We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

261 reviews
Save
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (6)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good31%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Special Rate: DORMITORY WEEKLY RATES
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (261)Write a Review
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
147
69
8
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
147
69
8
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfasta free shuttle buscommunal kitchentv roomsmall poolhome away from homebooking toursbed dormrooms are cleanminute walkevery hourthe east coasttracyjjsbackpackersfacilitiesaustralia
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night in our campervan while using the hostel facilities which was $30 for 2ppl. You park in a courtyard type bit where they can fit about 4 or 5 vans. Free wifi and free breakfast. The only thing I would say...More

Thank Allyrosa123
Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. It is a small hostel with a mellow vibe + small pool if you don't feel like heading to the lagoon. It is a bit of a hike into town, but they offer a regular shuttle to the...More

1  Thank 970tara
Response from JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers HostelResponded 7 January 2018

What a wonderful review, thank you! It is great you enjoyed your sty and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with others. Safe travels from us all at JJ's x

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at JJ for one night. We arrived late with our van, Kevin was there very friendly! He didn't have space for our van but offered us a discount on the dorm price for the night. The staff is very nice and flexible and...More

Thank eniram94
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Wow, after such great reviews on Trip Advisor, we thought JJ's would be just what we needed. No. Definitely not. Dirty room, no AC, bathrooms are outdated and there are not that many of them, no relaxing area to congregate, really far out of town,...More

Thank Jenna H
Response from JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers HostelResponded 10 December 2017

It is always very sad to receive a review like this however we do thank you for taking the time to write this. It is a shame you were only with us for one night, left for an early flight the next day and did...More

A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Small but lovely hostel, 20 minutes walk from the town center but there's a free shuttle series for the guests. Everything was clean and the stuff is always helpful and in a good mood. I only stayed there for 2 days but would come back...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers HostelResponded 19 November 2017

A wonderful review, thank you so very much. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return to stay. Safe travels, from us all at JJ's x

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345648
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from JJ's Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"get the aircon rooms, otherwise you are going to regret it"
Read review
"reach out to JJ's to make sure they can accommodate you!"
Read review
"Dorm or private, you can't go wrong"
Read review
"all rooms are good and optional air con or fan dorms twin double and single"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing