We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

African Heart Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
African Heart Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 87: English reviews
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed for four nights and were very satisfied. Staff was really friendly and helpful, lovely furniture and big kitchen with everything you need... only bad point is that the rooms are badly soundproofed. All in all we loved staying here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 823jasminf
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Had a lot of snags and i was never sure who worked there and which one of the young foreigners was just staying there. The toilet in our room was not working, but they did compensate us for that which was greatly appreciated. On check out there was no one around to leave the key with and seeing i did... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 283mickeyv
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2016

As you book at a backpackers hostel you have to know what to expect and what not. We were lucky with the other guest who also went aan bit earlyer to bed. So it was quiet when we went to sleep. It is ideal to make your own dinner, alsof because of the Spar in the neighborhood. The breakfast in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 337annetw
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Made an otherwise dreary business trip enjoyable. Friendly staff and convenient location close to the venue within walking distance. I would definitely use it again for traveling for business or pleasure

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 237gregoryl
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016

It was a very good experience with a diverse of cultural groups living in it. It is as well near to shops and restaurants. It was great being with friendly people and would advice those that will travel to go.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 505elisen
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I stayed in the dorm for a couple of days and enjoyed myself thoroughly. Observatory is great, really vibrant compared to most other Cape Town suburbs. African Heart made a great base of operations, and the staffed were very chilled and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank geoffersonstarship
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Horrible experience.. we stayed in two private couple rooms.. Very over priced for the condition of the rooms, it was old and degraded. The toilet was broken. Would not recommend the private rooms to anyone.. especially not for the price you have to pay.. it is also located in a sketchy area and you have to park in the street.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elouise R
Jamie-African, Owner at African Heart Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Elouise, Im really sorry you did not have a good experience with us. I do find your comments abit hard to swallow though.. The historic Victorian building is a 110 years old, it is not newly built & ultra-modern, but to most people that is part of the charm. Due to this fact, we charge the lowest rates in... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

This place 1st impression was of the worst kind. The entrance was full of cigarette buds. The place overall was dirty. It had a very bad smell inside. Same linen was used from previous visitors. Kitchen looks aweful. We immediately cancelled our booking. The pictures are misleading on website.

Helpful?
1 Thank Merche R
Jamie-African, General Manager at African Heart Backpackers, responded to this review

Good day, I am sorry that African Heart could not live up to your expectations. We value all feedback, take it to heart to try and improve our customer service. I do however feel that some of your points mentioned are unfair. You arrived very early for your room at 9.30am, (check in time is 13:00) and fortunately the previous... More 

Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Time well spent and fun people to be around every time you get back from a day of excursions. A quaint area and space to make you feel homey. Close to some quality restaurants like Jerry's and OBZ Cafe.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank richardgH8791OF
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Located a couple of miles from the CBD and waterfront AHB is a small, homely backpackers. The local area is an eclectic mix of cultures and has a supermarket, with several bars and restaurants close by. The staff are friendly and very helpful should you need recommendations or help booking trips. I stayed in Treetops. A double bed and my... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gairo2016
Jamie-African, Owner at African Heart Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank-you for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to host you again. More 

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Observatory
Green Elephant
#1 of 10 in Observatory
132 reviews
Observatory Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Observatory
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33 South Boutique Backpackers
#2 of 10 in Observatory
161 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 128 in Cape Town Central
620 reviews
91 Loop
#20 of 128 in Cape Town Central
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
African Heart is a backpackers lodge with a difference. Vibrant colors, retro furniture, original artworks, spotless modern bathrooms and ultra-comfy beds. We are a small lodge offering a high quality standard of backpackers accommodation and facilities. We also offer superior guest service from our Reception, taking care of anything you need, from booking adventures and onward travels, to where to find the best local music, entertainment and food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Heart Backpackers

Address: 27 Station Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Price Range: €30 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — African Heart Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your African Heart Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from African Heart Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mama or Pink Leopard”
 of 5 bubbles justanothersurfer, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
“all there rooms are nice”
 of 5 bubbles Chefcarl82, 14 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Loved the Pink Leopard”
 of 5 bubbles CPN73, 30 May 2013 | Read review
“We sometimes woke up early in the morning from people passing on the street, chatting loud. If there are rooms NOT on the street side its quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles rijn42, 23 May 2013 | Read review
“I enjoyed the Pink Leopard room for my family myself and husband slept on the dubble bed and two young kids slept on the bunk bed. I also liked having the shower in the room, made it more comfortable for the kids.”
 of 5 bubbles LarishaToffar, 30 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay