We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Save
Share
Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$247
View deal
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (360)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (43)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1283Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 606
  • 365
  • 176
  • 81
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mylittlefamily123 wrote a review 5 May
Essex, United Kingdom87 contributions38 helpful votes
For anything unless you are 100% sure that it’ll happen and that it won’t be cancelled due to a global pandemic because you will never get any money back What used to be a fantastic place is now just a corporate money take If you have booked a wedding that can’t take place and your family have paid for their room .. you won’t receive a refund just the offer of a voucher! If you want peace of mind for a wedding date and you haven’t been offered the option to change it be prepared to pay the extra charges and next years prices for your decisions
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the resolutions offered to you by our team for your wedding that was affected by Coronavirus restrictions. Please could I ask you to contact our team to help answer any concerns that you may have? Thank you.
Read more
Peach0923 wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
We recently stayed for 4 nights in one of the lodges and had a lovely time. The staff could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. During our stay we used the gym, spa and golf facilities all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had requested a BBQ for the lodge, which was great to use and had great views over the lake. Given the Covid restrictions we also made use of the take away service which was an added bonus getting food delivered to the lodges. I would highly recommend a stay here, either as a couple or as a family.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Bramley lodge has a great view of the lakes and had an undisturbed outlook
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your lovely 5-star ***** review about your recent lodge stay, our wonderful staff, facilities and takeaway service. I will pass your compliments on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Have a great day! Elaine Othen, Marketing Manager
Read more
OnAir544829 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution5 helpful votes
For two tables, 9 people, we paid nearly £250 for afternoon tea and a few drinks. The cakes were almost inedible. Raw Victoria sponge, tasteless chocolate cake and a truly awful carrot cake with very cheesy frosting topping! The sandwiches were vile. For the vegetarians: cheese and pesto (awful); floppy cucumber sandwiches; egg with pea shoots which were impossible to bite through. Almost every item actually tasted bad. The only good thing was the scones, albeit a little dry. We ended up ordering chips! The Prosecco was flat; the tea was weak. The service was poor. We were left sitting looking at our dirty plates for ages. I’ve never left a review on trip advisor before, but I guess I’ve never been so disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
I understand that this has been resolved by our team. Once again we are very sorry for the issues that encountered. Your points have been addressed. Please contact our team if you have anything further to discuss with us. Thank you.
Read more
Jamie D wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Meant to be staying for a wedding. Originally booked in August 2020, however was cancelled and moved to May 2021 much to the distress of all involved. Unfortunately, the wedding cannot go ahead and has been postponed indefinitely. When attempting to get a refund or deal with the hotel, it has been the most frustrating, rude and disappointing experience I have ever seen. They have outright refused to provide a refund, and have dismissed me. As a further smack in the face they now offer a covid guarantee for those booked after October 2020 during the pandemic itself, but for those who booked before this they do not care less. Despite the hotel being unable to deliver due to the government restrictions, they refuse to acknowledge any liability or help clients. A narrow minded and selfish approach putting profits before potential clients. We will be taking legal advice for the whole booking.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Hi Jamie, We are really sorry that you are unhappy with the options that we have provided for your hotel stay with us. Our Team have been in contact with you to offer alternatives for your non-refundable hotel stay that was booked with us. We are sorry that you the options that have been offered to you are not acceptable. Our hotel has does offer a 'Best Flexible Rate' which offer a flexible cancellation policy. This unfortunately was not selected at the point of purchase. If you would like to discuss this further, please could I request for you to contact our Group Commercial Manager to discuss this matter further. Many thanks, SbN.
Read more
Meander46051 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Really disappointed to have to leave this review but keen for others to be aware of how poorly customers have been treated during COVID with the company refusing to issue refunds for stays that were paid for, in full, over 18 months ago that now can not legally be completed. They have deleted numerous comments from their facebook page expressing concerns about this matter and have pushed my friend to near breaking point with the stress of trying to obtain refunds for her wedding guests by being utterly unhelpful and showing zero compassion. Unfortunately, from reading other reviews, it appears that we are not alone and there are many people that have suffered similar negative experiences and are being subjected to appalling customer service. Please think carefully if this is the type of company you want to spend your money with and if you do, please make sure you book through a 3rd party site and don't pay a penny until arrival to protect yourself as much as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaine Othen, Marketing at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Our Group Commercial Manager has been in touch with the Bride and Groom to discuss this matter further for the non-refundable hotel rooms that were booked as a part of a wedding that was taking place outside of our premises.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stoke by nayland hotel, golf hotel leavenheath, stoke by nayland hotel, golf and spa, best western colchester, colchester best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBabergh DistrictLeavenheath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Splatkidz (8.0 km), White Dragon Archery (7.7 km), and Blue Owl (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Angel Inn Restaurant, The Bell Inn, and Case Restaurant with Rooms.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lindsey St James's Chapel (7.3 km).
Does Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.