We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ultimo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ultimo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 694: English reviews
Start your review of The Ultimo
 Click to rate
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great Hotel in a perfect location with options to shop, eat, fun, ... Being close to the SBD, Darling Harbor, Chinatown, That Town, Korea town, George Street, and Circular Que in walking distance gives you a lot of leisure options.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank seddi1200
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

Hi Seddi - thanks for the 5 stars. Great to see that you got around all over Sydney udring your stay. Regards, Scott

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely stay! Excellent rate on booking.com. Cool concept - asked for star sign on arrival and given star sign related recommendations. Staff weee very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahdC1007CM
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

HI Sarah, thanks for the great review. It's awesome to hear you liked our astrology focus. See you again soon. Regards, Scott

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great little hotel in a pretty awesome location, rooms are simple but really nicely updated with super comftable beds. I booked one of the courtyard rooms so having our night start off with a few drinks on our own little rooftop was a nice touch before getting a quick cab ride to the Opera House. Hope to stay here again...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank courtneye888
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

Hi Courtney - thanks for the great review. I love our courtyard rooms, they are perfect the perfect escape to chill out with friends, exactly as you said. See you again soon. Regards, Scott

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I Always stay here. More than 8 visits in 2 years. Easy and affordable. Very helpful staff. Terrific location. Can always get a room even on short notice. The staff go out of there way to make my stay easier.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianhR2877WF
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

Hi Brian, Thanks for your loyalty, we truly appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Scott

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I wouldn't place The Ultimo over the top: clean, tidy, sleek, perfect location for the city. The price is bit pricey. But if you can get over the money issue, it would be a very nice place to stay overnight for short trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 116jimmyc
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

Hi Jimmy, thanks for the great 5 star review. Regards, Scott

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Friendlyand helpful reception staff, clean airy room but did not like the area due to lake of outlets for a variety of evening meals. Not many places to walk without being away from traffic. Transport was convenient and regular

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Linda T
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

Hi Linda - thank you for your review. Next time make sure you talk to one of the team, we can tell you about plenty of amazing restaurant choices within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. Regards, Scott

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very nice hotel, extra large modern room. Spotlessly clean plenty of clean towels and restocked tea and coffee every day. Staff very friendly and helpful . Good location for most people but I have limited mobility so used taxis to get around. Hotel staff always happy to call taxis for me. Breakfast was in Jamaica blue 2 minutes down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaIsaac
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

H AmeliaIsaac - thank you for your 5 star review. I appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again sometime. Regards, Scott

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clean. Comfortable. Central to everything. Good value for money. Less IKEA would be good not that it's really important at all. Loved the tall ceilings spacious room and old building in a fresh life. Hint: $4 for a 600 ml bottle of water is ridiculous.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dayjus
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

Hi Dayjus - thank you for your review. I'm happy to see you found your stay good value for money. Regards, Scott

Logan City, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very comfortable room, even with 4 adults, very helpful staff, more than happy to recommend to all. Extreeemly good value as it is only a short walk to the new ICC and darling harbour, and plenty of public transport handy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathyw589
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

Hi Cathy - thank you so much for this amazing 5 star review and recommendation. Regards, Scott

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was really well styled, looks like a very fresh renovation of an old hotel. Our room had a beautiful exposed brick wall and trendy tiled bathroom area. It is directly across from the paddys markets and an easy 15 min walk to Darling Harbour. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erinsV7639XK
TheUltimo_GM, General Manager at The Ultimo, responded to this review

Hi Erin, thanks for the 5 star. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Scott

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#64 of 179 in Sydney
1,202 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#89 of 179 in Sydney
915 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aarons Hotel Sydney Central which will be named as The Ultimo Hotel is currently undergoing renovation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ultimo

Address: 37 Ultimo Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Aarons Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Price Range: €128 - €306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ultimo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ultimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ultimo staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Ultimo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The back of the street might be better, but the view is an alley.”
  • Deluxe King room sounds bigger than it looks. Grey and white seems vaguely institutional.
 of 5 bubbles boolbada, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“those looking out the back onto the pedestrian road.”
 of 5 bubbles Arxitravels, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you need space ask before you book !”
 of 5 bubbles HoniaraSunlover, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get one with a window”
 of 5 bubbles 996rayg, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“many hotels in darling harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles jOnathOn49_19, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5