We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save
Share
62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9706
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Autograph
Booking.com
US$800
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/02/21
FindHotel
US$872
US$729
View Deal
SAVE US$143
PricelineUS$800
Prestigia.comUS$804
getaroom.comUS$872
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1516)
Room & Suite (391)
Pool & Beach (281)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Puako
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection is located on Hawaii Island's Kohala Coast at at Kauna’oa Bay. Legendary, timeless hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees at our Mauna Kea Beach hotel.
Read more
Room & Suite (391)391
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1,695Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,165
  • 332
  • 110
  • 55
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RamFamMP wrote a review 18 Feb
Menlo Park, California39 contributions30 helpful votes
Special shout out to all the wonderful people here who go about and beyond every day to make vacations extra special. Thank you Marguerite for superbly managing the front desk team - it was always nice to see your smile behind the mask! Thanks to Melanie and Misty at the concierge desk for ably connecting our group to fun activities and necessary transportation - even at the last minute! Appropriate COVID precautions observed everywhere at the property. Don’t want to leave!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review your stay! We're absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning Marguerite, Melanie, and Misty. We will be sure to share your feedback to continue to encourage them to provide excellent service. We hope to welcome you back soon! Mahalo.
Read more
Y. S. wrote a review 6 Feb
San Francisco, California14 contributions4 helpful votes
Overall, we had a nice stay at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, especially considering we're still in the middle of the Covid pandemic. We got upgraded to the Deluxe Oceanview room, which was nice - but below what I expected. It's suppose to be the largest 1 bed rooms on the property, but it didn't feel large (although the walk-in closet took a lot of the space)... perhaps it's the old layout of the building, but it just felt like space was not utilized very well. It also seemed a bit dated (furniture, balcony, lack of charging plugs near the bed, etc). The views from the room were fantastic though. During the next remodel, it would be nice for them to replace he bulky railings with glass railings - would really enhance the view. Also, the elevators are in a big need for an upgrade. They just seemed very small, old, clunky, and slow (and there were a few times when they were not working). Breakfast at Matra was always great with a fantastic area overlooking the entire bay where you're able to see whales splashing and playing. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating - whether at the driveway, front desk, housekeeping, beach, or restaurant... everyone is working so hard in these tough Covid times. Overall, we're happy with our stay, given we used Marriott points. Looking at the pricing, I'd probably be a little disappointed if I was paying the cash rate considering how old and dated the property felt.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Get a room with ocean views... it's worth it.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha and Mahalo for choosing the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection for your recent travels along the Kohala Coast. Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is a main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you sharing your comments regarding the condition of the resort which will be shared with the hotel management team. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Read more
Igetaroundconb wrote a review 3 Feb
Southern california229 contributions122 helpful votes
Our family visited the Mauna Kea and the Hualalai during Dec. 2020. We have been many times to both resorts and were excited but apprehensive about what the post Covid experience would be. We are happy to report that it was really great. The Mauna Kea has done an excellent job at changing things around enough to keep guests and staff safe while keeping the experience top notch. All of the restaurants were already outdoors so that was simple, the bars no longer have stools, you have to sit at a table but the sunset is still spectacular. Chairs are spaced out nicely. Everyone wears their mask around the resort, elevator, lobby, etc. plus the double testing 72 hours then again on landing is a nice way to ensure the vast majority of guest are safe and apparently the policy is working for Hawaii as cases stay low. This trip we ended up adding a few days to the MK portion and reducing our days at the Hualalai as the MK was so nice though they still just don't have great food. We have learned to make the best of that as we like so many other things about the hotel and hold out hope they'll find a great cook for the Hau Tree someday. Also, I missed the popovers at 3. They are gone and they were so good! Bottom line, if you need a vacay, Hawaii and the Mauna Kea are really a great option. Crowds are down in a way you won't normally find, it's really a treat.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are so thankful you entrusted us with your stay in these uncertain times. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy the same experience that you have come to know and love. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come to create more Mauna Kea Moments!
Read more
scott mathews wrote a review Jan 2021
Province of Lucca, Italy2 contributions
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was amazing. Allan from the front desk was extremely attentive and allowed us to check into our ocean front suite before the typical check in time. Amazing view and a well trained staff at Manta restaurant. I had a New York steak cooked medium rare plus on point and they serve an amazing chimichurri sauce with it. I'm a world traveler and I must say they got it going on. And the beach! The best beach on the island. Tons of Aloha. Well be back for sure next time were adding an extra week just for the Mauna Kea!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 weeks ago
Mahalo for recognizing the staff and the wonderful service they provided to ensure that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! Thank you for sharing your kind review! We look forward to your return!
Read more
M3847UXmb wrote a review Jan 2021
Menlo Park, California1 contribution5 helpful votes
This was not my first visit to the Mauna Kea. The property and the setting is gorgeous. I love it there, but left never wanting to return. The customer service was terrible. Awful. We had issues arriving in Hawaii due to the very strict Covid testing policies (not the resort's fault clearly) and the manager was very accommodating with Amex Travel prior to our arrival. Once we arrived it was like those conversations never happened. They would not prorate the first night as discussed (our most expensive night by almost double) even though we arrived at almost midnight. The manager's response, with plenty of attitude, on my day of checkout regarding an adjustment (not a refund - just an adjustment so the rate was the same for all nights - still over $800/night) for the first night was "Why would I do anything for you?" Really? A resort that is between $800-1500/night has someone managing the front office with that attitude? I was floored. I followed up after I got home hoping that maybe she was just having a bad day. Same response. If you're looking for customer service, this is not the five star service you're paying for.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 19 Jan 2021
Aloha and mahalo for visiting us to enjoy the beautiful property. We do apologize for the inconvenience but have brought this to the attention of our hotel management team. Rest assured we will take all actions necessary to ensure all procedures are in place to best accommodate both our hotel guests and visitors alike. Thank you for your time and appreciate you bringing this to our attention as an area for improvement. We hope you visit us again so we may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the resort!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$530 - US$1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mauna kea beach kamuela, hotel mauna kea beach, mauna kea beach hotel
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKohala CoastPuako
NUMBER OF ROOMS
252
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Kona Kozy's Comedy & Magic Show (7.9 km), Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area (1.5 km), and Mauna Kea Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Original Big Island Shave Ice Co, Da Fish House, and Under the Bodhi Tree.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puukohola National Historic Park (3.7 km), Pu'ukohola Heiau (2.4 km), and Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve (6.7 km).
Does Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.