We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elephant Backpacker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

My best friend and me decided to splurge and come to Sydney for NY. The fireworks were amazing and worth standing in the sun for 16 hours to get the best spot! Seriously this is what you have to do to get a great view and not pay a fortune. We booked at Elephant with some apprehension cause some of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindytso22
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello Lindy. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If you ever visit Sydney again we would love for you to stay with us again.

Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Certainly different than hostels in Asia! Its large and has lots of guests. Atmospher great - I met a lot of people in the dining room and their café. The dining area is really the only communal area as there is only a small tv room to sit. Hostel is very close to city centre and supermarket is 2 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guen-Hye
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really liked this hotel. It's walking distance from the city train station and quite close to City. Facilities were generally quite clean. Wifi works on ground and first floor and consistent. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel has a no alcohol policy so it had a different vibe from party hostels but I appreciated it particularly as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meridith1111
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing your review Meredith. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you as a guest again in the future.

Chur, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stuff was very nice Kitchen and Bathrooms were ok Rooms are big and they coul'd be more clean....the mattrasses aren't comfortable, but for the price ok... I like that they have an elevator and that the hostel is wheelchair-accsessible. The bar downstairs is just not really a bar ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bily2
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Overall it seems you had a pleasant stay. The cafe & bar is a small area for our guests to socialise and has very cheap rates for alcohol and food.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was rather nervous booking and staying in this hostel cause the recent reviews were terrible. BUT I was surprisedas it was in a good location, my 4 bed dorm was clean and cleaned daily. The linen on my bed was fresh and I could change it as often as I wanted. The kitchen got very busy at night and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lunchgirlparty
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take your feedback on board and always aim to make the hostel better for our guests. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you

Reviewed 8 December 2016

I stayed in a 4-bed room for 5-6 nights. Hotel is VERY old and smelly. Internet works in very specifc places (at least they have free wifi). At my arrival, the receptionist was clueless about some procedures (she didn't know I had to pay the shuttle from the airport, for example). Bathrooms were a nightmare. At one point, I turned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Makoto Y
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I have not reviewed something on trip advisor in so long that I do not know my old account password and had to create a new account. That is how compelled I am to share my feelings on this place. The Good: The staff is very nice and was very helpful in answering all questions about tips for getting around...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WanderLust406
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. From reading your review it seems that a basic budget hostel (one of the cheapest in Sydney!) may not be appropriate for you. I suggest for future travel you up your budget to pick a hostel (or even hotel) that suits your needs more adequately.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Somewhere between terrible and poor. Some of the reasons you would expect, locks on bathroom doors busted, toilets blocked, dated. I didn't expect two toilets in a line of five permanently out of order and two additional ones recently deemed out of order due to blockages leaving one functioning toilet for an entire floor. The small annoyance that got me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Casey C
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hi Casey. Thank you for taking your time to write your review. Yes two toilets on your level were out of order as we had ordered parts which the plumber was waiting on before he could repair. As you only stayed one night you were not here to see they have been fully repaired and fully functional. Blockages do occur...

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

It wasn't the right place for me, is too old, and not clean..a lot of long stay people.. i didn't like and the people are really Too messy.....the staff was good and helpful..cheap but is a improvised hostel.i think they need to do some renovation...the location was good..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zio900
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we appreciate your feedback. Yes our property is a very old building, with a lot of character, and we are working on upgrades.

Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 12 November 2016

It´s a nice hostel, for ervery one who needs a cheap hostel, especially when you work in Sydney. I wouldnt say that the hostel is really clean, but for the price, its alright. The wifi was okay, they have a big kitchen with everything you need and a beer with cheap beer and nice snacks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Benjamin R
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello Benjamin, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 133 in Sydney
642 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 133 in Sydney
246 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 133 in Sydney
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Sydney Hotel
#55 of 133 in Sydney
5 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#22 of 133 in Sydney
275 reviews
Surry Hills
The Village Surry Hills
The Village Surry Hills
#81 of 133 in Sydney
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: €20 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Anything outside this hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles makotoy876, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend getting a private room on weekly rate. as its only $200 each (2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles parburytravelgirl, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“108 and 208 are huge, best rooms at the hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a 4 bed dorm - cleaner and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaTrop, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay