We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Brisbane Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 455: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 2 nights in the 8 bed female dorm. The room was super-clean, comfy, well air conditioned and also had 2 showers and a bathroom, which was great value for the cost. The staff were very friendly and helped us when were stuck. The kitchen was dirty, however all the appliances work. I would bring your own dishcloth or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xander205
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

staff despite 2 exceptions rather unfriendly and or indifferent. very busy and long wait for check in and outs. Great Location, clean dorms with ensuite baths. Didnt use the rest of the facilities so can not say more. All in all average but you get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is right in the center of the strip. Enjoy affordable accommodations and friendly staff and locals. There is a kitchen and nearby affordable restaurants. Also helpful for planning activities and meeting other travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracee M
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings from Nomads Brisbane! Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay here in Brisbane and our staff looked after you! We hope to see you again soon!

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This Nomads lives up to the rest of them; overcrowded and dirty. The building is very old, the lift is pretty much unusable since it's so old and slow, and the whole building stinks. There's no air con in the rooms. The bathrooms are small and every time I tried to use them there were other girls taking up the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellyleigh19
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings from Nomads Brisbane! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your feedback. Our building is heritage listed and is 102 years old, and therefore the lift can be slower than most, but is in perfectly good working condition. At our busy periods, as you can understand, the bathrooms do get busy with guests...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The good bits: the staff were nice and the location is very good. Literally on the central station doorstep. The not so good bits: 6 bunk beds in a 4 bed room (even says it on the door), the room was roasting (with only a half working fan to ease our suffering), half of the lockers were broken and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings from Nomads! Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your feedback. Great to hear that our staff were nice, we pride ourselves on great staff here at Nomads! We have a 24-hour reception and always encourage guests to come and see us at any time with any issues. We have lots of spare fans and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the atmosphere of this hostel. Also a great place to stay if you need to plan any fun adventures! We had Alex help us on the Mad Travel Desk and he was so friendly and patient with us and took the time to plan us an awesome trip!!! He is also very good at drawing buses

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings from Nomads! Thank you for your review Alex. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our awesome travel guru Alex looked after your travels plans! We hope that you enjoy your travels in Australia and we hope to see you again soon! Regards, Katie

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Kitchen was awfully hot and there are not enough stoves and microwaves for all the people. Staff was mostly nice. Some beds were really uncomfortable. You always end up at down under when you stay at nomads. The food at down under is really really good (I recommend the veggie burger!) And the prices are acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jule G
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings from Nomads! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food at The Down Under Bar, it certainly is really tasty! And yes, you will mostly end up at the famous Down Under Bar when staying here, full on, flat out 7 days a week!! Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and was rather disappointed. A friend and I had originally booked for a 10bed dorm and on arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a 6 bed; which we thought was great... Until we got to the room and we're told by our other room mates that the aircon was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie S
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ann Marie. Our reception is available 24 hours a day, and we encourage our guests come and see us if they have any issues or problems with their stay. We will always do our best to accommodate you in the best way possible so you have a great experience at our hostels. Your feedback is...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in on a cheap weekly rate. Clean kitchen, rooms and bathrooms. Friendly staff in the desk, cheap food and drinks in Down Under and a big breakfast in the other bar for $8. Rooftop had hammocks and deck chairs to relax in the sun. Would recommend again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burgess-54
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Greetings from Nomads! Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our brilliant meal deals! Our rooftop is a must for the beautiful hot summer months in Brissy, a great place to chill out and catch some rays! We hope to see you again soon! Regards, Katie

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Katie was an excellent help to us. She really went the extra mile to help us out when we were not happy. Have now booked in for another 2 weeks here over Xmas and am throughly looking forward to it. Thanks Katie

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bossman88
BaseBrisbaneCentral, Manager at Nomads Brisbane Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you were looked after and decided to stay for another 2 weeks. We look forward to continuing to make your stay an enjoyable one!

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 km away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#104 of 131 in Brisbane
116 reviews
1.3 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#8 of 131 in Brisbane
537 reviews
1.2 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#27 of 131 in Brisbane
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#68 of 131 in Brisbane
228 reviews
1.9 km away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#89 of 131 in Brisbane
8 reviews
1.2 km away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Brisbane has everything a backpacker could want, with our five floors offering a wide variety of rooms to appeal to everyone from the newly-arrived to the newly-wed, including dormitory and private rooms. All rooms are secured via electronic keycards, while you can keep your valuables doubly secured with our supplied lockers. Linen is also provided so there's no need to bring your sleeping bag! But that's not all. Our rooftop terrace is the place in the Brisbane CBD to catch some sun, chill out, have a BBQ or just watch the world go by while you wait for your laundry in one of our three laundry rooms. If the sun's not your thing then we also have common areas to kick back, relax, and get some quality tv time; that or cook up a feast in our guest kitchen! If you're looking for work, why not let our Job Club give you a nudge in the right direction? Likewise, our friendly travel desk staff don't just know everything about the beautiful South-East Queensland - they can give you advice about anywhere in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific! Downstairs the Down Under Bar is where you can go full on, flat out! Come on down to Brisbane's most famous backpacker bar where you can win great prizes, dance the night away, or even meet Mr/Mrs Right (or Mr/Mrs Right Now!). If you're after something a little quieter then our Zi Bar does great food and coffee, with regular functions to keep you entertained. Dormitories are available to genuine backpackers only. Guests MUST be over 18 years old to stay at Nomads Brisbane Hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Brisbane Hostel

Address: 308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Base Brisbane Central)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: €27 - €59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Brisbane Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Nomads Brisbane Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Brisbane Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Alex is the best”
 of 5 bubbles R6040JDalexj, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lift didn't work so lower level floors and smaller dorms are better!”
 of 5 bubbles katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I you are looking for a good night sleep try the rooms on Level 4 with windows facing the streets.”
  • Twin room inc towel, shampoo, conditioner and body wash
 of 5 bubbles dazzaB484, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend the 8 bed dorms over the six.”
 of 5 bubbles barnabyo2016, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Sorry fairly generic rooms and dorms”
 of 5 bubbles NQFlyer, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay