We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,707 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,473: English reviews
Edmonds
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have never had a bad experience at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel and have attended many conferences in the Islands. We had time to take in some of the amazing sites on the Gig Island, including a trip to Hilo, a nighttime visit to the Volcano, and a tour of the top of Mona Kea at sunset. Looking forward...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 200maurenec
Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the Thanksgiving week. I can't say enough about this hotel. everything was wonderful! The staff is great and always doing everything to make your stay as perfect as possible. They are also truly happy to help you and go out of their way to spoil the guests. Our room was large, very comfortable and clean with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BridesMom2AJ
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wonderful oceanview room overlooking uncrowded beautiful beach. Beach and pool areas are hard to beat for relaxation. Portions of hotel showing its age and long walks are required to access restaurants, garage, pool, and beach. Only 2 restaurants open for dinner but pool restaurants food was very good and fairly priced. Oddly dark elevators and hallways. Room was good sized...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia T
Kamuela
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Property is lovely. White sandy beaches, convenience of access to amenities and dining, non-commercial feel makes this an ideal choice for who are looking for rest and relaxation. Good location to travel to Hilo, the volcano or for going. south to kona.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susanfR8933IU
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This architecture of this hotel is outstanding and the location on Hapuna Beach is marvelous. The pool is huge and the hot tub is always a good temp. The bar and restaurant adjacent to the pool has a good light fare menu and a great happy hour. The Coast Grill has a good menu as well. The rooms are adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
Bathurst, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here for four nights and wished it was longer. Great property in a great location. The beach is wonderful, very clean and very clean water. The hotel staff were friendly and approachable. The dining outings are good and the fire was very good. Our room was great, great view, spacious and very clean. Based on our experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SalandBrad
Mililani
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel in the most beautiful setting on the most beautiful beach on the Big Island! I could stay here forever! The beach is sandy and safe and there are free lounge chairs with umbrellas provided by the hotel for you to use. The pool overlooks the ocean and is clean and spacious. The ocean view rooms provide views of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N5486IXstephaniem
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, and mahalo for leaving such a great review about your stay with us! And we wish you could stay here, forever too! We are thrilled you have such an lovely stay, and we cannot wait to welcome you back again soon, as our esteemed guest. Mahalo, and A Hui Hou! (Until we meet again...)

Seattle
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We come every year for a couple of days and really enjoy the room, food and of course the beach. This time we were in building 5 on the 9th floor. Loved it and the location. We ordered our food to take back to our room and enjoyed a cocktail at the bar🍸. We really enjoyed going over to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ads123
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha returning friends, and mahalo for taking the time to write up this review about your stay with us at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. We are so glad you had such a lovely stay ad enjoyed your room, and visiting our sister hotel, the Mauna Kea. Thank you for letting us know your concerns about the bathrooms, and we...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the moment you walk into the stunning lobby you will feel like you want to stay forever. The hotel is getting a bit dated, but makes up for this in quality, character and one of the best beaches in the world. You will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David R
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, and mahalo for your lovely review about your stay with us at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel! It certainly is a gem to us as well, and although we are aware of certain updating and needs that need to take place, we still think our hotel's stunning architecture, grounds and location can't be beat. We do have some renovation...

Sherwood, OR, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a family reunion with 22 of us at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel over Thanksgiving. It was a great place to stay and had great amenities. We had kids ranging from 3 years old to 20 years old with us and everyone had a great time. It was very windy during our stay so most of our beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
MaunaKeaResort, Guest Services Team at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, and mahalo for leaving this amazing review about your stay with us at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel! We are so thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful reunion, and that you chose HBPH to be your place of gathering and celebration! Thank you for your advice for future guests about the best places to go on...

1,585 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1561)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (359)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (333)
Viewed
Room/Suite (204)
Viewed
View from Room (150)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (389)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
1.1 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
9.1 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
43.6 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
6.3 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
10.5 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9749
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Price Range: €253 - €448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a good view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles BridesMom2AJ, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles Hawaiitraveler2015, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Building 3 (Ocean front) is more quiet than building 1 or 2 since they are closer to the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles charlie4768, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get into the building closest to the water or you'll be looking at it from your balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 239matth, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The closer to the ocean the better the views.”
 of 5 bubbles CKO696, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay