We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Parks - Hobart

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks - Hobart
 Click to rate
Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Greeted by Leah who is very good at her job and was more then helpful answering all my questions. Room 41 very comfortable and rather large, huge bathroom, balcony with BBQ. Have stayed with this chain of Parks before and will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey D
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

We're glad that you continue to stay at a Discovery Park while you travel, Geoffrey! Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a non-powered tent site for two nights, and I'm glad we are camping. The cabin rates are quite high, for the location (although close to the airport). The tent sites are on quite a slope, which is not ideal, and I'm not sure if they are renovating the ammenities block, but what is there currently is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bek F
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of the park, but glad that you enjoyed a few of our facilities. To discuss your comments further, please feel free to contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review, Bek.

Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Close to Hobart in a country setting. Clean, spacious fully furnished cabins which are great for families and for touring the Hobart area. We had a two bedroom cabin, one room had double bunk beds which are great for children, but cramped for adults especially as the ladder is not removable for accessing one of the bottom beds.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gail W
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our cabin, as this is helpful when we look to make improvements to our park. We're happy to hear, however, that you had a pleasant experience overall!

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We checked into a powered site here today for a one night stay before we leave Hobart tomorrow. Very small powered site in close proximity to the vans either side of us. There is a note asking for guests to be patient regarding the 'amenities' - one single male toilet and one single female toilet and two unisex showers for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kinggirls
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience on our sites. Your feedback will be addressed with the team. To discuss your comments further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Port Augusta, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We stayed at the park for three nights in a standard cabin. Cabin was okay (as per previous reviews the bunks face the bathroom entrance & there is no escaping the light that creeps through even in the dead of the night). Park itself is on a highway and traffic noise was a problem for us being near the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reeba315
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the level of noise and the WIFI at park, but that you enjoyed the facilities. Thank you for sharing your review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Okay, so I want to start this out by saying that we stopped here for 3 nights on a driving holiday around Tassie, and we had just come from a beautiful place. We walked into our standard cabin, and were disappointed from the start. The 'Queen' bed was clearly a double, the equipped kitchen had two small pots and an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swimmingotta
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our location to access Hobart and the facilities available for your children. Thank you providing your feedback on our accommodation - your notes are helpful for future improvements made at park.

Tawau, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I have been staying with Holiday Park all this while whenever I visit Australia; this one, is the best so far! Even my friends from Hong Kong, who were experiencing this type of accommodation for the first time, gave a WOW reaction when entered to the premises. Their immediate posting of the cabin house to their friends back home received...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank petersjsim
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that your friends had a WOW reaction to the park experience and that you all enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review, Peter!

Chatswood, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Placed in back lot with 3 other caravans. Teenage kids found it scary. We've been to a lot of big 4 and discovery parks, but this site was noticeably run down. The ensuites are nice. Grateful that at least the back lot only contained motorhomes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheba2015
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of the site. We appreciate all feedback as we continue to make improvements to our park. Thank you for your review.

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2016

A very nice spot. Well located on the edge of the city and only 10 minutes to the downtown area, only moments to grocery shopping, malls, etc.. This is especially nice for folks interested in going to the famous Salmanaca Market or the Sunday farmers market. As an added bonus, the park has a bus come in each Saturday to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Late-Day-Traveller
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you enjoyed the Salamanca Markets and our cabin porch! Thank you for sharing your review.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1night in our campervan on a powered en-suite site. We didn't need power but they didn't have any unpowered sites so we're stuck with this one. Putting that aside, it was a nice park. The en-suite was a bonus, very clean and even more of a bonus that it was private as well. The communal kitchen was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callumtyson1
Hayden S, Manager at Discovery Parks - Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Callum, Thankyou for your kind review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, It helps me judge that the changes myself and my team have made to the park are a step in the right direction. We thankyou for choosing to stay with us and next time you are in the neighbourhood give me a...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risdon
7.9 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
6.3 km away
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Rydges Hotel Hobart
#32 of 46 in Hobart
682 reviews
7.5 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hobart Cabins and Cottages
Hobart Cabins and Cottages
#1 of 6 in Glenorchy
52 reviews
6.8 km away
Discovery Parks - Mornington Hobart
14.7 km away
Seven Mile Beach Cabin and Caravan Park
Seven Mile Beach Cabin and Carav...
#1 of 3 in Seven Mile Beach
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Hobart

Address: 673 East Derwent Hwy, Risdon, Clarence, Tasmania 7017, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Risdon
Price Range: €53 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Discovery Parks - Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 41 great views and quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffreyD389, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The cabin houses located on the hillside gave excellent views.”
  • The washing machine and dryer come in very handy
 of 5 bubbles petersjsim, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to select a cobin a row or two back from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles Late-Day-Traveller, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the south side if you want the quietest area”
 of 5 bubbles tinapethtel, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“In winter, try for cabins 33 - 36 as they have gas log fires as well as air cond.”
 of 5 bubbles bigjohn542015, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5