We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bayswater Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bayswater Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bayswater Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Showing 799: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a really positive experience staying here. Very clean and quiet and although the room was on the smaller side it was more than adequate. Comfortable and great location. Reception staff were attentive and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T5892BZcraigw
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a convenient location and a short walk to downtown. The room we had was small, but clean. We were on the street side and the room was noisy most of the night. I suggest getting a room off the street for a more quiet stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithrP5321PZ
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although this hotel is in the notorious Kings Cross area, it was pretty safe (crime is relative). It was also easy to walk from the hotel to all of the restaurants, parks, and nightlife we intended on seeing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank reginaldab2017
Bowen, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fix the broken things in the room- drain hole in shower you could fall in to, fix the lift, remove the stains from the cushions and carpet and furniture, change the rating from 4 back to 3, upgrade the toiletries- not even any tissues!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q9387TFsusang
sydney_lodges, Front Office Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad that you mentioned the small piece that had broken off the drain cover as we were able to fix it shortly after. As for our lift we are aware that it can be slow at times but his is often not...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a standard double roomand got upgraded to a king bed room. This obviously affects our opinion. Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. Our room was situated on the ground floor in the back, so no noise from the street was to be heard. The location is perfect as well, being in the proximity of heaps...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelP1860IQ
sydney_lodges, Front Office Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review

Hello Michael, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Bayswater Sydney. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, The Bayswater Sydney Team

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

"What is a cockroach?". This was the response given when we mention that we'd woken to find 2 in our room. Judging from past feedback this problem had already been highlighted by pervious guests and said to have been sorted. For anyone thinking of booking, I can confirm this is still ongoing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
sydney_lodges, Front Office Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Bayswater Sydney. Please let us apologise for the misunderstanding with the term or word cockroach when my colleague was addressed over the issue. We always maintained that our prevention methods are regular and thorough but never that we have been able to...

Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant and professional hotel, situated in the heart of Kings Cross and offering easy access to all areas of Sydney. I stayed on the top floor in room 504, which was very clean and comfortable, but a lot smaller than expected and slightly noisy at night due to the wind. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was a great location and a good value for your money. Within walking distance to everything you might want to do, if not close to transportation to get around. Very helpful and friendly staff. Room was clean and mostly quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbaraboblitz
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good facilities in a really good location. Walking distance to the city and Circular Quay, nearby restaurants in Kings Cross and surrey Hills were good quality and reasonably priced. Kings Cross Train station across the road, bus services. Not far from Bondi and we were able to catch the fireworks from down the road

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F6574YRtimw
Hong kong
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good location which is near kings cross station and easily to get a bite. Convenient for walking to Victoria street and Crown street. Toilet easily be wet when showering, young couples are fine with this budget .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SHIN KA L
sydney_lodges, Front Office Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this review

Hello Shin, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Bayswater Sydney. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Regards, The Bayswater Sydney Team

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 178 in Sydney
1,212 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#72 of 178 in Sydney
2,063 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 178 in Sydney
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 178 in Sydney
755 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 178 in Sydney
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Kings Cross

Neighbourhood Profile
Kings Cross
Changing liquor laws are remodeling "The Cross," Sydney's red light district. These new rules have encouraged trendy cafes and boutiques to pop-up in the area, as well as organic markets on Saturdays. The area's nightclubs are still popular with youngsters, however, who will dance to the early morning hours on weekend nights. There are plenty of artifacts from Kings Cross' shady past when gangsters and liquor houses owned the place. Today, one can still find a variety of adult entertainment venues in this evolving area.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Road | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Price Range: €81 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bayswater Sydney staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Bayswater Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles elwd81, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms toward back away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeO709, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for a King room”
 of 5 bubbles rhiannonw649, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles nickiemcd, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“front rooms offer a view. Side rooms look out to a brick wall”
 of 5 bubbles Allimac75, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay