We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coldra Court Hotel

Save
Share
Chepstow Road, Langstone, Newport NP18 2LX Wales
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (318)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (37)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Langstone
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located at the gateway between England and Wales, the Coldra Court Hotel is close to glorious Welsh countryside and is situated just off the M4 motorway at Junction 24 and 3 miles from Newport City Centre. Explore nearby Newport attractions, before enjoying succulent steaks and grills, cooked low and slow at The Rib, Smoke-house and Grill. Relax over a coffee or enjoy a glass of wine on the patio of the Court Bar & Lounge. Enjoy the hotel's Springs Health Club with its 18 metre indoor pool and air conditioned gym. Car parking charges apply. Free wifi available. A £50 per night, credit/debit card pre-authorisation will be required at the time of check-in
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Slovak
792Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 176
  • 228
  • 177
  • 112
  • 99
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
GemmaP31 wrote a review Mar 2021
Tredegar, United Kingdom307 contributions53 helpful votes
First night away once lockdown had lifted but also the weekend of our wedding anniversary so treated ourselves to the £70 B&b deal. I was contacted the day before to make sure I was aware none of the facilities were open but could have food sent to the room. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a ‘recently refurbished’ room instead of the standard. We agreed as it was only £10 extra. We have stayed here before in a standard and this room didn’t look any different, plus didn’t look recently renovated, only difference we seen was it had a shower instead of a bath. The room was clean, comfy bed, however it has zero privacy... looking through the window you can see everyone across the square in their room. We were told how to operate the app at reception and there was a QR code to go on to order food and drinks. The drink prices are extortionate so we ended up getting our own. But we did order room service from the rib restaurant, which was amazing! We both had the beef rib, they bring it within 15 mins of your time slot. In the morning however our breakfast was 45 mins late. Staff on reception really friendly and professional. The only downsides for us were 1. The privacy of the windows, and 2. Parking charges
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Williams, Marketing at Coldra Court Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Gemma D, Thank you taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, I am delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly and professional, and enjoyed your stay with us. Since purchasing the property 5 years ago with have refurbished 110 of our 148 bedrooms and I can confirm that stayed in one of the refurbished bedrooms, it may be that previously you were offered a complimentary upgrade. Thank you for your feedback relating to the privacy of the room, all of our bedrooms have intentionally been installed with tinted glass to offer a level of privacy without impacting on the daylight in the bedrooms caused by options such as voiles, I am sorry if this was not to your liking. Your feedback regarding our food and beverage is much appreciated, it is great to read that you enjoyed the room service beef rib, however I would like to apologize for the late delivery of your breakfast. Our drinks prices are regularly reviewed and we believe they are competitively priced against other 4 star hotels. Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks Matt
Read more
lizzy1234567881 wrote a review Feb 2021
Milford Haven, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely room and very clean. Only blight was receptionist who checked us in on the Friday night had no customer service and was pretty cold towards us for no apparent reason. A bit more friendliness would have been appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Felicity Roblin, Other at Coldra Court Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2021
Dear lizzy1234567881, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am extremely pleased to read that you found your room lovely and very clean, however disappointed with your check in experience. I would like to assure you this is not typical of our reception team and will be investigated to ensure consistency in this area. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks Matt
Read more
jmorgans1948 wrote a review Nov 2020
Tenby, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked in August for a stay in November. From the very beginning I have experienced helpful, friendly and respectful staff. The room was upgraded in order to accommodate a change in booking. Spacious, spotless and well stocked with refreshments and shower gels etc. A very good choice of breakfast items which were delivered to our table. Evening meal in The Rib was delicious and well presented. The hotel has coped well with the changes necessitated by the pandemic, and we felt safe and well looked after during our stay. Thankyou for a great weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Felicity Roblin, Other at Coldra Court Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear jmorgans1948 Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read your feedback, particularly regarding service your received and also the Covid-19 safety measures that we put in place, I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes Felicity
Read more
Gemding wrote a review Nov 2020
Newport, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed with a friend after we had to downgrade from the Celtic manor resort to the Coldra court. After changing our stay date multiple times with the resort we lost our patience and agreed to be downgraded to the Coldra court. We were given a suite which swayed us. Unfortunately we were so very disappointed. As the Coldra is a part of the Celtic collection we expected a certain level of luxury being fully aware it was in no way a 5 start resort experience we were still hopeful we would see glimmers of the Celtic manor at our stay. As soon as we arrived we walked to our suite and the hallways were LITTERED with food trays, glasses, and leftover food (We arrived for check in at 4pm) after knocking over a few bottles on our way to our room there were 2 dirty wine glasses at our door. The suite itself was clean and we had no real complaints there so felt hopeful that was the end of the disappointment. We booked our pool session and to our disgust a “gentleman” who was in the pool was spitting on the edge. So unhygienic given the current situation. We obviously didn’t want to confront him but there was no lifeguard or staff member in the pool area at all during our 45minute session. Two men then decided to have an argument in the pool for everyone to hear. Again no staff member present. The evening came and we had booked our meal at the rib. What a great experience and this was genuinely the only good part of our stay. The food was excellent. The service was impeccable and one particular waiter was a credit to the hotel. He really made our experience “Celtic” Great restaurant and even better staff members. We then went to the bar hoping for a few cocktails only to be told they didn’t serve them at the bar and only at the rib restaurant. Which was unfortunate as we’d already left. The waiter did offer to make our drinks anyway but it all seemed like we were making a fuss so quietly left and went back to our room. The bar had no atmosphere, not charm. And there was a lady slouched on a table clearly intoxicated. It just wasn’t the experience we thought we’d have. As the evening drew in we could clearly hear the guest children next door. They did eventually quite. But to our horror we discovered the door that connected our suite to next doors room literally could just be opened as we realised when I decided to check it was locked. The door opened and to my horror I could see next doors room. I could’ve easily just walked in. I can’t tell you how unsafe this could’ve been. We didn’t know our neighbouring guests and they didn’t know us. They had children. Had it been anyone else it could’ve been a different situation. Surely that door should’ve been locked not by us, but by staff members with a secure key or some form of security where neither party could enter each others room. Absolutely shocking. So then after a restless sleep worrying the room wasn’t secure we went for breakfast. Fancied some fresh air and had to ask a clueless staff member if we could be let outside as the door was locked. Breakfast was hot but not so tasty. The egg just tasted like froth and everything else was clearly sat under a hot light and the bacon just looked grey and dried on the edges. The ordering system didn’t allow you to make changes to your breakfast so you get what you’re given. Overall we were so disappointed and most certainly won’t be staying again and don’t recommend it to anyone. To call the hotel part of the Celtic collection is a farce. We now wish we’d kept our voucher for the Celtic manor and stayed well away from Coldra Court.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Felicity Roblin, Other at Coldra Court Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2020
Dear Gemding Thank you for taking the time to speak with Matt Barnby, Hotel Manager. I was pleased that we have managed to find a resolution and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Felicity
Read more
Tracey H wrote a review Nov 2020
Swansea80 contributions61 helpful votes
six of us stayed here on a Friday night.On arrival we were told we had to book the pool which wasnt available but ehen looking down from our room yhe pool was empty.Room was clean.Visited tge restaurant which has a linited menu.More like a cafe than a restaurant so dont dress up.For drinks you have to use the app ehich makes things stressful.Why you cant jyst be served and drinks chsrged to room i just dont know.Be careful we had other peoples drinks chsrged to our room and at reception tgere were loads of people complaining.Parking overnight is £7.50 ehich is ridiculous.Been to this hotel three times standards have dropped snd wont be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellison CMR, Other at Coldra Court Hotel
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Dear Tracey H Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that you experienced during your stay Due to current circumstances we have to operate a strict booking system in our restaurant to allow for social distancing and also an APP for ordering drinks so that we can record and complete track and trace information. I am sorry to hear that your chosen swim time was not available, to ensure reduced capacities are maintained and to allow for social distancing we ask that residents book a 45 minute time slot, these sessions can be booked on arrival at the hotel, they are subject to availability and we endeavour to ask that guests cancel any sessions they do not require to try and ensure we can offer as many sessions as possible to other. All of these measures are unprecedented and I am so sorry that you have been left dissatisfied. My sincere apologies again and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future for an improved experience. Best wishes Felicity
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton newport hotel newport, hilton international newport, newport hilton international
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hilton Newport
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesNewportLangstone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Coldra Court Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Coldra Court Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Coldra Court Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Coldra Court Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coldra Court Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Steak on Six, The Coldra Beefeater, and The Rib Smokehouse and Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coldra Court Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Coldra Court Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Coldra Court Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Coldra Court Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Filipino, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Coldra Court Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caerleon Roman Fortress and Baths (2.3 km), Caerleon Amphitheatre (3.1 km), and Caerleon Lodge Hill Fort (3.6 km).
Is Coldra Court Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.