We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elephant Backpacker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elephant Backpacker
See the most recent reviews
Showing 300: English reviews
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

The hostel has a great location close to the city and the airport bus delivered us directly to the hostel. This hostel has a really good price for a twin room and we stayed 5 nights. The management is absolutely friendly and helpful. If you have any problems, especially when you just arrived in Sydney, they help you. Had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penelope W
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Penelope. Thank you for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Paris, France
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Best price we found in Sydney for a couple ($33 per night for a double bed (2p included) in a 5p dorm). Good location next to the domain/ botanical garden. Party hostel (lots of group of drinking travellers with loud music). Not very clean (old building) but the fridges are ok. Nice staff. The bed is ok, Nice to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lea_F187147
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. We appreciate all of your feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We stayed in mid August. The attached cafe does very reasonable and tasty food plus the staff were great. Unfortunately the staff at the hostel were moody and unhelpful. Maybe working for their accomodation but should not work in any job that involves working with customers. Kitchen always filthy as we're showers. Rooms basic and reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redseri
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our café as much as we do. It is unfortunate you didn't have a good experience in our hostel. Our kitchen and showers do get very busy during peak times as we are such a large hostel but are cleaned 3 times a day to a very high standard. Thank you

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 September 2015

What a great 5 nights stay!! Wish we could have stayed longer and very obvious why many people choose to stay here long term! All the staff were so friendly and extremely helpful! Bathrooms were clean, rooms were clean (basic but to be expected), close enough to walk to the city (10mins), near train station and around the corner (2mins)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fenna M
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Fenna, I am glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback. I hope all the advice I gave you is helpful during your travels in Australia and I hope to see you back again. Thank you

Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I stay at the Elephant approx 3 nights every month and have done so for the past year due to work. I live on the Central Coast of NSW and have to do track work on the rail system and its too far to go home when the work is in central Sydney. I’ve tried other hostels that are around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for your review and positive feedback. We appreciate your business and you are a valued customer. We hope to continue to see you in the future. Thank you

Essen, Germany
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Would stay there again! Ups: Price was very low! Very cheap bar - with great food. Card key locks to rooms. Dorm was large, clean linen and comfy bed and only a 10 min walk to town, 2 to Woolworths Bathrooms cleaner than I expected. Downs: WiFi doesn’t work in room. Kitchen very busy at night, need to get kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uta L
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello Uta, Thank you for your feedback and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thank you

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Sydney accommodation is very expensive and we tried to save money as much as we could on our extended trip. We booked a private room as dorm rooms just aren't for us. The room was very basic but clean and comfortable. We only paid $50/$60 a night therefore you don't expect much. The toilets are individual and not stalls which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcdermotscott
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Scott, I am extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your feedback. I hope all the hints and tips worked out for you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thank you

Reviewed 19 August 2015

Nobody at the reception when we arrived, been waiting for half an hour and while waiting at the reception area it smell very awful, not pleasant and by the time we check in, they deny our booking, but they confirmed us way back on May 25, 2015, thou they give us a sourced accommodation but was very dissappointing from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agnes M
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Agnes, Yes there was a technical error with our online booking system and we apologised for this and sourced you like for like accommodation. As you didn't stay with us you are unable to review our property. Thank you

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2015

This place is great! It is in a fantastic location very close to the city centre, within walking distance to the Art Gallery of NSW, train station, and Opera House. The free wifi & café having cheap meal deals are great, especially given the price. Everything was really clean, they cleaned the bathrooms several times a day and I only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Mark, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you

Ulsan, South Korea
Reviewed 16 August 2015

this hostel was fabulous for the price and what my friends and I wanted to do. Friendly staff, enormous rooms, laundry for reasonable price. Clean and calm. We've booked 4 nights and transfer from airport was really cheap - this is very useful in Sydney where everything is so expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soo-Jin H
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 133 in Sydney
641 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
245 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 133 in Sydney
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Sydney Hotel
#55 of 133 in Sydney
5 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#21 of 133 in Sydney
275 reviews
Surry Hills
The Village Surry Hills
The Village Surry Hills
#76 of 133 in Sydney
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: €20 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anything outside this hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles makotoy876, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend getting a private room on weekly rate. as its only $200 each (2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles parburytravelgirl, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“108 and 208 are huge, best rooms at the hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a 4 bed dorm - cleaner and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaTrop, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay