We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

InterContinental Sydney

Show Prices
#27 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,489: English reviews
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed for our daughters 30th birthday. Check in easy, as always and the staff are lovely. Very nice lunch at the meat and wine co on the first floor. We booked our stay using points for both rooms and upgraded to the club lounge prior to arrival.. this lounge and the staff are always lovely and accommodating and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Memphis_11
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good sleep with quiet room on 10 Floor. Room service on time and good dinner. Steamed jasmine rice and steamed veges available as side dishes. Heeeaalthy! Pool was small with great views of harbor bridge from 31 floor. Swam the 60 circle rounds undisturbed on a Friday evening. Fitnestastic!! compact & tidy on 31 Floor. Breakfast a la carte was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fitfun F
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Fitfun F, Delighted to read of your favourable review at InterContinental Sydney! Our aim is to create memorable moments for our guests to write of when they return home, so I am glad that this was the case for you! It is wonderful to also read that you enjoyed our healthy in room dining offerings and were able to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed a night in a club access room at the Intercontinental Sydney on the 25/11 as part of our 10th anniversary weekend. The hotel as you would expect for a 5* hotel was very well run with lots of staff to assist and the breakfast at cafe opera was brilliant, but the star of the show... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brett N
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Brett N, May I first of all give you my best wishes for celebrating your 10th anniversary! Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us at InterContinental Sydney and for allowing us to be a part of such a memorable milestone. We are delighted to hear of your overall stay with us and sincerely appreciate you highlighting your Club... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 11 nights in this very good Intercontinental hotel. It was very well positioned and had fantastic amenities. A relatively small room for such a long stay but when checking in I was only a base level so understandable. Used the gym a few times and ate lunch and dinner on several occasions. Quality of the food was fabulous with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew1bardsley
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Andrew1bardsley, It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you as our guest at InterContinental Sydney. I am delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your time spent with us and that you found the quality of our culinary offerings to be fabulous. My team and I look forward to welcoming you for your next stay with us - of... More 

Agra
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we visited Intercontinental sydney after 10 years to celebrate our 10th anniversary at the same place. the hotel is excellently well maintained and has some old world charm in it. i would have loved to sit in the coffee shop next to the reception and admire its beauty had the time permitted. the room was nice and we were given... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kshitiz S
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Kshitiz S, Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your stay with us in Sydney. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and my team and I sincerely appreciate your kind comments, particularly regarding the corteous and knowledgeable service provided by our Concierge Zafar. I will... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Intercontinental hotel in Sydney for 5 nights Beautiful Clean Very helpful staff Beautiful food for breakfast and the dinner we had one of the nights was fab A bit pricey for drink and food but worth it ( Treat) Would stay there again if i return to Sydney Thank you all at the Hotel for making... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Sydney for your recent visit to our city! It is always refreshing to receive positive comments in regards to our colleagues in particular and I have shared your feedback with all the departments. We do pride ourselves in providing the best service possible and ensuring every guest has a... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was looking forward to my stay at The Intercontinental while at a conference in Sydney, however my first impressions were not good. Check in was quick and efficient as I was the only person in the lobby on arrival about 3.30pm but I noticed that the person behind the desk was not very friendly nor welcoming. Perhaps they are... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LeonieshorncliffeQLD
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed recently at Intercontinental Sydney and had a wonderful time. This is our second time here this year and on both occasions have found the staff to be so good, providing the highest level of customer service. They are friendly and approachable yet professional in all their interactions with you. I believe this is what makes a great hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jailo
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jailo, So thrilled to read of your review and that you enjoyed a most wonderful time spent with us! It is so wonderful to hear that you feel that the hotel service was exceptional as well as, the cleanliness of your room and the quality of the food in The Cortile. To read of these comments is something which... More 

Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The grossly overpriced property is in dire need of a significant renovation an refresh. guest rooms are beaten, worn and dirty....clearly have not been updated in at least a decade, General Manager rudely ignored numerous requests to get in touch with a top-tier Spire Elite member. Arrogant and unacceptable. Many other newer or newly renovated hotels within walking distance....including The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentDinerSteve
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear FrequentDinerSteve, Thank you for your review; as a most valued guest I am devastated that you did not feel the appropriate level of guest love from neither my team nor myself. Since you have also contacted us via the IHG framework I have replied to your email through a separate direct channel. There is no question that we will... More 

Dorset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had problems booking which made me apprehensive about our stay but was pleasantly surprised. Hotel is in a fabulous position within walking distance of the Opera House and Circular Key. Room was pleasant clean and reasonably well equipped although I have seen better. Service was reasonable, no complaints but getting a taxi proved difficult at times. If I visit Sydney... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarkB1234
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review

Dear MarkB1234, Thank you choosing to stay at with us at InterContinental Sydney, and for taking the time to write feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially appreciated our convenient location. I have also taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with housekeeping who love hearing from our guests! I would like to learn more about your pre... More 

1,999 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1662)
Viewed
Dining (166)
Viewed
Bathroom (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (301)
Viewed
View from Room (246)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (182)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
3:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (649)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
King Harbour Bridge View Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (167)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
5,661 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise buildings and after-work drink places, high-end shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle, reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens or picnic lunch at High Park. No matter your interest, be sure to check the full calendar of events hosted by the city, from the Sydney Festival in January to October’s Good Food Month at Hyde Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Meat & Wine Co Circular Quay
The Meat & Wine Co Circular Quay
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
Cafe Opera
Cafe Opera
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Fusion
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Price Range: €194 - €649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Sydney staff and other travellers.
50 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (50)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Club Room - the only way to go”
 of 5 bubbles Memphis_11, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and get rooms facing the opera house and sydney harbour bridge”
 of 5 bubbles fitfunf, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors better”
 of 5 bubbles Andrew1bardsley, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request a high floor”
  • Floor 16 Harbor bridge view rm
  • Harbor view rm
  • Harbor view rm
 of 5 bubbles LeonieshorncliffeQLD, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the tired a grungy hotel. Much better choices with walking distance at lower rates.”
 of 5 bubbles FrequentDinerSteve, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay