We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viamede Resort

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Viamede Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Viamede Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 243: English reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent two days and nights at the resort. The stay was relaxing which was our objective for the outing, but the experience could be made much better. Here are some of the pros and cons in our view: The setting is great. From our room we had a great view of a beautiful, typical Canadian Shield...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ianbender
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear ianbender, Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a lovely stay, despite a few hiccups. I appreciate your comments regarding maintenance - improvements are ongoing and we are working hard to address the issues you mentioned. Cheers, Ben

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2016

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay, with another couple, in Cottage 410 at Viamede. On the plus side, the setting is lovely and the cottage is right on the water. The staff are all pleasant, friendly, and helpful. We appreciated having a 4-piece ensuite for each of the 2 bedrooms, and the air-conditioning was also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 219judyg
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear 219judyg Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you did enjoy the view and your experience here. We are addressing the maintenance issues you have mentioned. Cheers, Ben

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2016

This place is very old and is definitely in a state of transition and in need of major upgrades in the rooms, decor, grounds, staff/services, everything. They are charging exorbitant rates for what they offer. The place felt eerily deserted although the cottages looked to be booked with families. My room was not cleaned well and was really shabby but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wildthing_11
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wildthing_11, Thanks for your review. You are correct, that Viamede is a casual, rustic retreat. It is a century resort, and as such our rooms are not what you might find at the big chains. However, the value is in our boldly different experience - incredible food, lots of activities (all included) and the fantastic setting. Cheers Ben

Toronto
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Location, location, location! This resort is on a fabulous parcel of land and the main lodge has fantastic views over the lake and the outdoor pool. Sadly, the main building needs some TLC (peeling paint, rotting railings, dirty windows, more vacuuming or better yet get rid of the carpeting entirely) and the pools need more regular vacuuming (both indoor and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharingadvice
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sharingadvice, Thank you for your comments. We are making ongoing improvements at the resort, including the areas you have mentioned. I hope you'll give us another chance to wow you in the future. Cheers, Ben

Mississauga
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay! The staff is friendly and very accomodating. Food was amazing! Lots of activities and things to do including well needed R & R! We stayed in a cozy 1 bdrm cottage with our dog who also had a blast! Great view of the lake! Thank you everyone at Viamede! We will be back!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysanadventur
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Trish and Steve, Thanks for your review. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Ben

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Called the second week of March 2016 to inquire about their cabins. We were recommended Cabin 412 because it was shaded, on the beach, whirlpool tub and King size bed. So we booked for August 4-7th Called again one week ago to confirm reservation. Also we received an email. Over the phone we were informed Cabin 412 was reserved for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jennifertaylor085
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear jennifertaylor085, I am sorry about the mixup with your cottage - I can understand your frustration at being moved. We have reviewed front desk and booking policies to ensure this doesn't happen again. Cheers Ben

Georgetown, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I am going to start by saying I had fairly high expectations from our last visit years ago...unfortunately I was disappointed big time! The positive - our dogs had a blast, the views are spectacular and the staff was as accommodating as they could be. I can honestly say we felt for the money paid we were really let down....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennn333
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear jennn333, Our cottages are indeed a bit rustic, but it sounds like you may have needed one of our bigger cottages. We always try to match the cottage when we know the family size and planned activities, and I am sorry we let you down here. We do have an extensive recreation program and lots of on-site activities, but...

Reviewed 2 August 2016

My husband and I just returned from a four day stay at Viamede. The only reason we would go back is because they let us bring our dog. He loved it but my husband and I not so much. Our cabin was not very clean and it was quite run down. The fridge needed to be cleaned too. A little...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura P
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Laura P, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay! Our cottages are rustic, but should certainly be clean - we have reviewed standards with our housekeeping team. As for the lake, it is not normally weedy. However, drought conditions this summer have increased the amount of weeds in the lake. We do as much as we...

Ajax, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This is our second time to Viamede and it did not disappoint. We had a wonderful relaxing time in cottage 402, on the waters edge. As usual the staff were very attentive and the resort was clean and well maintained. A welcome addition this year is the indoor pool, complete with sauna and steam room. We also enjoyed the newly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 859Keith859
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear 859Keith859, Thanks for your review! I'm happy to hear the whole family enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next year! Cheers, Ben

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

It's our first time at Viamede Resort and stayed for 5 nights. We love the scenery...it is breath taking...so Beautiful! . My daughter love all the activities for kids...the trampoline..kayak..the kids games ...fishing...boat tour with Ben ( the owner).Thanks Ben for taking us!!! The inside and outside pool are clean...my daughter love it... but then its better if both are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vangie T
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vangie T, Thank you for your comments. We are continuously updating and improving the resort, so we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Cheers Ben

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
19.0 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
100 reviews
33.1 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
354 reviews
14.5 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
175 reviews
5.6 km away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
16 reviews
11.5 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Grill
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Viamede Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Viamede Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everything is right on the lake.”
Joan1804, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“There are resort rooms and cottages. We really liked being in our own cottage right on the water.”
  • The view of the lake from our cottage deck
  • Sunset - can you even!
  • Just outside of our cottage
359elisak, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“being at the waters edge is nice but check that the rooms are clean and stocked with supplies”
marg634, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“I love staying in the main building - I didn't need to go outside to get to breakfast.”
450jenna, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not bother”
860ginger, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates