We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 781: English reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Myself and my husband had our wedding breakfast and reception at Stoke by nayland and we couldn't have asked for a more wonderful day. The staff were very professional and helpful and we were able to have our day exactly how we wanted it. All of our guests commented on how lovely the venue was and how beautiful it looked....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan P
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so pleased we were able to help make your special day as wonderful as you wanted - we pride ourselves on excellent service and are so glad you loved the food too. Many congratulations to you and your husband - shall we...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Stunning views, shame about the non existant service and stale bread. Upon arrival we were seen to a dirty table, service so poor had to twice get up to find staff to get more tea & strainer which you would think is an essential requirement with loose leaf tea. Upon asking for more tea it was remarked that 'Oh we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vickie T
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write us a review - we're sorry to hear you found your experience a little disappointing - we consider feedback very important and can guarantee that yours will be passed on to both the restaurant manager and the front of house manager.

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

What an amazing place. My husband and I were looking for somewhere peaceful to spend our 9th wedding anniversary, where I could relax in the spa and he could have a round or two of golf. On arrival the staff were very friendly and gave us directions to get go the lodge. After looking around the hotel and forgetting the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marvin6418
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like you were really looked after, which is what we like to hear! Your comments regarding specific members of staff taking the time to make your stay extra special will be passed...

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We went to a fundraiser at hotel it was an enjoyable experience the place was nicely decorated and furnished staff were helpful and knowable the service was good but had to wait at the bar for a long time sa only one person serving at times

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bear R
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a lovely review - and we're happy you had a great time! Thank you as well for taking part in the fundraiser. Hopefully we'll see you soon.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel on 8th July and enjoyed a spa package. We highly recommend the decleor facial, best treatment ever!The staff throughout were very friendly and helpful, especially the hotel manager and Mike in the restaurant. Food was delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peri C
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review - we're so happy you had a great time and that you took full advantage of our facilities. We look forward to seeing you again as soon as you feel like another treatment, let's hope it's not too long! See you then.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Attended a birthday party for a friend. Venue looked beautiful but on arrival there was a wedding going on & nothing in the reception area to tell us where to go. The room was beautifully laid out and looked promising. The bar staff however were miserable & at times rude/patronising to customers. There was no price list on show, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skara7691
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

hi and thanks for taking the time to review us. We’re glad that you had a good time and that you found the layout and decoration beautiful. We’re sorry you found some parts of the organisation disappointing – we take feedback very seriously and this information has been passed on to the relevant parties. We hope we’ll see you again...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the SbN. The room was huge and I got one of 4 balconies rooms which for me made it even better. The staff were all very friendly and made sure my stay was the best it could be. I didn't use the golf course but it gives the hotel a beautiful surrounding with rabbits,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belial_CS
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for your glowing review! We're so glad we could give you a break from hectic city life; we like to welcome people to our world. No need to install our spa at home because you are always more than welcome here. Please do come and enjoy our surroundings and all of our culinary offerings...

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

I attended a course that was being hosted at the SBN hotel so the natural choice was to book into a room for the duration which was four nights. The hotel's location is great for a romantic getaway as the surroundings are peaceful and bliss. Overall the hotel is up to a very high standard with very friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil T
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It's great that you took advantage of a lot we have to offer! We will pass on your lovely comments to our Chef, too. We really look forward to welcoming you again and meeting your wife. See you again soon!

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Huge place. Staff generally excellent especially Mike the waiter. A bit slow collecting dirty plates on breakfast table. On arrival my electric kettle didn't work, hair dryer didn't work & TV remote was faulty. No sound on one TV channel. Staff sorted out above problems. Window would only open a couple of inches, I like fresh air especially on warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flowerpot111
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your stay with us and for writing your review. We're glad we could assist with your requirements - we aim to please. We're happy you enjoy the views as well - so do we! We'll look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay.

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We held our evening wedding reception at Stoke golf club and right from the start we were very happy with the service we received. From booking the venue to helping with wedding suppliers nothing was too much effort from the team at stoke. The wedding team done an absolutely outstanding job with dressing the reception room and it was perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
SBNHotel, Marketing Manager at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review

What an outstanding review – thank you! Congratulations on your wedding; we wish you all the best. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the booking process, our venue and the team. Hopefully we’ll be lucky enough to welcome you back for your 1st wedding anniversary next year!

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
13.1 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
35.3 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
21.1 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
958 reviews
30.5 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
962 reviews
18.1 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Price Range: €100 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely worth paying for a golf view”
N1254NVsarahr, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our group had 8 rooms and everyone was happy”
Gemmah222, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I wouldn't recommend the double twin bed upgrade room”
bhaveshreec, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take the upgrade”
Johnthefish, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lakeview or golf-view rooms for a scenic outlook”
PollyM_11, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5