We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Redcastle Hotel

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Spa
Golf course
Free Internet
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Eglinton Airport13 km
Donegal Airport79 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (2,137)
Filter reviews
2,128 results
Traveller rating
1,051
589
264
133
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,051
589
264
133
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lough foyle captains bar golf course red castle sea view round of golf overlooking the water evening meal spa treatments lovely hotel waters edge relaxation room sauna and steam room night break bar food relaxing break leisure facilities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 2,128 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Booked the Lapland experience arrived at 4;30 to be told our room was no ready waited another 30 mins. There was no additional extras as part of the room/Lapland experience which we had ordered. Room in general very average for a 4* hotel. Breakfast again...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank Melissa M
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle HotelResponded today

Dear Melissa, Thank you for communicating your feedback on your stay, we are truly sorry that you had a less than positive experience. All feedback plays a crucial role to ensure we provide the best standard of service to our guests. We have communicated your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for my 50th birthday. Room not great. Two beds both together to make a double! Water didn’t know if it was free or not. Tea coffee and one packet of biscuits. No water fountain in the pool. Won’t be rushing back. Killyhalevin we...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank Glynis A
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle HotelResponded today

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay here at the hotel. I am sorry...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just home from 2 night break. We were made must welcome by all staff. Ate both nights in Captain’s bar and the food was excellent. Rooms very spacious and comfortable but furniture and carpet showing a little sign of wear. However this would not stop...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank fduffin61
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle HotelResponded today

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you sincerely...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed on my birthday night away to the supposed 4star hotel. Service was awful. Checked in at 3pm last sunday that was ok. Room nice nothing special room 206. Went to the bar took forever to be served. Got a phone call from the...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Djack2019
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle HotelResponded today

Dear Jack, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us at Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Unfortunately unforeseen issues may arise during...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff on reception are not the best. But the staff in the restaurant are amazing nothing is to much trouble. The pool is clean and has good facilities. I recommend getting a car, because trying to book a...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank JimO689
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jim, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
irishchick_86
10 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from happyholidays673 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry never heard of it.
0
Votes
KBM7
6 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Annabelweldon | Reviewed this property |
Not sure but I am sure they will mail you back if you ask. Good luck
0
Votes
Lisa M
8 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from JohnPg007 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, we got the room on the lough, but we didn't request and it was midweek and I know if your on the wrong side of the hotel there is a nightclub near by. I can assure I'm 20 years in hospitality and this hotel is good. 😃
1
Vote
Room Tips
"From our first hand experience Simply ask. If it's available the staff will definitely do their best..."
chrissW4571SF
7 Oct 2018
Read review
"Seaview room well worth it - if staying longer perhaps a suite would be suitable."
eleanorh256
6 Oct 2018
Read review
"Sea view rooms are worth the extra cost."
angelafP2615DV
25 Sep 2018
Read review
"Ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the pool and gym"
jamiemaze
21 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
redcastle hotel donegalcarlton redcastle hotel and thalassocarlton movillecarlton hotel redcastledonegal hotel redcastlehotel redcastle
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Redcastle Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandMoville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing