We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

A1 Inn the City

Save
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Start your review of A1 Inn the City
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We made a booking here for four weeks in advance but needed to cancel our booking a week later due to an unexpected family medical emergency. We contacted Wotif to try and cancel but were informed that the Motel had a no cancellation policy and that they would not supply a refund without the permission of the motel. We contacted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottstanton42
Management response:

Dear Mr Scott Stanton. Sorry to read your review regarding cancelling your motel booking due to your unexpected family medical emergency and that offering a credit for your 2 nights accommodation for you, your family or friends was not acceptable. Unfortunately it states on Wotif when booking there are no refunds but on this occasion we were willing to offer...

barcelona
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We went to "A1 Car Rentals" only to rent a car for one day, and even the price was economic (but not as their publicity says), there were more companies with the same prices, better cars and more services (such the option to reduce the insurance excess).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carles p
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Booked in here after leaving accommodation to last minute in early August 2015. Rooms looked ok on wotif. Receptionist was nice. You can't see rooms from the front or probably wouldn't of booked.. It's located behind/in a car rental place. Room old, bed hard, showers and bathroom old and cracked. Towels clean. Good little set up of microwave and cutlery....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahAshleeEmily
Innisfail, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

This small motel is located behind a car rental store and tour booking centre on Lake St in the heart of Cairns. When I arrived, I was greeted by name before I had even introduced myself. They had been expecting me. The service was superb: the lady who checked me in was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2015

I booked a room at this motel at the last minute on Wotif for the busy Queen's Birthday weekend. The description and photos were promising, the price was pretty good for a city centre motel although not much cheaper than some reputable chain motels and hotels. I should have had an inkling that there would be a problem when no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plush74
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Ideal location, nice owners, ideal for those on a budget. Good location for exploring further north and the reef. Travelled as a group of students and we were not disappointed. Also hired a car for a few days - pretty reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2014

I transit through Cairns regularly on my way up and down to Papua New Guinea and like to stay in good value, comfortable accommodation walking distance from the main drag (the Ibis Styles hotel in Florence St is my favourite in this regard). I have already tried many other hotels around Cairns and this time decided to try something different...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PNG_Travel_Geek
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2012

DO NOT book or hire ANYTHING from this company - they are unorganised but plesent when you give them money but then where there is a problem they are rude, nasty and so unhelpfull! Had the worst customer service with this company I have ever had in my life and im really not somebody to complain but just thought their...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank irishguy2012

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, only 5 minutes walk to City, Shopping, Restaurants, Cairns Esplanade and Lagoon. Budget Motel rooms with air-con, private ensuite, tea and coffee facilities, microwave etc. One Bedroom Air-Conditioned Apartments with kitchen, lounge and separate bedroom that sleeps up to 4 people. Tour Booking office and Car Rental Office on site. Motel Rooms from $75.00 per night. One Bedroom Apartments from $85.00 per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A1 Inn the City

Address: 141 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: €45 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A1 Inn the City 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your A1 Inn the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from A1 Inn the City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?