We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Neighbourhoods
    Neighbourhoods

    Elephant Backpacker

    50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    US$63
    US$41
    SAVE US$22
    US$63
    US$63
    Traveller (116)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (11)
    Overview
    • Excellent6%
    • Very good31%
    • Average15%
    • Poor8%
    • Terrible40%
    Travellers talk about
    “clean linen” (7 reviews)
    “tv room” (7 reviews)
    Public Wifi
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Elephant Backpacker
    Deals (13)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • 2xBed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
      US$63US$41
      View Deal
    • Twin/Double Room (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$63
      View Deal
    • Twin/Double Room
      US$63
      View Deal
    All 13 deals for this property
    • 2xBed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
      US$41
      View Deal
    • 8 Bed Mixed Dorm
      US$41
      View Deal
    • 6 Bed Mixed Dorm
      US$43
      View Deal
    • 4 Bed Mixed Dorm
      US$44
      View Deal
    • 6 Bed Female Dorm
      US$44
      View Deal
    • Double/ Twin Room
      US$59
      View Deal
    • Twin Private Shared Bathroom
      US$63
      View Deal
    • Twin/Double Room
      US$63
      View Deal
    • Twin/Double Room
      US$63
      View Deal
    • Twin/Double Room (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$63
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 13
    Ovolo Woolloomooloo
    1,287 reviews
    #1 of 178 hotels in Sydney
     
    Travelodge Hotel Sydney
    4,963 reviews
    #101 of 178 hotels in Sydney
     
    The Sydney Boulevard Hotel
    1,051 reviews
    #66 of 178 hotels in Sydney
     
    Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
    1,067 reviews
    #59 of 178 hotels in Sydney
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (379)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Elephant Backpacker
    See the most recent reviews

    51 - 55 of 326 reviews

    Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

    ...and that is it. Quite dirty and old. Laundry didn't work, wifi was dead, room door didn't close, here are very random travelers in same place sleeping in very dirty environment. Tv room and big kitchen.

    Thank HannuV
    Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 18 September 2016

    Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the hostel as much as we do. I take on board the feedback you have provided.

    Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

    Staff are friendly, good location BUT rooms were filthy, i found there were cockroaches on the floors when there was plenty of cleaners, the hostel itself is a wreck needs refurbishing, showers were a good size but dirty. I wouldnt stay here againMore

    3  Thank Alexwilliams6
    Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 18 September 2016

    Hi Alex. Thank you for your feedback regarding the hostel. Unfortunately cockroaches are found in Australia ad we undergo a treatment on a regular basis to eradicate these from the building. We are constantly carrying out upgrades and repairs in the hostel to ensure a...More

    Reviewed 18 May 2016

    We had low expectations of this place after reading some of the reviews. The place is old BUT the staff are great, toilets and showers were clean, bedrooms were as you would expect, and a nice little bar in their café to boot. We also...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank FrankNg1234
    Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 18 May 2016

    Hi Frank. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you gave our hostel a chance and enjoyed your stay and appreciate all the hard work the Elephant Team put in to make everyone's stay a pleasant one.

    Reviewed 13 May 2016

    The hostel was a very old building close to city center. It's 15 minutes walking to opera house and Bridge. The area is a bit quiet at night and if I didn't eat at the hostel cafe I wld have to go into city to...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    1  Thank normanm150
    Response from Roisine C, General Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 17 May 2016

    Hello Norman. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We also think the location of the hostel is great and along with the affordable price it makes our hostel attractive to budget travelers.

    Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

    I stayed in this hostel 2 times, at the beginning of my east coast travels and the end of it. And I truly felt at home. I made so many friends, and the staff was so welcoming and helpful! The hostel itself was close to...More

    Thank RasaCassandra
    Response from Roisine C, Manager at Elephant BackpackerResponded 10 May 2016

    Hi Rasa, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and its always very nice for us to see guests returning to the hostel. I hope to see you again in the future!

    Ovolo Woolloomooloo
    1,287 reviews
    #1 of 178 hotels in Sydney
     
    Travelodge Hotel Sydney
    4,963 reviews
    #101 of 178 hotels in Sydney
     
    The Sydney Boulevard Hotel
    1,051 reviews
    #66 of 178 hotels in Sydney
     
    Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
    1,067 reviews
    #59 of 178 hotels in Sydney
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$16 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 45
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • New South Wales >
    • Sydney
    • Also Known As
    • Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (116)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (11)
    Hotel & Grounds (71)
    Bathroom (22)
    Nearby
    Ovolo Woolloomooloo
    1,287 reviews
    .39 km away
     
    Travelodge Hotel Sydney
    4,963 reviews
    .91 km away
     
    The Sydney Boulevard Hotel
    1,051 reviews
    .23 km away
     
    Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
    1,067 reviews
    .61 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Riley St Garage
    258 reviews
    .29 km away
    Bodhi In The Park
    245 reviews
    .33 km away
    Chiswick at the Gallery
    162 reviews
    .28 km away
    Flour and Stone
    67 reviews
    .28 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Royal Botanic Gardens
    6,912 reviews
    .27 km away
    Art Gallery of New South Wales
    2,342 reviews
    .29 km away
    Hyde Park Barracks Museum
    822 reviews
    .45 km away
    St. Mary's Cathedral
    1,323 reviews
    .34 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Rikawa
    30 December 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Benjamin R | Reviewed this property |
    it's not really clear, what you want to say, but I can say, for the time when I was there, which was a year ago, that I enjoyed my stay. it's a low budget hostel. that's what you pay for, that's what you get. no more, not... More
    -1
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Third floor rooms quietest of all!"
    Read review
    "The 3rd floor rooms are the quietest if that is what u are after."
    Read review
    "Breakfast is in cafe which is hidden a bit down a corridor - check it out though!"
    Read review
    "Don't book here at all."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing