We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

925 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 918: English reviews
Yeppoon, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The overall experience of staying at this hotel was well below the standard of Rydges hotels we have experienced. The superior room for two people had one uncomfortable chair, no place to place folded clothing away. A hanging wardrobe was the only storage place in the room. No security safe. The only electric points were at floor level so for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamhai
Mittagong, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent a night at the Rydges Capital Hill while visiting an Exhibition in Canberra. The hotel is well located for activities south of Lake Burley Griffin. While I found the hotel good in many ways I felt it had deteriorated a little since my last visit. While my room was large and comfortable, little things like there being no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelerTrev
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear TravelerTrev, Thank you so much for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite us missing the mark on a few things while you were here. In regards to the iron and ironing board, every room should have this available so it would be great if you are able to advise the room that you...

Farmborough Heights
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

we were given an upgrade to a lovely embassy suite which was spacious and comfortable - beautifully appointed large bathroom and the wonderful rydges dream bed.only criticism- nothing to sit on out on the balcony!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, It was lovely to read your feedback from your recent stay and I am so pleased that you enjoyed our Embassy suite and all that is offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit to Canberra. Kind regards Kirsty Tomas Director of Sales & Marketing

Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

With all the options in Canberra give this one a miss. Tired decor and furnishings. I had a terrible room overlooking the front of the hotel and had to keep windows closed at night so I didn't have to see the coloured lights. The beds are comfortable but the bathroom was tired and not that clean - mould in corners....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mogthecat
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear mogthcat, It was disappointing to read your feedback from your recent stay and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your hotel experience. Our bathrooms are currently going through a full renovation and once completed, will offer new bathrooms with large walk in showers, it is a shame that you had been allocated a room that had yet...

Penguin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Comfortable but an old bathroom (still with shower over bath) with old linen (towels) Nice big bed Room clean with a television that is slow to cycle thru TV channels - starting on the home screen everytime it's turned on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aido65
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Aido65, Thanks for your feedback from your recent stay. You will be pleased to know that we are in the final stages of our full bathroom renovation, which has the bath tubs being removed and all rooms offering large walk in showers. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Rydges "Dream" bed, these are very popular if you enjoy...

Grafton, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

After texting me to say the room would be available at 2pm, no earlier, on arrival at 2.45pm was eventually informed after waiting at reception for some time, it would not be ready until 3pm. Why text then?? Reception staff could do with customer service training, and attitude management Would not stay there again...Looks like staff and hotel need an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beryl G
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Beryl, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. The hotel has an automated system that advises guests regarding the hotel check in time. I appreciate that if your room is not ready that you should not receive advice stating that it will be available at a certain time. We will have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rydges in Canberra is a comfortable 4 star hotel in a location near the parliamentary triangle and a 5 minute walk from the Cafes and Restaurants in Manuka. The hotel is looking a little dated could use a bit of work. The bathrooms are a little old styled - showers over narrow baths, and old tiles (some chipped in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul888856
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear paul888856, Thank you so much for your feedback from your stay and it was great to read that you enjoyed the hotels convenient location. We are actually in the final stages of our bathroom refurbishment which has the entire bathroom being renovated and the baths being removed to accommodate large, walk in showers. The next time that you come...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two nights last week. There was nothing wrong as such with the room, it was clean and spacious. The bed was getting on a bit and starting to sag in the middle but overall it was adequate. The decor is quite dated though and there is an air of a property that needs an update. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Umesh R
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Umesh, Thank you so much for your feedback and I am sorry to read that you found the location of the hotel to be strange as we usually get great feedback on the location. The hotel is only a short 5 minute walk to Manuka shops and a 15 minute walk to Kingston. It would be great to know...

Hoppers Crossing, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Needs to be marked as average and a half, Capital Hill is not the best Rydges hotel I have stayed in, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff were efficient and pleasant, the bar was a nice place to sit of an afternoon and watch the world go by, helped along with our Rydges member drink vouchers. The parking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank creaturecomforts2015
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear creaturecomforts2015, Thanks for your feedback and as you mentioned, we may not be the best Rydges hotel, but we try to offer our guests a clean and comfortable stay with friendly staff. I am pleased to read that we delivered on this and that you enjoyed the bar facilities and the complimentary welcome drink as a Priority Guests Rewards...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only stayed one night. Upon arrival realized that I had stayed here some ten years ago. Got an upgrade to a king suite. Very comfortable bed, quiet setting and is located walking distance to the restaurant precinct of Manuka. My room rate included breakfast..I thought it was a bit rude to charge extra for coffee requests/made via the barista. Otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ian s
K_Tomas, Director of Sales at Rydges Capital Hill Canberra, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you so much for your feedback and it is always nice to have guests come back and stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the Rydges Dream bed and the lovely quiet location of the hotel. Our RISE buffet breakfast offers freshly brewed coffee but for those that need that little bit extra...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.4 km away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
759 reviews
1.9 km away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
457 reviews
0.4 km away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#12 of 58 in Canberra
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#27 of 58 in Canberra
393 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 58 in Canberra
934 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE WIFI!! Rydges Capital Hill is the ideal Canberra hotel from which to base your stay in the Nation's Capital. Whether you are visiting for leisure or business, you'll find everything you need within close proximity at one of the best Canberra accommodation providers. This Canberra hotel is 500 metres from Parliament House, surrounded by the busy business districts of Barton and Parkes, walking distance to Manuka and Kingston, and close to most of Canberra's national attractions. The city is a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Capital Hill Canberra

Address: 17 Canberra Ave. | Cnr Canberra Avenue & National Circuit, Canberra 2603, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Price Range: €75 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Capital Hill Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rydges Capital Hill Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Capital Hill Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Capital Hill
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Canberra
#29 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Capital Hill Canberra staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Capital Hill Canberra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles jamhai, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for 3rd floor and facing the Atrium”
 of 5 bubbles mogthecat, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms offer a balcony view over the courtyard. Quiet and not crowded.”
 of 5 bubbles ericrodneyh, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If staying over weekend ask for a quiet high floor room as the hotel is a popular wedding reception venue”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisZ571, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor room, do not get the spa room, not worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles 683judyt, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay