We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chateau du Deffay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chateau du Deffay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 10: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and my self rented a cabin in the camping part of the Chateau grounds, we joined up with other family members who had bought their own caravan. The setting is stunning, woodland and natural vegetation, all the plots are generous and private, with a lake in the centre, our cabin was set on the edge of it, lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penny W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Nothing to complain about our stay in this castle. The room was beautiful, breakfast was nice. The couple that runs the castle really want you to have a great time here. Accommodations around the castle are looks just as great as advertised.

Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe F
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Stayed at the campsite on way to Brittany, very well appointed with a great bar and restaurant. Facilities were clean and very good. Had a pitch on the edge of the lake, very peaceful and tranquil. We only stayed one night but would have been pleased if we had stayed longer, Reasonably priced for what is on offer and all... More 

Helpful?
Thank saratcambs
Borehamwood
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

As we approached the chateau we were blown away by the old house and its position over looking a lake.. We were then offered a room with no view at all! We were the only guests and so "upgraded" to a better room at the front. The room was gorgeous, the bathroom wonderful but the best thing was the view.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Osteogill
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

We found this place by accident while travelling in Brittany a couple of weeks back. Very friendly staff, facilities are fantastic and can't recommend it enough. Lovely setting and what you get for your money is great. not the cheapest campsite we stayed on but well worth it. you have use of the pool, the pedlos on the lake, playgrounds,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CELEO1976
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

The camping on the adjacent site is superb, great facilities and staff to match. Wonderful bar and courtyard by the pool, the whole place has a very relaxed feel and is a great place to holiday. We have been 3 times and will be back again. We stay with our tourer but the site welcomes and accommodates a range of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2014

We were met by the owner of this lovely 'petit chateau' and shown to our room in the tower. The rooms are all decorated differently but are all very French and styled in a very traditional way.Our bed was very comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean, the en-suite small but very adequate. Breakfast was traditional with croissant, bread, cake, yogurt,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juliawoodhead
Tanneguy, Propriétaire at Chateau du Deffay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind contribution. We are happy that have liked our house and wainting you back with great pleasure. For your reservation, you can directly use our mail adresse : reservation@chateaududeffay.com or by phone +33615780190. See you soon Tanneguy, Élisabeth et Victoria More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2014

A wonderful welcome by the hosts ,beautiful château set in glorious countryside. We decided to take the option of dinner and were not disappointed an excellent meal of high quality. We would love to return one day with our family .

Helpful?
Thank 49plumhayes
Tanneguy, Propriétaire at Chateau du Deffay, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are such pleased about your feeling and waiting you soon back with your family. Best regards. Tanneguy, elisabeth and Victoria More 

Greystones, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This castle is beautiful and the grounds fantastic, however it is full of tacky plastic flowers, dusty stuffed animals, naff paintings etc! The beds were SO uncomfortable and had plastic undersheets - gross! In the morning we were not welcomed at breakfast and had to ask for more coffee/juice etc. Although the couple who run the castle are sweet they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe P
Tanneguy, Gérant at Chateau du Deffay, responded to this review

We offer our apologies to this customer because we have not met his expectations, even if we do not fully understand his disappointment. To respond to these comments, we are sorry that the decoration of our house doesn't correspond to your sensibility. About undersheets protecting the mattress from our beds, we want to ensure perfect hygiene of our bedding and... More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

A very young and nice couple welcomes you in this authentic XV century castle in the middle of the Natural reserve of Grand Briere. The atmosphere is unbelievable: you are enjoying a real castle feeling as it is your house! We were in the "Aux Souvenirs" room with a very nice and charming view over the park and the lake.... More 

Helpful?
Thank FRTN

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Reine-de-Bretagne
4.5 km away
Domaine De La Bretesche
Domaine De La Bretesche
#1 of 1 in Missillac
383 reviews
8.8 km away
La Mare aux Oiseaux
La Mare aux Oiseaux
#1 of 1 in Saint-Joachim
437 reviews
13.1 km away
Domaine de Bodeuc
Domaine de Bodeuc
#1 of 1 in Nivillac
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Logis Les Chaumieres du Lac
Logis Les Chaumieres du Lac
#1 of 2 in Saint-Lyphard
162 reviews
4.1 km away
Villa Victoria
Villa Victoria
#5 of 5 in Missillac
17 reviews
3.9 km away
La Ferme Du Blanchot
La Ferme Du Blanchot
#1 of 1 in Crossac
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nous vous proposons de venir vous reposer dans l'une de nos cinq chambres d'hôtes, restaurées avec authenticités et charme. Vous serez ravie de la superbe vu et de l'accueil que nous vous réservons. Le petit déjeuné buffet est bien rempli avec exclusivement des produits de la région.Mais aussi, pour une réception de mariage, une soirée festive, pour un événement d’entreprise, un défiler ou encore un tournage de film le charme du Château du Deffay opérera et vous laissera des souvenirs inoubliables. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau du Deffay

Address: le Deffay, 44160 Sainte-Reine-de-Bretagne, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Sainte-Reine-de-Bretagne
Price Range: €108 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau du Deffay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chateau du Deffay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Jersey, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chateau du Deffay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are good and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Juliawoodhead, 10 Oct 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are outstanding”
 of 5 bubbles 49plumhayes, 26 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles JoeP632, 19 Aug 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay