We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Cairns

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

257 reviews
Save
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (5)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“free breakfast”(26 reviews)
“single room”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Offers & Announcements: DORMITORY WEEKLY RATES
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (257)Write a Review
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
145
68
8
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
145
68
8
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfasta free shuttle bussingle roomcommunal kitchentv roomhome away from homebooking tourssmall poolwalk into townceiling fanrooms are cleanenjoyed my stayevery hourthe east coasttracyjjsbackpackers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, after such great reviews on Trip Advisor, we thought JJ's would be just what we needed. No. Definitely not. Dirty room, no AC, bathrooms are outdated and there are not that many of them, no relaxing area to congregate, really far out of town,...More

Thank Jenna H
Response from JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers HostelResponded 4 days ago

It is always very sad to receive a review like this however we do thank you for taking the time to write this. It is a shame you were only with us for one night, left for an early flight the next day and did...More

Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 4 February 2017

I came back again. Tracy and Simon have created one of the best, if not the best, hostels on the planet. TravelinAlan has some credibility, having stayed in hostels on every continent (except Antarctica, which doesn't have any). You will feel at home. The staff...More

1  Thank TravelinAlan
Response from JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers HostelResponded 7 February 2017

Always a pleasure to see you Alan, we love to hear of your travels. Keep safe in PNG and we wish you lots of fun and good health. Until we meet again. Tracy & Simon xxx

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Small but lovely hostel, 20 minutes walk from the town center but there's a free shuttle series for the guests. Everything was clean and the stuff is always helpful and in a good mood. I only stayed there for 2 days but would come back...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

A wonderful review, thank you so very much. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return to stay. Safe travels, from us all at JJ's x

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Simon and Tracy are really nice person in this hostel. Very helpful if you need help. Hostel is nice, not too big, calm and close to CBD. Bus is good service for go to the city also and it's free. Nice and quiet room. If...More

Thank Mika P
Response from JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers HostelResponded 1 October 2017

This is a wonderful, thank you so very much! We really appreciate you taking the time to write this and to share your experience with others. Safe travels from us all at JJ's xx

Reviewed 29 September 2017

The hostel staff have been excellent in helping me book my tours and trips, showing patience in moments of indicision, and were very helpful recommending the best options for my last minute bookings! Very knowledgeable about Cairns and always up for a conversation and a...More

Thank Alex T
Response from JJsBackpackersHostel, Owner at JJ's Backpackers HostelResponded 1 October 2017

You are a bloody legend, thank you for this awesome review! It was a pleasure to meet you and absolutely no problem with the help with the tour bookings, we loved watching your skydive video. This is our favourite bit! Safe travels, have fun in...More

PreviousNext
12345647
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (3)
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Bathroom (1)
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite