We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cedars Inn

PricelineUS$97*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$97*
US$97*
US$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cedars Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 649: English reviews
Start your review of Cedars Inn
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stay here quite often and appreciate the recent new décor and updated menu. The beer and wine is also good, and there is a range of choice of food. The various fish meals are particularly nice and good value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajjm2017
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I used to eat here years ago, beautiful setting and area, the food/menu used to be amazing. Have visited cedars a few times recently for family events. Substandard food, substandard service. Luke warm mains cold desserts. This place was much better before taken over by old English inns. Weatherspoons food for higher prices !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sladebug
Kent
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've visited here lots, and actually stayed here for a month (insurance paid for it)... but today's visit was really poor. Simple food of 2 burgers took almost 30 minutes, and one came out with a rock hard stale bun. No serviette on the table, and when we returned the totally unacceptable burger bun, the staff acknowledged it was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KentishTraveller2008
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

I am very disappointed that your meal was not to our normal high standard and I am sure you will know this is the case, as you stayed here for a month. We do not treat any guest any different .. adult or child. I am 100% that if you had spoken to the duty Manager at the time, this...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I go here because it's local & the food is good. The service is usual poor to average but Saturday evening I had a party of 8 to dine with and for the 1st time I experienced great service. Well done April, Dan & Jake. A lovely time had by all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueleggett
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, I will pass them on to the team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at cedars for the weekend to relax as a birthday break with my partner the hotel was wonderful ..clean comfortable and relaxing food was fantastic and staff friendly and very helpful wish we could have stayed longer ...will be booking again loved it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

We are all very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cedars and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter and team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took all the family out to The Cedars for a farewell dinner and really enjoyed ourselves. The service was eager, but a bit lacking (young ones) and had to chase them up a few times hence the four instead of five stars. Food was great and good value for all of us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y3253JTmarkf
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for visiting the Cedars and would love to see you again soon. Peter and team

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got taken here treat by daughter for lunch. Sat loooking out over gardens. Service by young man good. Food average - my chilli was only warm and padded out with rice and nachos very little chilli/meat. Floor/carpet was filthy with food, pens etc needed a good hoovering. Ants all over window sills! Cobwebs everywhere above the tables , couldn't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Our team work extremely hard to keep on top of cobwebs.. but the quicker you clear them.. they come back.. but we will continue to keep them away.. many thanks for your comments

Devon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this bank hol Monday. Plenty of free tables, pleasant surroundings. I like it that the tables are arranged in small areas so you can pick somewhere quiet if you want to. Got served at the bar efficiently and politely. Good that we ordered came quite quickly and was well presented and tasty. Nobody checked back with us or came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purpledolphin1963
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

We have been working extremely hard on improvements and always welcome feedback. I am pleased to see you gave us another chance and Im glad to see the team delivered as expected. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sorry to have to say this but I feel it only right to advise others about the poor service you are likely to recieve if you visit this place. The restaurant was only about half full so in my opinion there was no excuses for this poor level of service we received. On arrival we were shown to our seats...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanNCurrier
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

I understand that Jez made a mistake on his first shift leader session... and I understand he came and apologised to you in person. Jez is a very good member of the team and aims on giving high service standards. We all aim to ensure our guests are happy and should we fail to deliver we will always go out...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So disappointed in the service here! Went to the Cedars on Sunday afternoon for a late lunch/early dinner. We ordered our food at the bar then sat in the restaurant. Our starters came out fairly quickly and we're nice. The problem was after we had eaten we sat there for about 30-35 minutes waiting for our starters to be cleared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlottecaitin
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry we let you down on this occasion. This is not the standard of service we expect from our team. We would have preferred you to have asked for the for the duty Manager at the time, as they would have then had the opportunity to put things right for you before you left. Please do not...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sticklepath
2.0 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,155 reviews
2.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,463 reviews
3.0 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
507 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
8.8 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Address: Bickington Road, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Price Range: €86 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedars Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
6 days ago
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
over a year ago
St Albans
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cedars Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms available for disabled access”
ajjm2017, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are excellent”
teresahV5907BG, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are lovely centered around a quaint coutyard”
268alisont, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ground floor”
chrissD5609OR, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only visited for a meal so no knowledge of accommodation”
craftgranny, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$97* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$97
TravelocityUS$97
Orbitz.comUS$97
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates