We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail

PricelineUS$65*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$73*
US$65*
Great Deal
US$70*
US$73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Start your review of Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail
 Click to rate
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Large cottage with bathrooms to each bedroom. Grate for large familys or group of friends traveling. The cabins was not really updated, but cozy. In the main house/restaurant they did not have special coffee like latte and they did not have Cola light. but a lot of wine and beer. they had a big fireplace wehere you could sit in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M0nicaN0rway
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very spacious, neat and well equipped holiday homes. Excellent value and not far off the N2. One can also arrange for breakfast by calling the office 24hrs in advance. The lady at the office was very kind and helpful. Just to note there are no shops at Boggomsbaai. No high walls around any of the properties which was so nice...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank erlopeter
Annemarie B, Owner at Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind note !Looking forward to your next visit to our piece of heaven!

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We Had a very Relaxing stay in the Cottage, clean environment and beach was near. The community was very quiet and the residents all friendly with no one making any noise. We will want to go back again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawid Andreas M
Annemarie B, Owner at Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail, responded to this review

Dear Dawid- what you experienced is exactly what we aim for -an opportunity to relax and charge the batteries

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved staying at Sandpiper Cottages (Gone Fishing), and were sad to leave after only two nights! It was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. (Next time we'll pack dishwasher blocks :). There really is nothing in the area, so stock up in Mosselbay like we did. Thank you! We will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinee126
Annemarie B, Owner at Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail, responded to this review

Dear Caroline , We loved having you here ! I will see to the dishwasher block :-) Kind regards Annemarie

Leipzig, Germany
Reviewed 3 April 2017

very well equiped accomodation, generous kitchen and rooms,open fireplace, comfortable beds, clean, nice garden there were not many other guests ( out of season) the beach was a 10 minutes footwalk away, very clean

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank albrecht4k
Annemarie B, Owner at Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail, responded to this review

Dear Albrecht, Thank you for your visit ! Please come again

Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We arrived at night and the rental agent was kind enough to wait up for us and show us where the cottage is. The cottage is comfortable with a patio and a view to die for of the ocean. Unfortunately, we did feel that the cottage could have been cleaner, especially the stove. But we will stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 842letitiam
Annemarie B, Owner at Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail, responded to this review

Dear Letitia, Thank you for your review . We have a quality control team that checks the cottage . I will take this up with them! Sorry for the inconvenience . Hope to see you soon. Annemarie

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Great accommodation and friendly office. Just wished instruction book on table could have had an English copy as it seems there is vital information inside. Spacious dwelling and awesome surroundings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamelawW6080SG
Annemarie B, Owner at Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail, responded to this review

Dear Pam,Thank you for the review. The Boggomsbaai book on the table was put together by the Boggomsbaai Homeowners association . You are right that there is lots of good information inside I will get onto redoing it in English ! Annemarie

Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Everything was fine,but we had problems with 1 of the bathrooms water drainage. Was a bad experience and we could not make use of that bathroom, because of the smell. We made good use of the braai facilities in the cottage.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi F
Annemarie B, Owner at Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail, responded to this review

Dear Rudi, Thank you for the review . I am sorry for the bad experience with the bathroom . Unfortunately we only heard about it the next day and it was rectified immediately . Management is on standby 24hrs a day for just such emergencies Hope to see you again one day!

Cape Town S. Africa
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My wife and I stayed at Voorhuis which is one of the Sandpiper cottages in Boggoms Bay. Voorhuis is on the front of their pamphlet so would imagine it is the best looking cottage. We had a very pleasant 3 day stay, it is quiet, comfortable and you can have an indoor fire or braai. Wood was provided for 1...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel62
Annemarie B, Owner at Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail, responded to this review

Dear Nigel ,Glad you enjoyed your stay ! The TV is checked when staff clean . Our reception is on duty 24 hrs a day and would have been able to assist if you asked . Hope to see you again!

A TripAdvisor Member
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed there with my boyfriend but we were given a cottage for 6 people to enjoy all for ourselves. Really nice structure with a perfect sea view! The place is a bit humid given the proximity with the ocean but we loved the peaceful and quiet atmosphere.. to do again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boggomsbaai
38.2 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
332 reviews
14.0 km away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
26.1 km away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
20.2 km away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 33 in Mossel Bay
791 reviews
15.8 km away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 33 in Mossel Bay
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come join us at this unspoiled bay of all day sun, golden beaches and blue sea, unique plants and rare birds. Here you'll find a secret haven for whales, dolphins, black oystercatchers and scuttling sandpipers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail

Address: 2 Bonito St, Boggomsbaai 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Boggomsbaai
Price Range: €42 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandpiper Guest Cottages and The Oystercatcher Trail staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Gone Fishing is the best cottage”
WillemanEsme, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Just know that Gone Fishing is a bit old but still value for money in the winter.”
AntonAvWyk, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The Mosselkraker was well equipped and included everything that one could think of.”
MarietaDP, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Mosselkraker cottage was amazing :)”
JessJoanWorkman, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
“There is free wifi in the Sandpiper Centre”
Jillyridge, 13 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$65* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$70
Booking.comUS$73
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates