We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

984 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Showing 976: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Unable to get fresh air into the room and even though it was winter the room was so stuffy it made it hard to sleep. The room opened to the central courtyard so you could not leave the sliding door open due to security and the early morning music from the restaurant made it impossible to do so anyway. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsgwilson
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear mrsgwilson, Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges Capital Hill. I am pleased that you enjoyed the confort of our Rydges Dream Beds which you can purchase through our website. I apologise that your stay was uncomfortbale due to not having an opening window. I have passed your comments onto our F&B Manager regarding your breakfast experience....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 17 July 2015

After staying in the Rydges Wellington this hotel was a complete letdown, the reception area is ok and the check in was efficient but other than that I'm not sure I would recommend this hotel to anyone, the first room we were allocated had a stage area upon which sat the bed leading into the bathroom, the bathroom itself had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Singapore1966
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 July 2015

The remote control for the TV didn't work The bathroom had black hairs on the floor the shower head was green and mould on the tiles. The air conditioner was very noisy. We stayed two nights the only cleaning done on the second day was making the bed and replacing the towels. Hotels in Sydney are not as expensive and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank escarpment246
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Escarpment246 Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges Capital Hill. We are disappointed to hear your feedback regarding the cleanliness of your hotel room, and have passed these comments onto our housekeeping department. I do apologies that your request for a high floor was missed. We do hope that you will stay with us again the next...

St Kilda, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2015

After an 11hour journey by rail and road from Melbourne to Canberra I was looking forward to getting into Rydges Capital Hill, ACT. The train had taken 6hours to get to Yass, then a 60minute wait for a replacement bus (the scheduled bus had broken down!) to arrive from Goulburn to take a dozen of us to Canberra. The driver...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3182Local
Sydney,
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We were on a 3 day short break to Canberra to view the exhibit at the National Gallery, Rydges Capitol Hill is set in a great position with very easy access to Manuka for shopping and eating, all the major sights in Canberra are all within 10 mins. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff even though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiulianaSydney
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear GiulianaSydney Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges Capital Hill. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, also that you found our location well suited for your time here in Canberra. We look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Sydney
Reviewed 9 July 2015

I always stay here when I'm in Canberra but this trip I was so disappointed. After a long drive all I wanted to do was have a bath and relax. Unfortunately, this was not to be as this room has a disabled bathroom so there was no vanity, no bath tub, no shower screen ....water went everywhere when I took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mariella23
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Mariella23 Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges Capital Hill. Your room experience was very disapointing, please except my sincere apologies for the room quality. Please contact me directly on 02 6295 3144 or georgina_dennett@rydges.com if you are contemplating on returning to Canberra. Thanks Again, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Friendly efficient reception staff. Comfortable room but the disabled bathroom shower needed mould removed from tiles. Service in restaurant was poor i.e. 45 min wait for a very average quality steak when restaurant was only half full. Other restaurant patrons endured a similar wait for food. One of the lifts was malfunctioning e.g. doors opening prematurely before stopping at floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 57Tim33
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear 57Timm33 Thank you for taking the time to review Rydges Capital Hill. We are pleased that you found our reception staff friendly and efficient, and the issue you encountered with the life has been fixed. I have passed your comment onto our housekeeping team regarding the mould in the disabled bathroom. I do apologies about your dining experience in...

Reviewed 8 July 2015

Although the room was a bit tired generally, it was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Close walking distance to Manuka, and easy access to many national attractions. The burger and bar food in the bar was really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
Georgina D, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Frank G Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Rydges Capital Hill We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel well suited to your needs and that you made use of our location, with the popular Manuka shops located only a short 700m stroll...

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff, impressive foyer, gym, indoor pool and spa and buffet breakfast. Room was great except for bathroom, with the shower/bath being old, dirty and horrible to shower in as the water temperature fluctuated from very cold to scalding hot. Would stay again though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pompeaa
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Hello Pompeaa, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Rydges Capital Hill. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us making use of all of our facilities in the hotel. Unfortunately we are aware of the dated bathrooms and this is definitely something the hotel is looking at improving...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We had been traveling country towns and staying in very small motels so when we got to a larger city we promised the children a larger hotel, we were given a room up grade and were very grateful and enjoyed the extra space. When we went out to dinner in the hotel restaurant we were looking forward to a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia H
Patrick M, Front Office Manager at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Hi Anastasia, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Rydges Capital Hill. I am glad to hear your family enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to our larger suites. I do apologies about your dining experience in our restaurant and I will discuss the issues that arose with our F&B Manager. We appreciate your feedback and hope...

225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.4 km away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
621 reviews
0.4 km away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
940 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 58 in Canberra
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
2,334 reviews
0.6 km away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#25 of 58 in Canberra
451 reviews
1.9 km away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 58 in Canberra
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: €89 - €231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#28 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Capital Hill Canberra staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Capital Hill Canberra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to Parliament house”
 of 5 bubbles Deanne72, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best at the ground floor at the front (road side) not at the top (3rd floor) in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles peter7628, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a higher level room but all rooms would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles RedGallah, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A higher floor may be a little quieter!!”
 of 5 bubbles samlobianco, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Paraffle, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5