We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

568 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 534: English reviews
Perth
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Booked in as I'm attending a conference. Specifically wanted quiet. Turns out they hold parties downstairs - no noise abatement at all. Add that the phones don't work, so you can't ring and complain! When I rang on my phone I was told it was too bad as they were a party venue as well as hotel. No manager available...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valerie V
verysatisfied41, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valarie, It was good to meet you this morning & to listen to your concerns. We did have a Christmas function on level 4 which ended at 10.15pm, which is within our house policy time frame. Once again, I apologise for any inconvenience experienced as a result. As discussed, I will review future music with our Caterer to ensure...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We spent two nights at the Castlereagh Boutique Hotel recently. Despite a slight hiccup with our booking due it having been made by a third party, the reception staff were very helpful and accommodating. Our room was inexpensive therefore humble but very clean. It was perfectly suitable for our small family. The location of the Castlereagh is its best point....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon e
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Sharon e for your comments. We certainly do have a great location and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Paul Brasch General Manager Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewed 25 November 2015

I had to pay extra per night to get "upgraded" to the type of room I reserved. Even the upgraded room was cramped and the furnishings were warn and outdated. For three days we complained that the cooling system was not working in our room, but it was never addressed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank capeman2014
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Capeman2014' Thanks for your review. Some things don't add up with your comments. We essentially have 2 room types, Standard or Deluxe plus Suites. If you booked a Standard Room, that is the room type you would have received but within this room type, we have Standard Doubles, Twin, Queen and Singles. They do have different rates. I am...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2015

My partner and I stayed in room 915 on 18 & 19 Nov. Whilst we did enjoy the majority of our stay in a relatively comfortable room with great air conditioning there was a couple of things that disappointed us. The first being the shower which ran hot and cold and at times only at a trickle. The other was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sheryl M
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheryl M, Thank you for your comments and i unreservedly apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your comments have been passed on to our Caterer and Maintenance Supervisor for follow up. I have to say that I receive overwhelming glowing comments on our food & beverage team, particularly the breakfast staff so this feedback does come as a surprise. Your...

Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Based on the reviews I've read I was expecting a good experience when I booked this hotel. Upon arriving I heard one of the front desk lady's say "why aren't people booking or hotel?" and I soon learned why. Upon getting to my floor and room it was clear that this hotel was converted from an office setting to a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Russell S
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Russell S, Thank you for your valued comments. As the new General Manager for the Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, I am very keen to review our services and put improvements in place to assist our guests better. Your comments have definitely been taken on board and immediate action implemented. On behalf of my team, I apologise for any inconvenience caused...

Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

I did checking lots of hotels, found that castlereagh has 100 yr history, so historical and the furnitures r great. Then I booked it online. Arrived the hotel around 10pm (after working for a fashion show), the front door's lighting n vintage furnitures r as beautiful as the official pictures. The front desk staff gave me a room key of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mocha L
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mocha L Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. I will have our Maintenance Supervisor check the noise level in the room you stayed in. We do have a guest laundry at the end of certain corridors but our commercial laundry is in the basement so it unlikely that a volume of noise came from...

Brisbane
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Had a lovely room (1111), scrupulously clean and had everything you would want. Front desk and in house bar service was exceptional - genuinely friendly staff who cared about your stay and experience. For Sydney CBD you cant beat the price. Will be coming back most definitely. Quick to walk to everything too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneSmiths
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BrisbaneSmiths, Thank you for your lovely comments and as a fellow Queenslander, I welcome you to Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Paul Brasch General Manager Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

We were looking for a reasonably priced room on a Saturday night in Sydney in a great location. The Castlereagh fit the bill. Yes, the rooms are small and the furniture is tired, but the room was clean, the bed slept well, and the shower was great. Set your expectation at a 3 star and you won't be disappointed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q7212UJjohnr
BraschPaul, General Manager at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Q7212UJjohnr Thank you for your honest review on your recent stay at our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The team is working hard to imporve the hotel so keep supporting us & look out for the tasteful changes. Kind regards Paul Brasch General Manager gm@thecastlereagh.com.au

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#114 of 179 in Sydney
1,712 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#51 of 179 in Sydney
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Phillip Street Sydney City Hotel
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4,650 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#78 of 179 in Sydney
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel is an elegantly restored, heritage-listed property ideally located in the heart of Sydney's commercial, retail and entertainment centre. The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel has a variety of public bars and dining areas to suit the needs of casual visitors and hotel guests. No stay at the Castlereagh would be complete without dining in the splendor of Cello's Restaurant, our Grand Dining Room, one of the last of its kind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Address: 169 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: €103 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castlereagh Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne
1 month ago
mandurah western australia
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Castlereagh Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“see if they have rooms you can actually see out the window of...”
 of 5 bubbles DA310, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't think there's any views - might pay to ask next time...”
 of 5 bubbles Ando-of-Aus, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on level 10 are small, maybe go for level 11.”
 of 5 bubbles Perth_family_guy, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are a few stairs at the entrance to the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles julnol, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect a drink, a ramp for the steps into the hotel,or a parking spot anywhere near the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles nigelwhite2014, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay