We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

George Williams Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
George Williams Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for George Williams Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 374: English reviews
Cairns
Reviewed 12 July 2015

The room & bathroom were a little small but more than adequate. My wife & I had a terrace room. Once there I discovered it is actually cheaper to book directly with the hotel? I was annoyed that they charge a surcharge for ALL credit cards but I didn't see this advertised anywhere....AMEX is the most as usual. WiFi is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GazAngCairns
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GazAngCairns, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for pointing out the credit card surcharge information, we are now displaying this on the Front Desk. The information is already on our website, when booking a room. We do recommend researching travel when...

Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2015

This hotel is in a great location to everthing, the hotel it self is very clean and tidy, the rooms are small dont recomend 2 people in a room, my biggest complaint about this hotel is the niose the walls are very thin and you can hear everything and i mean everything. would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LDK1962
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LDK1962, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We do have a high standard of cleanliness and our location in the heart of the city is hard to beat. Our rooms do have limited floor space in our Double rooms, however, our Queen rooms are perfect for 2 people. Our sincerest apologies that...

Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2015

This hotel is amazing. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Their restaurant serves very delicious meals. And the hotel is within easy walking distance to the Queen Street Mall. How can you pass up on all of this?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tremby
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tremby, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the team at George Williams Hotel pride themselves on our friendly, home away from home, culture. Our restaurant, 325 on George, has great specials for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Guests love staying with George Williams Hotel,...

Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Though budget but can be considered boutique as room has very nice feel. Small room but nicely done and my first impression was of very positive vibes. Since it is tall tower like structure, top floor rooms can have good view as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Govind04
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Govind04, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Although our hotel is not very tall, it is in a great location. Our rooms have limited floor space but have everything you need. We believe you should spend your time and money enjoying Brisbane. We...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Cant think of anything nice to say about this place. On arrival there is no where to park so you have to leave your car in the loading zone and hope you don't get a ticket while checking in. There are only 15 car parks at the hotel, with 14 rooms per floor and 8 floors this is totally in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephen T
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen T, Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. Our sincerest apologies that your experience did not meet your expectations. Parking is limited all over the city, with some hotels not having their own parking, and unfortunately we do not have the space to expand our car park. Parking is also limited on the streets, but...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2015

I booked a room and for family reasons was not able to make the trip to Brisbane. I cancelled at noon the DAY BEFORE I was meant to stay and was told that I would be charged regardless. This place does not strive for 100% customer satisfaction in my opinion.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stumpy1961
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stumpy1961, Thank you for your feedback. If you did cancel at 12 noon instead of 8.30pm, you would not have been charged. Our cancellation policy is the same as anywhere else, it is very clear when you make the booking. We are disappointed that you feel this way, but hope you will book with us in the future and...

Reviewed 4 July 2015

I stayed for 3 days.the staff were all exceptionally friendly and nothing was to much trouble The room was small but modern and very clean The restaurant was exceptional great deals on meals,so did not eat anywhere else.Also great location as close to Roma street station and Queen Street Mall. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheryl R
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cheryl R, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and 325 on George Restaurant. Guests love staying with George Williams Hotel, as we are in a well sought after location in the heart of Brisbane CBD, only minutes walk to...

Reviewed 3 July 2015

The foyer of this hotel was lovely.. clean. When arriving to the room is was a tiny box tucked away in the corner. It looked like a true backpackers hotel. The bathroom was so run down. I felt like I was camping! I barely slept from the uncomfortable bed and pillows. The service from staff was great. Would not recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polly199
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Polly199, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We sincerely apologise for your experience, this is certainly not our usual standard. Our rooms and bathrooms are smaller than some hotels, hence this is reflected in our price, but they are not run down. We have just finished refurbishing all rooms over the past...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

As one of the cheaper Hotel options in the cbd we weren't expecting much. However we were pleasantly surprised. Staff are friendly and helpful, room looked modern and fairly new. Great shower. Our room was actually 2 little rooms one with a double and the other with a single bed. Nice linen and pillows. Only odd thing was that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kazbahtoo
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kazbahtoo, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the team at George Williams Hotel pride themselves on our friendly, home away from home, culture. We do not have any two bedroom rooms, it was just one room, hence one window. Some of our rooms...

Auckland
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Stayed here for one night on business. The room was clean and the bed comfortable which we consider to be two of the main points. It was not an expensive hotel, therefore we do not wish to criticise, except to say that the romm was a little on the small side for two people. The lunch down in their cafe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayslong
george201159, Front Office Manager at George Williams Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dayslong, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with other travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your lunch at 325 on George, who have excellent specials for each meal of the day. Our rooms do have limited floor space, hence this is reflected in our price, our Queen rooms are only...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#55 of 166 in Brisbane
1,421 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#116 of 166 in Brisbane
298 reviews
0.6 km away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
#41 of 166 in Brisbane
890 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#50 of 166 in Brisbane
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
George Williams Hotel has undergone an extensive, $2.5 million dollar refurbishment of all 103 room. Offering visitors to Brisbane an affordable contemporary accommodation. Located in the heart of the Brisbane CBD (Central Business District), George Williams Hotel is just a 5-minute walk to Roma Street Train Station, Treasury Casino and the shops and boutiques of the famous Queen Street Mall. George Williams Hotel is a 15-minute walk from Southbank Parklands which features the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and QLD Museum. Suncorp Stadium is also just a 15-minute walk away. All rooms at George Williams Hotel include TV and en suite bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a work desk, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception is open 24 hours. The hotel offers daily breakfast packages, available 7 days a week. The on-site restaurant, 325 on George, offers casual indoor and outdoor dining, and features a variety of international dishes. Guests can enjoy a wide selection of beers and wines at the bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Williams Hotel

Address: 317 - 325 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: €65 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Williams Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your George Williams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Williams Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Williams Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from George Williams Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't have a view, but didn't need one. Needed a clean room & advice on getting around . Good value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles feon_nielsen, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask the reception staff”
 of 5 bubbles paulines657, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Had a room overlooking Southbank and the river, very pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles Josheta, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles raffles123, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Floors on higher floors are great, away from noise and provides better view of city.Corner room is sunnier and the views are better.”
 of 5 bubbles missseunice, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay