We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunwing Bangtao Beach

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunwing Bangtao Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 259: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The resort is massive, excellent pools, service was fabulous, always had sun beds available right on the beach, staff were so friendly and helpful, beach was excellent so calm and nice for swimming, location is close to markets at night, tucked away from noise though, food was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A fantastic stay for our 25th wedding anniversary.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leasing405
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear leasing405, Thank you for making our resort your choice of stay on your holiday here in Phuket! It was our pleasure to have been part of your amazing experience! We hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you back! From all of us here, congratulations on your 25th Wedding Anniversary! Kind regards, Edissa C. Royo

Beijing, China
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Sunwing clearly has figured out how to make a family trip amazing! We chose this hotel because of the awesome pool, waterslide, and affordable family suite. We loved it because of its awesome beach location, convenience, amazing pool, waterslide, and family suite. I had been given a heads-up that they had a stingy/strict towel policy, and I sensed from reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelerinva801
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear travelerinva801, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your "perfect family getaway" here in our resort! We are glad to hear we were able to live up to your expectations! Moreover, our main goal is to make our guests stay a satisfying one, most especially the kids. Good to hear they have enjoyed their time here! The...

Reviewed 23 September 2016

this is one of the best beaches in phuket. booring price was better then other hotels but of course that comes with regrets - old facilities. they gave us room on 3rd floor while we were with little child that is not pleasant. AC in room is load and no remote control. breakfast is not bad but juice is chemical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ilya K
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ilya K, Thank you for staying here in our family resort! We strive to make our guests stay a satisfying one, consequently, it is disappointing to know we fell short of our goal in this occasion! Every guests's feedback we receive are taken seriously and your willingness to share is truly appreciated! Regardless, we are hoping that the positive...

Beijing, China
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Nice rooms that are kid friendly (eg. no very sharp corners, glass décor). Staff may seem at first to be less approachable but actually are very friendly and remembers us when we return. Perfect pool for even babies (when ours were younger, we sat with them in 3 inches deep end and splashed). None of the commercialism of the more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baimimi2001
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear baimimi2001, Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred place to stay on your holiday here in Phuket and we are glad to hear you left satisfied! Our location is indeed a quiet place and offer an easy access to everything, in addition to what you have mentioned, there are also bars, restaurants and massage parlors around this...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We loved this place. Had a week here before heading up to Khao Lak. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here. This is a family resort so if you don't want to holiday around kids this might not be for you - however, although we were traveling kid free we enjoyed the kids' spirit who were so happy on holiday. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynleaG
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear LynleaG, Thank you for choosing to stay in our resort and for taking the time to share your holiday experience! It made us happy reading you loved our place and enjoyed your time here! Also, we appreciate your sincere feedback regarding the thai food in our restaurant! Rest assured this will be passed on to our chef! We hope...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The positives first - it's a big resort with a lots of different pools and right on the beach. We went in August and it was the rainy season, but that didn't stop us from getting into the pools. We only went on the beach once though. The resort was busy despite it being low season. The kids really enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Savvytree
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Savvytree, Thank you for choosing to stay at our family resort and for providing us a positive review of your experience here! We always strive to provide our guest with the best experience possible and it made us happy reading your kids enjoyed their time here! Thank you again and appreciate your feedback! If we could be of any...

Reviewed 27 August 2016

This was my fifth visit to Thailand and I have loved every visit. On this occasion I was disappointed by the front desk staff and most of the staff at the breakfast restaurant (with the exception of one). One actually rolled his eyes at us, another appeared disgusted that we attempted to use our meal voucher which was heavily promoted....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirrilee E
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kirrilee E, Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience! We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced with one of our reception and restaurant staff! We have already communicated this issue to the respective department head to seriously look into it and ensure this will not reoccur in the future! We thank again...

Hua Hin, Thailand
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Checked in here about a week into our 3 week road trip. Planned to let the kids enjoy the kids activities. It advertises itself as a kids resort. Our room was great, spotlessly clean and well maintained each day. Great service on that side. The pools are clean, well maintained water etc but look a little tired in places. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your own insight and constructive feedback! We are sad to hear you left unhappy and thank you again for letting us know about your experience with our reception staff which we have already passed on to the department head and rest assured this will seriously be looked into! Every...

Reviewed 22 August 2016

I had been travelling Thailand for 1 month with my family which included a young son. I was attracted to Sunwing due to its family friendly status. Positives: Sunwing Bangtao has plenty of big swimming pools and direct access to the beach. The rooms although in need of a huge update are large allowing things such as microwave as standard....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy S
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mandy S, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and appreciate your feedback! Actually, this French group allows other non-french hotel guests to join their activities, we are sorry to hear you felt left out! Rest assured we will communicate this matter to the group reps so they would be aware and not let it reoccur in the...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Let's be frank! It is a very nice (not luxuary) resort, 4 pools, one with a kid slide, all the pools are kids friendly, between 1.00 and 1.20 metres depth, except one up to 1.80 metres depth. We had a ground floor family room, with a terrace giving a nice pool view. The restaurant is also conveniently located on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Bangtao Beach, responded to this review

Dear Frank L, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your holiday experience here in our resort! We are truly sorry you left unhappy! We value your insight and constructive feedback as we believe these will help us improving the level of our service and serve you better in the future! The matter regarding...

1,172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (552)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (239)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (514)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Happy Baby Studio (85)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (4)
Viewed
Pool (69)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Royal Family Room with Pool Access (79)
Viewed
Studio Room (80)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#13 of 34 in Choeng Thale
531 reviews
2.1 km away
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,659 reviews
1.3 km away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
4.3 km away
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Sunwing Kamala Beach
#10 of 36 in Kamala
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunwing Bangtao Beach is a fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. For those whose ideal vacation consists of sipping colorful concoctions while dipping a toe in the surf or dozing off under swaying casuarinas trees, then Sunwing Family Resort fits your bill to the tee. NOTE: Kids stay, play & eat for free! (Contact the hotel for more infomation) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunwing Bangtao Beach

Address: 22 Moo 2 | หาดบางเทา, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Sunwing Resort & Spa Bangtao Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Price Range: €73 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Bangtao Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunwing Bangtao Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort And Spa
Sunwing Hotel Thalang
Sunwing Hotel Cherngtalay
Sunwing Bangtao Beach Phuket/Bang Tao Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunwing Bangtao Beach staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Sunwing Bangtao Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Swim out rooms are great, so are the happy baby studios”
 of 5 bubbles hoppermag, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Building 6 has the best location”
 of 5 bubbles zsanette, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“820 was at the reception end and not too busy”
 of 5 bubbles kat0007, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for bottom floor .”
 of 5 bubbles 327janined, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Main floor units will have that musty/moldy smell that comes with tropical locations but they get less going up each floor.”
 of 5 bubbles WayneP52, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5