We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elephant Backpacker

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elephant Backpacker
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 309: English reviews
Start your review of Elephant Backpacker
 Click to rate
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hostel in February and chose it based on price and location. We had read some of the reviews and were a little dubious! But Sydney is expensive and given it was well priced and there was 4 of us travelling thought we would take a chance. We were pleasantly surprised! I think when you stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank galerobinson9
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night in march with my partner. We paid $80 for a private room. The bed was bunks with a double bed on the bottom and a single on the top. The bed was comfortable enough and came with sheets and pillows. The linen was clean but the rest of the room didn't look like it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melly081992
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best feature is its location – just on edge of city and only takes 10 minutes to walk through the parks to get to hostel or via this strange travellator that you can get from Hyde Park (near College Street) to a car park right in front of the hostel. This is a good option if its raining. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yelenabondarev
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Male bald manager was the most unhelpful person iv ever came across! Wouldnt give me back my key deposit because i was 50 minutes late checking out! Said that he couldnt check in other people to the room because of it, but if he checked his computer he woulda seen there was already two if not three beds free! Dont...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel stunk as soon as you walked in. When we first walked into our room we found a man sleeping in one of the beds. When we asked reception why he was there and they said they didn't know. They didn't even offer to change the sheets he had been sleeping in. The room had not been cleaned and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgina S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For one, the building was very old and had probably not been renovated in years. The room was okay, except for one of our buck beds, which had no staircases so we had to climb onto it from behind. The common areas were very dirty; I had to wonder if they were any cleaning staff. It is not uncommon to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeanne-Charlott... W
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

The only good thing I can say about this place is that it has a good location. I checked out yesterday after staying there for 5 nights and could not wait to get away. We arrived late at night and the receptionist was rude to us straight away. Not once did he smile or make us feel welcome. He couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cookejoanne
Lille, France
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We stayed in a double in Elephant Hostel for $70 a night a week before Christmas! This was a really a great spot located 5 minutes out of the town, so an easy walk to everything. After reading the poor reviews here, I was prepared for the worst. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was actually a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garcellem
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that having no alcohol in the hostel makes it a much more pleasant place to be. Thank you for the feedback regarding the TV room, we are in the process of upgrading (which you noted)...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE Just to start, I'm not picky at all with hostels. I've been to bad ones and to this one... Our room was dirty, there as nails on the floor, dirt on the walls and even on the mirror (there was a sweaty dick on it?!?!). Room was hotter than a sauna, not even with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GDD1002
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I am also surprised as you came to reception on a regular basis and never mentioned that you were unhappy. If you felt your room did not meet your expectations we would have been happy to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 January 2017

My best friend and me decided to splurge and come to Sydney for NY. The fireworks were amazing and worth standing in the sun for 16 hours to get the best spot! Seriously this is what you have to do to get a great view and not pay a fortune. We booked at Elephant with some apprehension cause some of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindytso22
Roisine C, Manager at Elephant Backpacker, responded to this review

Hello Lindy. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. If you ever visit Sydney again we would love for you to stay with us again.

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#29 of 136 in Sydney
652 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#22 of 136 in Sydney
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 136 in Sydney
394 reviews
The Village Surry Hills
#83 of 136 in Sydney
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located between the night life of Kings Cross and the City Centre. All major tourist attractions are within 10-15 minutes walk. Our hostel has a beautiful new cafe & bar that offers restaurant quality food and backpacker prices. We pride ourselves on being cheap and cheerful.. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Price Range: €19 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Elephant Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book here at all.”
 of 5 bubbles jeannecharlottew, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Anything outside this hostel.”
  • I swear, that's how the sinks look like...
  • Stains, mould and bugs all around...
  • That shampoo bottle spent TWO nights there.
  • The
  • ... and the
  • Hazmats required?
  • The
  • Would you call that a
 of 5 bubbles makotoy876, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend getting a private room on weekly rate. as its only $200 each (2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles katiewC2913BN, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the top floor are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles parburytravelgirl, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“108 and 208 are huge, best rooms at the hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5