We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Show Prices
#44 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,033: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for a 2 night break with my partner. On arrival, I realised how fantastic the location is. It's about a 5 min walk to the docks / opera house / bridge / quay railway station. The lobby of the hotel provides free iced water and sun cream. On check in, I was pleasantly surprised that I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven D
Everett, Washington
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location was ideal for us before our cruise. It's location was a short block from the ship terminal. There is a nice view from the hotel pool (on the top of the building) of the opera house and Sydney bridge. They have adapters for use to plug into if you are from a different country and nee to plug in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail V
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently spent 4 nights at this lovely atrium hotel. We were able to check in early and were happy with our room on the 3rd floor. We enjoyed drinks at the hotel bar and breakfasts and dinners at the hotel restaurant. I thought the buffet breakfast was outstanding value. We especially loved the freshly sqeezed juice. We also enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevandchristine
Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff are very friendly in this hotel and very helpful. The location in the old historic Rocks area is great as you are very close to Circular Quay and the ferries, Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. However, although we upgraded to a room with a view as we didn't like being at the back of the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jude9999_10
Denton, Texas
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a little mix upon checking in but the staff went above and beyond to make it right. (Thank you Brenden for lovely service!) We had a small window view of Harbor Bridge and the cruise ship. (Note: great place to stay if taking a cruise.) The rooftop pool has amazing views, but small pool. The cappuccinos in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KDW415
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to boarding a cruise ship for our "bucket list" 12 day cruise of Australia and New Zealand . We walked directly across the street to board our ship. Unfortunately, the ship lost all propulsion after arriving in Melbourne and we had 2 days to decide whether to leave the ship permanently or wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue b
Management response:

Dear sue b, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stays with our hotel. Whilst it is unfortunate you were unable to board your cruise ship; we are so pleased you chose to stay with our hotel again. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable experience with our hotel and that our staff look after you throughout during...

principal@campbellsbay.school.nz
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unbeatable location re vicinity to all The Rocks has to offer plus easy walking distance to ferries, Opera House, CBD....... Really friendly and helpful staff at reception arriving and departing. The place is certainly a bit tired. It could do with a spruce up and the air conditioning was unreasonably noisy. Suggestions: Ask for a room away from the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boofhead3
Management response:

Dear boofhead3, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here with our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location in The Rocks, and were able to explore and enjoy proximity to Circular Quay and the CBD. We have taken you feedback into consideration, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future....

Branson, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for a cruise overnight loved the great staff easy walk from train from the airport and to board cruise ship Loads to see places to eat in walking distance This is a place I would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
Management response:

Dear Catherine D, Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with our hotel. The location is perfect for a pre or post nights accommodation if you are boarding a cruise ship. We are close to the cruise ship terminal and also Circular Quay train station. The Rocks has plenty on offer to explore, and we are only a...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney for 1 night prior to a cruise. I had stayed at this property once before way back when it first opened in the 80’s and I don’t think the room décor has changed all that much! But, regardless of this, I found the room to be ample in size and very comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steege51
Management response:

Dear Steege51, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with our hotel. The hotels location is in perfect proximity to the cruise ship terminal, which is a short walk from the hotel. As a heritage listed building we do have different shaped rooms, and rooms on all four sides of the building overlooking The Rocks precinct. We are...

Newick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was first class, just near Circular Quay and the ferries and a short walk up George Street to town. Staff were helpful and efficient, the room was pleasant and all we needed. Breakfast was good. We couldn't fault it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve_feb2016
Management response:

Dear Steve_feb2016, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here with our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location, and its proximity to Circular Quay and the city centre. We are glad the staff where helpful, and you had a good start to the day with our breakfast offering. We look forward to welcoming you...

951 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (880)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (89)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (182)
Viewed
View from Room (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (280)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#37 of 179 in Sydney
856 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in The Rocks

Neighbourhood Profile
The Rocks
The first residents of the Rocks were convicts and sailors from the old nation. As the oldest neighbourhood in the city, the area's cobblestone streets host more than 100 heritage sites and buildings, including the oldest house in Sydney, Camden Cottage, which was built in 1816. Taste a “midi “ or a “schooner” of beer and dine “al fresco” on the waterfront at some of the oldest pubs in Sydney. The weekend markets at the Rocks are where you can find local artists' hand-made souvenirs, organic food and designer jewelry in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. To enjoy some of the best Australian and international contemporary art, the MCA museum is open every day and select evenings. At the end of a long day of sightseeing, be sure to save energy to dance the night away at the area's many late night entertainment venues.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Price Range: €191 - €328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Old Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors are quiter, ask for a room not above the bar next door”
 of 5 bubbles 509gailv, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a 3rd floor room with views of George Street and glimpses of the bridge. We found it quiet even though it faced the street.”
 of 5 bubbles kevandchristine, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can pay for a view of the Opera House but you might not be able to see it!”
 of 5 bubbles jude9999_10, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a view of bridge”
 of 5 bubbles Allandi, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Harbour View. Otherwise you will get a city view. A/C was loud, but not enough to disturb you in any major way.”
 of 5 bubbles Arthur12, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5