We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highlands Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Highlands Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Highlands Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We did not get the room we booked - my wife and I slept on single beds in a tiny room and a friend, accompanying us, got the double bed and large room - poor attention to detail. The rooms have no air conditioning with the result it was hot and very uncomfortable to sleep in. The mini bar in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter L
Honey40667, Owner at Highlands Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review. However I must admit to being surprised at your review now after your stay with us in December 2014. I am even more surprised that you did not mention anything at all at the time or when I personally checked you out, you left me with the impression... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We had such a comfortable stay in this beautiful guest house. I felt like a guest on a gracious old home - but beautifully done up. Delicious breakfast, charming service and great location. I will definitely stay there whenever I get the chance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina S
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2015

This delightful old house is located a few miles from Cape Town in Kenilworth not far from the vineyards of Constantia. It is a short drive from the V & A Waterfront via Cape Town’s excellent motorway system. The house itself has two swimming pools and is surrounded by beautiful formal gardens. All the fourteen bedrooms are exceptionally spacious, most... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jcbm
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 February 2015

From the friendliness of the welcome, the beautiful rooms and gardens and the happy personal service, this is truly a place to relax and enjoy a home from home experience. Carol, Jane and the staff are to be congratulated on creating such a wonderful ambience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

Peaceful with excellent facilities yet close to action when wanted. A friendly charming vacation where you get to know the staff by name and feel comfortably at home. Carol has created a place that will definitely be on our return soon list. Thank you for a special time to Jane, Monica and Philip.

Helpful?
2 Thank LouisKid
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2015

I spend a weekend at Highlands Country House and enjoyed it very much. The staff is very friendly and always helpfull. The Rooms are very nice and the outside area is beautifull. I can only recommend the Highland Country House to anyone visiting Cape Town!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank holger24
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Highlands is an elegant Edwardian property with comfortable spacious rooms and a warm and hospitable staff without exception. One is made to feel like you are at home from the moment you walk through the door. It is peaceful and calm and airy. The rooms are traditionally furnished and comfortable. The gardens are beautiful, as are the pool areas. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LondonContributor
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Amazing guesthouse, lovely area with beautiful gardens and surrounds! Old world charm in the suburbs! Spacious rooms with balcony and 2 pools, we enjoyed the style and character of the house! Friendly and will stay there again if we want to be in that area!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank janefc
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2014

We stayed at the Highlands for 4 nights in November 2014 and loved every minute. The hotel is beautiful, our room (pool room) was spacious and bright. The grounds are manicured and very pretty. The hotel is well located for exploring Cape Town and the surrounding area yet delivers a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. The staff were very attentive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1ZsazsaA
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2014

This hotel has simply appointed rooms, very comfy beds and a relaxed atmosphere. the Front of house management and staff are there for you all the time, without being in your face. Breakfasts are the best meal of the day, so go out for lunch and dinner, you will need a car to get around. As for the décor of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank scottyrat

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
2.0 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,143 reviews
2.7 km away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 6 in Constantia
320 reviews
1.9 km away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 6 in Constantia
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
588 reviews
6.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
9.0 km away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highlands Country House is the perfect venue for your weekend away, well deserved holiday, intimate wedding or even that (second) honeymoon. At Highlands a warm friendly welcome awaits you where good old fashioned excellent service is the order of the day. 14 individually appointed rooms are generously proportioned and all en-suite. Meals are individually prepared by the resident chef and the menu changes daily to suite your wishes. On request we can even host your own private dinner party, complete with place names, flowers and all the trimmings. Built in 1900, the Sir Herbert Baker house is set in the peaceful surroundings of formal gardens which boast 2 pools, a private spa and many secluded areas to relax and enjoy this home from home retreat. Afternoon tea is served at the pool or in the conservatory and of course the scones are homemade. Loose yourself in a book in the library or lounge or catch up on the news from home on the guest PC. Retire to your freshly made room and chill..... before dining in or out (of course we can arrange the transport), enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar or on the terrace and feel yourself transported from the everyday to the extra special. Highlands Country House - country tranquility in the heart of Cape Town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highlands Country House

Address: 36 Tennant Road, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Price Range: €109 - €228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highlands Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Highlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Country Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highlands Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The attic rooms have stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles Maxprella, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I slept in room 10, which is upstairs with a little view of city from the bathroom window.”
 of 5 bubbles limingonaphakadeq, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Request your preference for satisfaction as it is personal to you!”
 of 5 bubbles Challenge888, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't take the gable room..”
 of 5 bubbles 285lauren, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Avoid this place at all cost - there are far better accommodation available at better prices. This accommodation seems to prefer foreigners and one gets the feeling South Aficans are somewhat considered third class citizens.”
 of 5 bubbles 853peterl, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay