We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

580 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 542: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2015

For those not used to Sydney, this accommodation is literally 14 minutes train ride, hop off at St James, and it is not even a 5 minute walk. It is an old hotel, initial impression is definitely WOW! Room however was tired, but clean. House keeping had been duped by the previous occupants of the room who had refilled a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline E Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear about the beer incident. I have let Housekeeping know about this. We will commence a painting program in 2016 which will lighten the rooms up considerably. Please let us know how we can assist you for your next visit. We would...

Brisbane
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I stayed here for work for 3 nights. The reception area is really great. I love art-deco and this place is legit. Its a bit old and tired but I loved it still and sat in the lobby on a couple of occasions to make phone calls so I could soak it up. Room was small but with massive ceilings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brisvegas_clint
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brisvegas_clint, Thank you for your review. As the new General Manager for the Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, I am in the process of finalising our plans for 2016. It will be an exciting year and we will see a number of improvements throughout the hotel, whilst still retaining our heritage charm. If I, or my team can assist you further,...

Uralla, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay, room was great 1102 all staff very friendly and beautiful surroundings thanks especially to Denis and Armindo. Try the yoghurt pots for breakfast :) close to everything needed in the city lovely old world charm and staff who are so accommodating

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelveryoften4
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travelveryoften4 Thnk you sincerely for your wonderful review and complimentary comments on our Front Desk Team. We are delighted that we made your stay special and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Paul Brasch General Manager Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

This is an old (90 yrs) hotel in a good part of Sydney cbd.However it's primary function and raison d,etre is to be the city club for freemasons with outside guests accepted to provide income, the staff whilst not sullen are reserved, the lounge bar and restaurant close at 20:30 sharp to the extent that the waiters circle at 20:25...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ron407
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron407, Thank you for your review but there were a number of inaccuracies in your comments. The building was built in 1927, an 88 year old heritage listed property. The owners & operators are the NSW Masonic Club but this is not a Lodge and is definitely open the the public. Masons or Associates are welcome to apply for...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 11 December 2015

I think I have been to many boutique hotels enough to be able to distinguish between normal hotel and boutique one. This hotel itself is a bit old fashioned. The location is great and we stayed on high floor so it was very quiet. However, the condition of the room and the hotel is general are still far from being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beebisbiz
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beebisbiz Thank you for your comments and I wholeheartedly apologise for any inconvenience caused during your check out time. Your comments have been forwarded to our Front Office Manager for further investigation. The Hotel is indeed an 88 year old building with heritage significance, however, we are continually improving the areas that will enhance our guest's stay where possible....

Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

It amazes me how people complain when they are paying approximately $200 per night in the Sydney CBD. We have travelled and stayed in many Hotels throughout the world. My opinion is that this Hotel offers value for money. The entry and foyer are beautiful to say the least. The key to operate the lift was certainly and old concept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Clive B for your wonderful comments. We certainly do have an ideal location and we try to keep our prices reasonable so that many more guests can enjoy our unique hotel and warm hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Sydney. Kind Regards Paul Brasch General Manager Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Spent 2 nights celebrating our 25th anniversary in Sydney. Our flight arrived very early but they allowed us to check-in earlier than advertised. Slight hiccup with our choice of room being overbooked, led to a free room upgrade which was lovely. Charming art deco features. A great location, central to everything, shopping, walking and transport. We were very impressed by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia Z
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia Z Thank you for your review and kind words. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Paul Brasch General Manager Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2015

The service at this hotel was good apart from them forgetting to give back our $100 deposit (they gave it when we asked, otherwise we would've walked away with $100 less in our pocket). The room was good for the price we paid, lovely carpets and very clean. I loved the art deco feel of the whole hotel. A very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenadventurer
verysatisfied41, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear helenadventurer Thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us. If the $100 was a hold on your credit card, it would return to your account after a preset period, approximately 5-7 business days. We don't actually keep this deposit, it is just a hold for any incidentals that you may change on your account. Thank you also...

Perth
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Booked in as I'm attending a conference. Specifically wanted quiet. Turns out they hold parties downstairs - no noise abatement at all. Add that the phones don't work, so you can't ring and complain! When I rang on my phone I was told it was too bad as they were a party venue as well as hotel. No manager available...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valerie V
verysatisfied41, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valarie, It was good to meet you this morning & to listen to your concerns. We did have a Christmas function on level 4 which ended at 10.15pm, which is within our house policy time frame. Once again, I apologise for any inconvenience experienced as a result. As discussed, I will review future music with our Caterer to ensure...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We spent two nights at the Castlereagh Boutique Hotel recently. Despite a slight hiccup with our booking due it having been made by a third party, the reception staff were very helpful and accommodating. Our room was inexpensive therefore humble but very clean. It was perfectly suitable for our small family. The location of the Castlereagh is its best point....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon e
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Sharon e for your comments. We certainly do have a great location and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Paul Brasch General Manager Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (241)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#118 of 178 in Sydney
1,800 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 178 in Sydney
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney, Phillip Street
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
4,894 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#79 of 178 in Sydney
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel is an elegantly restored, heritage-listed property ideally located in the heart of Sydney's commercial, retail and entertainment centre. The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel has a variety of public bars and dining areas to suit the needs of casual visitors and hotel guests. No stay at the Castlereagh would be complete without dining in the splendor of Cello's Restaurant, our Grand Dining Room, one of the last of its kind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Address: 169 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: €105 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castlereagh Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne
2 months ago
mandurah western australia
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Castlereagh Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“see if they have rooms you can actually see out the window of...”
 of 5 bubbles DA310, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't think there's any views - might pay to ask next time...”
 of 5 bubbles Ando-of-Aus, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on level 10 are small, maybe go for level 11.”
 of 5 bubbles Perth_family_guy, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are a few stairs at the entrance to the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles julnol, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect a drink, a ramp for the steps into the hotel,or a parking spot anywhere near the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles nigelwhite2014, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay