We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BreakFree on George

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BreakFree on George
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on George
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,539: English reviews
Pittsworth
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good staff clean room close to all entertainment areas and a short walking distance to Queen Victoria Building Starbucks coffee across the road and near Patie market and China town the area is very quiet

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Lyn G, Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to your next visit!

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Travel agent let us down on this one. For the price paid and the extra for breakfast, I wasn't expecting to leave the hotel in the morning to go and get our food + uncomfortable bed + roaring elevators next to beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. I would like to share that the hotel is planning refurbishment in coming few months and we hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back in future!

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked-in to be allocated room 801, my colleague and I went to bag drop and investigate dinner to find bags and medications established in the room. We shouted hello just in case there was someone not in view, fortunately to save embarrassment to all there was not response. We promptly returned to reception for me to be reassigned room 601....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaylenemso
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear gaylenemso, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a bumpy start to your stay. Please accept my apologies on behalf of our team member in training. We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back in future!

Toowoomba
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff and great location for walking around Sydney. We had three to a room and had to use the sofa bed. The sofa bed was not very comfortable! The location in Chinatown was good but there was a bit of noise from the street filtering up to our room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 696kayee
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear 696kayee, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us here at BreakFree On George. We look forward to welcome you back in near future!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at Breakfree on George on a Friday arvo with mates. The hotel was located right smack bang at the centre of Chinatown in Sydney. Was even pouring rain that day, I was so happy that they provided us with an umbrella. Pros: Location is great in Chinatown The room was very spacious Cons: Air conditioning wasn't sufficient Dental packs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us here at BreakFree On George. I would like to share that the hotel is planning refurbishment in coming few months and look forward to welcome you back!

Grafton, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very handy location for our access to the conference centre and other venues around Darling Harbour allowing in our breaks to enjoy the shopping close by. Will definitely look at staying again when I have a conference at Darling arbour

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenhO6984DH
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the heart of Sydney CBD. We look forward to your next visit!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

For what we paid - $223 aud per night I expected a much nicer room that didn't smell like there was a dead body being hidden away in the closet. For what it was, I wouldn't pay any more than $100 p/d.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Andrew L, I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. I would like to share that the hotel is planning refurbishment in coming few months and look forward to welcome you back with a fresh new look!

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was incredible, rooms were amazing and most comfortable bed I've slept in in a very long Time! Bathrooms were in good condition, rooms were also in very good conditions and it was also quite affordable staying there in comprison to thwith prices of other accommodations near by!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anarklt
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear Anarklt, Thank you for your 5 Star review. We are delighted to hear that you found us value for money and enjoyed our rooms and service provided in the heart of Sydney CBD. We look forward to your next visit!

mulwala
Reviewed 1 week ago

no refund when left 2 days early for family reasons (stayed 3 nights in king suite )when told by agent credit would be provided at other mantra motels when booking room .would you reply as hotel manager said he would get back to me and was disappointed in what had been said

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanaI632TM
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear alanaI632TM, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Sorry to hear that you had to check-out early due to family reasons and hope everything is well. Alan, our records show that a refund has already been processed on the 13th March (One day after you departed the hotel). If you have any further billing query...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was in the perfect spot! But massive amounts of dust on the wall above the bed, and under the furniture was very disgusting. After paying over $800 for two rooms for one night I'd like to think we were atleast getting what we paid for

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TropicTravll3
Sanchit G, Manager at BreakFree on George, responded to this review

Dear TropicTravll3, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at BreakFree On George. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon service levels for our valued guests. I would like to share that the hotel is planning room refurbishment in...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
APX World Square
#104 of 179 in Sydney
333 reviews
Chinatown
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#96 of 179 in Sydney
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Sydneys entertainment precinct, BreakFree on George Sydney offers accommodation to suit both business and leisure travellers. Just 35 minutes from Sydney airport and close to Capital Square Lightrail Station, Chinatown, The Star Casino, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour. BreakFree on George Sydney gives you access to all Sydney has on offer. The accommodation at BreakFree on George Sydney consists of studios, one and two bedroom apartments, all with high-speed broadband access, pay-to-view movies, selected Foxtel channels, lounge and dining area. Most apartments have private balconies (available on request), fully-equipped kitchen in two bedroom apartments, kitchenette in studios, one bedroom apartments, washer/dryer available in all two bedroom apartments, ISD/STD direct dial phones and voice mail message service, individually controlled air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer guest services at BreakFree on George Sydney including 24 hour reception, concierge and same day laundry service. From your doorstep take a short stroll and sample the best that Sydney City has to offer with multi-cultural dining, vibrant night life and a host of bars, clubs and entertainment catering for all ages and budgets. If shopping is on your wish list, the designer boutiques of Pitt Street and the bustling market style of Sydneys famous Paddys Markets are both within close proximity of BreakFree on George Sydney. BreakFree on George Sydney caters to a diverse range of travellers and is well suited those looking for affordable inner-city accommodation. Please provide your own baby blankets for the Baby Cot. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on George

Address: Pacific International Apartmen 653 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Price Range: €114 - €276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on George 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BreakFree on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree On George Hotel Sydney
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on George staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family rooms only up to lvl 7 , two bedrooms have a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles alongwaytoGo, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the higher floors, Less street noise and able to see out over the city.”
 of 5 bubbles TGBowman, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room not on George Street”
 of 5 bubbles FeralFluffyBunny, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing GeorgeSt. are noisy but on the other and sides is good. Choose higher levles for great views of the city”
 of 5 bubbles vyom1976, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on floor eight and there was something above us as we could hear chairs and other things been moved around.”
 of 5 bubbles keza63, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5