We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Backpacker

Save
Traveller (131)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (12)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent6%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible38%
Travellers talk about
“budget hostel”(5 reviews)
“clean linen”(7 reviews)
“big hostel”(8 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Elephant Backpacker
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
25
120
60
31
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
25
120
60
31
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hostelclean linenbig hostelcleaned dailythe ground floorhot watercommon areascouple of nightsenjoyed my stayfew minutes walkopera househeaps
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We booked 10 nights at the hostel in a 2 person room. When we arrived we were told by a girl in the desk that if we wanted ekstra blankets we could just come back down for them. When we came up to our floor,...More

1  Thank Iben L
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 26 October 2016

Hi Iben, Upon reviewing our bookings there is no one who was booked into our property for 10 nights in a private room for two people and also no reports of any doors not locking. All our private 2 person rooms are fully booked and...More

Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed in an 8 bed for a week but it wasn't great. Some of the top bunk beds didn't have side rails and the floors needed a vacuum. We then moved to a private room for a week which was much better. The hostel...More

Thank Katie W
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 26 October 2016

Hi Katie, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I know the repairs can be frustrating at times and we do try to do these with the least disturbance to our guests and the end goal is to enhance the hostel for...More

Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 12th to the 15th of Oct 2016. I stayed at a 6 bed female only dorm , roommates were decent and nice. To be honest I was skeptical about making this booking due to some negative reviews, but...More

1  Thank nikky1010
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 17 October 2016

Hi Nike, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and can see that the negative reviews are not a true reflection of the property. We hope to see you again some day!

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Rude staff, place falling apart rooms were stinky and extremely dirty... toilets even worse. Would rather sleep on the street then in this place.. wouldnt recommend this place to anyone ever.. pics dont come close to doing justice, felt like my feet could fall through...More

1  Thank Marcus G
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 5 October 2016

Hi Marcus. The building is perfectly safe, due to a new handrail being installed the carpet is lifted while the works are being carried out. It seems like you have only written this review due to being asked to leave the hostel, especially since you...More

Reviewed 24 September 2016

When we first arrived we weren't sure we would last a week but ended up staying for 6 months through the winter whilst working and saving through winter. The location is amazing! It's just a short walk from the train station and the city making...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katecolbs94
Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 26 September 2016

Hi Kate. Thank you for taking the time for writing a fair and balanced review. I am glad you enjoy our no alcohol policy as our guests peace and comfort at night is really important to us. We agree that the hostel is not perfect...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Sydney
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$14 - US$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$14 - US$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (131)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (12)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rikawa
30 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Benjamin R | Reviewed this property |
it's not really clear, what you want to say, but I can say, for the time when I was there, which was a year ago, that I enjoyed my stay. it's a low budget hostel. that's what you pay for, that's what you get. no more, not... More
-2
Votes
Room Tips
"Go early to breakfast buffet cause it gets busy closer to 9am."
Read review
"Great value for money.Leafy views.Quiet in the evening."
Read review
"Don't expect 5 star and u will be happy :)"
Read review
"book somewhere else... DON'T stay here !!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing