We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Show Prices
#45 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Old Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,999: English reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've stayed in Holiday Inn Sydney with mom for 4 days. Prior to booking, I was quite hesitated to make a choice between Holiday Inn and Intercontinental as the price wasn't much different. As soon as I went to the place, I realized that I had made the right choice. The hotel location is one of the best (only behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kieu Ly N
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Kieu Ly N, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your loyalty to IHG. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, it sounds as though you and your mum had a great time exploring the local area. Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and how...

Busselton, Australia
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Unfortunately we didn't get the lovely receptionist name but did notice she had a Trainee badge on - great asset to the hotel she made us feel very welcomed and the whole check in experience easy for a couple of very tired travellers. The room was on the 8th floor with a fabulous view over to the Sydney Harbour Bridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nerolee H
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Nerolee H, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your five out of five review of the hotel and will share with our team. The young lady who served you was Meg and we will ensure that we provide her with recognition of her customer service to you. We were very pleased to...

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Its definitely at the heart of it all! On the ROCK, on the harbour, a minute from the opera house, 4/5 minutes from the Bridge. One minute from the oldest pub in Sydney. Two minutes from the central transport to go where ever you want. Two minutes from the ferry crossings to Manly beach. Good clean hotel. We only had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Christine M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us with a five out of five score. We were pleased to read that you found out hotel so convenient to all of the local tourist attractions and key transport. You certainly can't beat the views and location from here. A beer at the...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I just spent the night at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney last week. I needed a stay located close to the Rocks area, because of the meetings I had. The location of the Hotel was spectacular. The room was quite generous in size and had a lot of natural daylight. I went to the pool at the roof to check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maurorisch
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Maurorisch, As a Top Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Vivid festival is certainly a great event and our rooftop vantage point is a well kept secret of the hotel ! We were glad that you were able to enjoy the...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited Sydney on our honeymoon and chose this hotel for the roof top pool and were not disappointed. We arrived very early in the morning after 24 hours on a plane and very pleasantly surprised that our room was ready and we could get showered and changed before exploring. The Rocks is a great location with many nearby bars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elly1974
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Elly1974, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to welcome you here for your honeymoon last year, congratulations once again. It certainly seems as though you enjoyed your stay in Sydney exploring the local areas with our beautiful Spring weather. A spa on the rooftop is a perfect way to relax after...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Walking distance from Circular Quay railway station if you have carryon luggage. Walking distance to most CBD appointments and in the middle of the historic Rocks area around the Harbour Bridge and opposite the Opera House with good access to jogging pathways. An array of bars and restaurants at all pricing points are nearby. Clean establishment. Good sized rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay R, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your review was very fair and comprehensive. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The four of us stayed here in January for 3 night prior to a 3 night cruise. I cant say enough about how great the holiday inn is especially if you are cruising as well. The hotel is so convenient to everything and an awesome view of Sydney Harbour from the roof. The Rocks has everything you could want too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4happy_travellers
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear 4happy_travellers, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I think the title of your review really does sum things up perfectly. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and the recent Yoko Ono exhibition. Our hotel is perfectly located for pre and post cruise stays so you can make better use of your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This place does it's job as a hotel. The rooms are nothing to boast about however it is more about the location rather than the hotel. However as I am rating the hotel I can't really complain about it, however there is nothing to boast about either. Good for if you are just needing somewhere to wash and sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrendanOldman
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear BrendanOldman, As a Top Contributor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotels location. We apologise that you did not find our rooms to be more to your liking. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday...

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spent one night here and had a very good night's sleep. Comfortable bed, small bathroom with combined bath/shower which I am not fond of. Lots of toiletries. Rooms are arranged around an atrium, which looks good but can be a little noisy. Some singing/music though window, but not sufficiently bad to disturb night's sleep. Free wifi if member of loyalty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Stephen B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again when you next travel for business. Kind regards, Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a great spot with everything right at your door step. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and the bed very comfy (Love having a piilow choice). You must go to the roof top pool area for a great view of the harbour, the bridge and the opera house. Looking forward to staying here many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review

Dear David R, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to receive a five out of five score from you. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and our staff, it is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward...

923 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (852)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (181)
Viewed
View from Room (153)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (257)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 178 in Sydney
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 178 in Sydney
1,199 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
3,911 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Rocks

Neighbourhood Profile
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and sailors from the old nation. As the oldest neighbourhood in the city, the area's cobblestone streets host more than 100 heritage sites and buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney, Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi “ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The weekend markets at the Rocks are where you can find local artists' hand-made souvenirs, organic food and designer jewelry in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. To enjoy some of the best Australian and international contemporary art, the MCA museum is open every day and select evenings. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, be sure to save energy to dance the night away at the area's many late night entertainment venues.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Price Range: €162 - €317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cruise ships obstruct views on most days so not worth paying extra for Harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles WorldlyWombat, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Consider upgrading to harbour view or opera view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles SUNPAWAR, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on level 6 ... view of the harbour bridge was nice. I guess the higher the level the better the view ?”
 of 5 bubbles tedx2016, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have a view of the bridge”
 of 5 bubbles amandab790, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a harbor view room on a high floor. The view is spectacular and it's quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbieBell, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay