We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elephant Backpacker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elephant Backpacker
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Essen, Germany
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Would stay there again! Ups: Price was very low! Very cheap bar - with great food. Card key locks to rooms. Dorm was large, clean linen and comfy bed and only a 10 min walk to town, 2 to Woolworths Bathrooms cleaner than I expected. Downs: WiFi doesn’t work in room. Kitchen very busy at night, need to get kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uta L
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello Uta, Thank you for your feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thank you

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Sydney accommodation is very expensive and we tried to save money as much as we could on our extended trip. We booked a private room as dorm rooms just aren't for us. The room was very basic but clean and comfortable. We only paid $50/$60 a night therefore you don't expect much. The toilets are individual and not stalls which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcdermotscott
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Scott, I am extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your feedback. I hope all the hints and tips worked out for you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thank you

Reviewed 19 August 2015

Nobody at the reception when we arrived, been waiting for half an hour and while waiting at the reception area it smell very awful, not pleasant and by the time we check in, they deny our booking, but they confirmed us way back on May 25, 2015, thou they give us a sourced accommodation but was very dissappointing from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agnes M
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Agnes, Yes there was a technical error with our online booking system and we apologised for this and sourced you like for like accommodation. As you didn't stay with us you are unable to review our property. Thank you

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2015

This place is great! It is in a fantastic location very close to the city centre, within walking distance to the Art Gallery of NSW, train station, and Opera House. The free wifi & café having cheap meal deals are great, especially given the price. Everything was really clean, they cleaned the bathrooms several times a day and I only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Mark, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you

Ulsan, South Korea
Reviewed 16 August 2015

this hostel was fabulous for the price and what my friends and I wanted to do. Friendly staff, enormous rooms, laundry for reasonable price. Clean and calm. We've booked 4 nights and transfer from airport was really cheap - this is very useful in Sydney where everything is so expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soo-Jin H
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Very good price given how close it is to the city center (a nice 15/20 min walk to Circular Quay). There's a handy Woolworths 5 mins away for food and the nearest train station is 5/10 mins walk. The kitchen has a fair amount of space but not compared to the number of beds in the hostel so I always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KWStravels2015
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback and I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the kitchen often can be very busy therefore many of our guests use our on site café which has extremely reasonable prices. I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Having travelled Australia, Asia and Africa I can tolerate standard conditions and low budget accommodation, however I can honestly say that The Elephant Backpackers in Sydney was by far the worst place I've ever stayed in. I could go on and rant forever about little things, the place is disgusting and the people there seem a bit rough.. But what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicok1993
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Since you stayed with us in December we have under taken a fumigation programme in regards to bed bugs and have had this carried out four times since then! This is not a current issue at our premises. Maybe when you write a review it should be done at the time you actually stayed as 8 months down the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 August 2015

My friend recommended this hostel to me as she had stayed here about a year ago. She warned me it was very busy and can get a bit noisy. I found it surprisingly quiet. Maybe cause it was the weekend of the City to Surf run and a lot of guests were preparing to get up early and enter the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan O
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

HI Siobhan, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Sydney is not cheap so finding affordable and central accommodation is quite hard. Elephant hostel is good for this reason. It's not the best but for what you get (room, clean communal showers) and location, you can't really complain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanna H
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Some of the reviews are rather mixed for this hostel but I decided to stay cause it was so cheap compared to many other places in Sydney. It really doesn't deserve the flogging it gets from some reviews. It is a very big hostel (over 200 beds) and the building is old. But when I was there there were people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Neil, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with at Elephant Backpacker. Thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you again.

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
242 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 133 in Sydney
373 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#30 of 133 in Sydney
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central Backpackers
#69 of 133 in Sydney
83 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 133 in Sydney
217 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#41 of 133 in Sydney
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: €20 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anything outside this hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles makotoy876, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend getting a private room on weekly rate. as its only $200 each (2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles parburytravelgirl, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“108 and 208 are huge, best rooms at the hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a 4 bed dorm - cleaner and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaTrop, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay