We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is old and shabby. It had recently been painted however the fridge froze our food, the toilet would not stop running of a night and the curtains didn't cover the window and were threadbare and had holes in them. Advertised with ipod dock not available, Foxtel not available, radio not available. Room serviced daily for first three days...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AlwaysHawthorn
Vince P, Manager at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. After informed by the customer, we immediately replaced new fridge, new curtain (even though the old one only 6 month old), new toilet cistern within 2 hours. After all works have been done, guests demanded to upgrade to VIP room or apartment at free cost. We could not offer it because all VIP rooms were...

Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Supposed to be renovated but were not, paint coming off the doors very old laminate with chips out of it!Very old kitchen utensils! Uncomfortable bed, rubbish around the pool! Was looking forward to spending time round the pool but was not a bit inviting!Never stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lorraineprice
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The renovation has been done in the last 6 months. All rooms have at least soft refurbishments with new LED TV, new air-conds, new fridges, new white goods, hot plate burner, etc...as the minimum. This is a large complex and each room are having its turn with new painting, furniture upgrade. Pool is chemical checked...

Gold Coast
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Cairns is an expensive place to stay if you dont want to share your bathroom with 5 others. So we found the tropical queenslander, nice and helpful family, rooms are clean and getting renovated. If you are looking to spend the whole day at the swimming pool and your room, this is nothing for you. Great if you need a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DylanWebbe
Cooktown, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My family and I stayed here twice in the last three weeks. We go to Cairns regularly. Rates are reasonable. As most other reviews state the rooms need a good clean and update.More kitchen gear is needed and old stuff replacing. No security screens or doors.Can be a bit noisy at times. Vin and his staff are very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brooksy1953
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed here 3 nights, and returned to Cairns for my last night... Called ahead and Vince had my room waiting for me. Excellent family run business, no frills, reasonable price and removed from the noise. Kitchenette is reasonable size and so is the room. As a traveler who has been couch surfing, tenting, and van sleeping for a month,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mgmonk
Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at Tropical Queenslander, Cairns, QLD, Australia in January, 2013. Although branded as a 3 1/2 star lodging it was anything but. Mold, dirt, shopping carts were just a few of the views we had from our 2nd floor balcony. Although we changed rooms, attempting to get a better room, that was impossible. Whatever you do, avoid this lodging!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wooddove
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review

We are the new owner at Tropical Queenslander and we are taking our customer comment seriously. To be franked, the customers checked-in while the hotel were in the middle of renovation process. They were offered a choice to stay at the Hotel including free upgrade to deluxe suite & free wifi OR to have their money fully refunded. The customer...

Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2012

So I was a little nervous about staying here after reading most of the negative reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. I should also note beforehand that there is new management at this hotel and they seem serious about getting this hotel up to par. The rooms were comfortable and clean and staff were always very friendly and ready to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linzi P
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is a below standard Motel which I would have avoided had there been a choice: 600,000 thousand people invaded Cairns to watch the Solar Eclipse - we were not among them. The only good thing about the place is the water pressure which is the highest I have ever met. The restaurant is 300 yards down the road (not80...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank overend94
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are the new owner of the Motel 2 months after your stay. All rooms are under renovation process, and upgraded as we are writing this response.

Adelaide
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as a last minute booking as this was relatively cheap. Firstly, the reception lady was really friendly when we checked in and out. But the hotel itself needs some renovations done....we also felt very unsafe as the first thing she told us was to always make sure the door is closed as 'they are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AL85
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are refurbishing the rooms as we are replying to you. All rooms have new toilet cisterns. We were in the process of changing ownership, some staffs were new and gave you the wrong impression. The room is safe to place your valuable items. The hotel has all the amenities near by i.e. post office,...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Located in 30 minutes from the center of tourist area and the pier. There is a feeling that everything is aged- not redecorated for years. Room is simple, not too bad but not very clean. Has a small kitchenette. Reception works till 6pm. No free wifi. Does not cost the money paid, to be frank.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trubo4ka
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We were in the process of changing ownership. It is now completed. We do offer free public wifi. Rooms are under refurbishment. Office is opened till 8:30PM. There is also a phone handset locate outside the reception to call us if you need help. All late arrival are automatically check-in via PIN number to access...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
3.2 km away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
0.3 km away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.7 km away
Reef Gateway Apartments
Reef Gateway Apartments
#51 of 66 in Cairns
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#34 of 66 in Cairns
456 reviews
4.1 km away
Cairns Southside International
1.2 km away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable, tropical by design, offering self-catering rooms at a very affordable price. Located within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants and City CBD, the Tropical Queenslander offers inexpensive accommodation for singles, couples and families. The property boasts two swimming pools, guest internet facilities, barbeque areas, tour desk and daily mini room service is provided. Experience the casual and rewarding lifestyle of the tropics. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment

Address: 287 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: €68 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no tip ,all I can say is do not stay there”
 of 5 bubbles dcbgulf, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get away from the road and check that the hot water is available before you pay”
 of 5 bubbles JIm255073, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quiet room if you don't like traffic noise. 2 storey building so just request your choice of floor.”
 of 5 bubbles pam2945, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at back of motel; book the larger roms - floor areas are listed on the website.”
 of 5 bubbles Dirranbandi, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor would be easier as stairs with bags are a bit steep.”
 of 5 bubbles jacquie_fs, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5