We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Durbeyfield Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We choose this place as it was dog friendly and only seconds from the beach. These 2 reasons the place was ideal. On arrival it looked unloved, un-kept and dirty from the outside. On entering it was a quant very old property and Andy was very welcoming unlike the locals who filled the very very small bar area with very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Icklecottage
lindseyblair2016, Owner at Durbeyfield Guest House, responded to this review

We are so sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us, especially as we had given them a complimentary upgrade from the shared bathroom basic room they booked to a superior room with a large bathroom bath and shower ( albeit with nice soft carpet underfoot!). We did this because the weather was inclement and we thought...

Hereford
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic. Turned up on spec with 3 children and six adults looking for a light lunch. Loads of various allergies catered for. We had our own private room with the again, it was gorgeous. Food was great and every plate was emptied. Thank you and we'll done

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John C
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I have been going to West Bay for a long time now, and have passed the Durbeyfield on numerous occasions. Do not be fooled by the somewhat run down looking exterior, because it is a little gem. I stayed for 2 nights and extended for a third. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty A
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

First impressions awful-shabby unpainted grubby exterior-confirmed by interior.Access via beer soaked carpet on ground floor to rooms upstairs.Garish decor.Dreadful tiny bathroom in awful decorative state.Television non functioning evening of arrival.Friend room stank of wet and mould.Good breakfast minimal compensation.Don't go there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham m
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

What can I say very good accommodation for the price at least 60% cheaper than any where else in west bay if your not after all the frills then your quaranteed a warm welcome with great service from all the staff and the food I couldn't even complain about out. the price for the drink and food are excellent (...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael A
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We had such a great stay. Lovely rooms, lots of light, comfortable beds - huge bathrooms. Huge delicious full English for breakfast included in the price. Wonderful hosts and round the corner from a gorgeous beach, couldn't wish for better. The value for money is next to none, for those fed up with sudo 'boutique' hotels which offer nothing bur...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vpf_tell
Kerikeri
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here last night as I am walking the South West Coast Path. I found the Durbeyfield very nice and just what I expected from a "seaside type pub". Yes the place is old, but that is part of its character. I was in Room 6 which had a large bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MinnieKerikeri
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 July 2016

If you are walking the SWCP, by the time you get to the room, you really want to close your eyes and sleep. Perfect. There isn't much worth staying awake for. The whole place is a bit ragged around the edges. The bathroom was about 3.5 feet wide and about 12 feet long. So in order to get into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LongWalker2016
lindseyblair2016, Owner at Durbeyfield Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The room that you were allocated was dictated by the price the agency who booked for you wanted to pay. As you are aware we have other rooms with large bathrooms baths and showers but at a higher price. It is not necessary to go through the bar to reach the accommodation and you could...

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I stayed at Durbeyfield guest house for 1 night while walking the SWCP. If you are walking and just need a place to rest your head for the night then this place will suffice. I was in room 9 and can only comment on that room. The décor was awful. The room did have a small en suite. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
lindseyblair2016, Owner at Durbeyfield Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not like our red and black decor - we thought it was quite a masculine colour scheme! You will recall that we were fully booked when you enquired about a room with the exception of room 9 which you were told had a very small shower room but was all...

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Tourist office in bridport booked for me telling me it was lovely, completely the opposite. I've stayed in some very basic accommodation but this was below being acceptable. I stayed in the room long enough to find another place to stay. Water in the room was orange/brown, dirty carpets or just really old, dirt/crumbs on seats, tv remote control was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellsee7

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.1 km away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
462 reviews
2.5 km away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
668 reviews
1.8 km away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
153 reviews
9.6 km away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#2 of 5 in Charmouth
424 reviews
0.8 km away
Eypeleaze
Eypeleaze
#27 of 60 in Bridport
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Durbeyfield Guest House

Address: 10 West Bay, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > West Bay
Price Range: €56 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durbeyfield Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Durbeyfield Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor room if your not worried about there being a fire”
 of 5 bubbles Icklecottage, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in room 9 and it was on the third floor and there was no noise at all from the bar or the beer garden”
 of 5 bubbles 213kirstya, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Three rooms I saw on second floor all awful.”
 of 5 bubbles grahamm819, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My comments reflect room 9”
 of 5 bubbles 382stevea382, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 4, maybe others are cleaner.”
 of 5 bubbles X2360CYjanec, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5