We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Youth Shack Backpackers

PricelineUS$41*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$45*
US$41*
Great Deal
US$45*
US$45*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Youth Shack Backpackers
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Start your review of Youth Shack Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Me and my partner have been staying at the hostel for a few weeks and it already feels like home. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the room is spot on. We have a double bed.. with a comfy mattress 👌, Tv, fridge, plenty of storage and a private bathroom. The cleaners are hot on the heels to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca Y
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In general Having booked to stay at Chilli's, we were moved to Youth Shack (sister hostel) as it was closed for the wet season. It was only a short walk from Chilli's and our booking was the same so this was not much of an inconvenience. We had a pleasant stay here in a spacious double room. The location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tdlewis123
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms, bathrooms and toilets are disgusting. Nobody is coming to clean after check out. Sink in the room full of hair. People checking in at 6:30 in the morning. Wifi free and unlimited but really slow. You should avoid this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucilemni
Helen F, Assistant Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. It is a pity that you did not let us know you were unhappy during your stay so we could have tried to rectify things for you. Our housekeepers start the room cleans from 10am onwards daily and clean every room, maybe you were not present when...

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Great little rooms (stayed in a double bed private room) with air conditioning and TV. Staff at the desk were incredibly friendly and helpful, providing local info and tour suggestions; as well as helping out with other little queries. There was also a desk for helping longterm guests find work. Nice bar with cheaper beer options (for the area), ping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
Helen F, Assistant Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed so much about the services we offer. It is a pity you felt that way towards our night manager - of all of our positions our night staff tend to meet our guests at their worst especially after...

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend in a double room for 4 nights. Our room was clean and we enjoyed having a wardrobe and fridge. Loved the laid back and friendly atmosphere of the place. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The pool area is awesome; the pool itself is super clean (pretty rare for hostels haha) & big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade-Alexandra T
Helen F, Assistant Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, had the opportunity to see how great our staff are and enjoyed our facilities! Best of luck on the rest of your travels - hope to see you both back here again sometime in the future!

Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed in a double room, the room was clean,had a fridge, TV, wardrobe, sink and aircon. The staff were amazing (GRACE, NICOLA, MARIA AND JORDAN) from the minute we checked in to checking out. The pool area is nice to relax by and plenty of seating area in the sun and shade. The kitchen area is small, but plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne P
Helen F, Assistant Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and your appreciation of our staff! On one of your last evenings you made the comment - how often when on holidays do you go to reception to hang out with staff - that in itself was a pretty good testament to the team we have here. Hopefully we will see you back here...

Reviewed 9 January 2017

I stayed here at a last minute decision due to my pre-booked accomodation being too cold. When I checked in Paris was extremely understanding and accomodating to my need to being able to control the level of air conditioning in the room. The room was clean and the mattress was very comfortable. Though on Mitchell street side, it was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLT73
Brett M, Front Office Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad Paris was accommodating an love reading these kinds of reviews. We do our best to move on the cannabis smokes and make them take that outside but sometimes they just get past us, enjoy the rest of your travels

Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016

YOUTH SHACK is a sizable, purpose-built backpacker joint in the heart of the bar/ restaurant part of central downtown Darwin. One of 3 Mitchell St (main street) backpacker places I stayed at between trips out of town, it was not my personal #1 but was pretty close* and quite impressive. *actually all 3 (DARWIN YHA, YOUTH SHACK and MELALEUCLA) were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blackeldo
Brett M, Front Office Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad we made it into your top 3 hostels in Darwin, take care and enjoy the rest of your travels

Olten, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Right on the main-dragg in Darwin, this hostels offers good and spacious dorms with good beds, big lockers for every guest (big enough for a whole backpack), but only few e-sockets. There are plenty of clean bathrooms with good showers. Wifi is good and stable. The staff is friendly, professional and helpful. In addition there's a pool (didn't try it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dryanta
Brett M, Front Office Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always love receiving feed back and we like to look at ourseleves as a one stop backpackers with all we have to offer, enjoy the rest of your travels

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at Youth Shack as part of a long Wayoutback tour with a night stop over in Darwin and had a great experience there. The toilet and shower block was very clean at all times I went in, as was the pool and bar area which was great to hang out at. The linen was spotlessly clean, as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vikki2207
Brett M, Front Office Manager at Youth Shack Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us an hope to see you again in the future

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.1 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#26 of 37 in Darwin
381 reviews
0.4 km away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
74 reviews
0.4 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#33 of 48 in Darwin
206 reviews
0.1 km away
Darwin YHA- Melaleuca on Mitchell
0.8 km away
Down Under Hostels
Down Under Hostels
#23 of 48 in Darwin
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Youth Shack is a great choice for backpackers and travellers looking for affordable, value for money accommodation. Located right in the heart of Darwin at 69 Mitchell St, the Youth Shack is just a short stroll away from the wide range of cheap eateries, restaurants, bars and nightclubs that Darwin has on offer. For those wishing to relax, grab a meal, shop, or catch a few rays, the Waterfront lagoon and its surrounding cafes and restaurants are only a leisurely ten minute walk away. Providing air-conditioned four, six or eight bed dorms, Double or Twin private rooms (Shared Bathroom), the Youth Shack has become a home away from home for many satisfied guests during its' time. Featuring a large semi-shaded pool, Poolside Bar, great Sundeck, a huge kitchen with adjoining dining area and a Job Shack desk, the Youth Shack has everything required to make your stay comfortable while in Darwin. Get your tan on atop the first floor rooftop sundeck after a day out adventuring or night out partying. Soak your miles away in the pool, relax on the sunbeds and catch up on that book you've been meaning to read or just have a few cool drinks in the bar and make new friends or hang out with old ones. In addition to all this, our experienced and helpful reception staff can assist you with all your tours in the Top End. Ask about our amazing deals on single or multi-day tours to Kakadu, the waterfalls of Litchfield National Park, Uluru, if it's available we will get you on board. Experience the natural beauty and culture of Australia's Northern Territory. 24 hour check-in. Arrivals between 10pm and 6.00am can call the night manager, the number is on the front door of the hostel. In room Locker, Linen provided. Valid photo ID and credit card details required upon check in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Youth Shack Backpackers

Address: 69 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Price Range: €19 - €41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Youth Shack Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Youth Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Youth Shack Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take padlock for supplied room locker.”
MLT73, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are of equal high standard”
michaeldJ5926GE, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“One side of the hostel isn't near the pool so it might be a bit quieter...not positive though”
sophiesophiesophie3x, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If choosing double, make sure your geting tv, dvd and fridge. Especially if your on a budget”
S7694AFscotth, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I had a room along the front which was fine.”
squizzy11, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$41* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$45
Expedia.comUS$45
Hotels.comUS$45
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates