Shop, the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club has the facilities to be your home away from home whilst you are in Cairns. All major tour operators pick up and drop off at the Resort, making it easier to explore the wonderful attractions that Cairns and Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Other facilities include games room and a Conference Centre. It is easy to see why the Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club is known worldwide as the premier leisure Resort in the region. Airport and City-centre transfers are available at a nominal fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cairns Colonial Club Resort

Address: 18-26 Cannon St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Ibis Styles Cairns Colonial Club)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: €51 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Colonial Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Cairns Colonial Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Colonial Club Hotel Cairns
Cairns Colonial Hotel
Cairns Colonial Resort
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cairns Colonial Club Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Cairns Colonial Club Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room toward the back of the resort - easy accessibility to carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles crystak, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor away from main centre”
 of 5 bubbles 1wendyr, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay longer to enjoy the resort”
 of 5 bubbles V1037LCstevew, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Almost all rooms are on ground floor ;practically single storied hotel. Very good rooms for people with reduced mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles pulin109, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quite location”
 of 5 bubbles 855kellieg, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5