We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chateau St. Gerlach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Chateau St. Gerlach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 321: English reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

A Family overnight trip. We were given an apartment instead of two room which was fantastic away. Love the grounds and the history behind the buildings. The old style decor was charming and loved the heated floors in every room.

Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Kylie M., Thanks you for your stay and your beautiful words. Nice to hear you had an amazing time at our estate and the grounds. We’re looking forward to see you again. I wish you a beautiful Christmas time. With warm regards, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations More 

Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel of this class. Front desk staff is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast area is spacious and one of the best in the Netherlands. Parking is adequate good for cars. I actually stayed here once in the weekend. I'll be back to this place and highly recommend to others when in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MohsenParisa
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear MohsenParisa, Thank you again for your stay at Château St. Gerlach. Wow! These are lovely words, thank you for your beautiful compliments. In the end of the day we want our guest to be happy. I´ll share your feedback with all my colleagues. We´re look forward to seeing you again! With warm wishes, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A family weekend in Limburg, the south of the Netherlands. Stayed for 1 night in this luxury environment. Booked 2 rooms: one at the first floor and one outside in the 'barn'. The room situated at the 1st floor was named 'room with a view' but unfortenly the view was partly gone due to the roof of the breakfast restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank fth2013
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayd at the part with appartements. Exceeded expectations. Clean, charming, well decorated (old & stylish). Friendly staff that Goes out of their way to help you. Breakfast was one of the best i had. Fresh, modern, great variety, etc. Whole location was beautiful. Paying the check was the only downside. They overcharged us 400euro but corrected it quickly. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jorinde V
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Jorinde V., Thank you for your stay and your beautiful words! Good to hear you had an amazing time at our estate and you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. I want to apologies for this inconvenience. This is not de service we want provide. We’re looking forward to meet you again! With warm wishes, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations More 

Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful place, extremely beautiful, excellent service - we had a noise problem with our room (it was by the building entrance and we could hear anyone that got in or out), but it was dealt with very well. Really a calm and pampering vacation. The hotel bistro was also very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 616yl
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear 616yl, Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach and your wonderful words! Good to hear you enjoyed your time at our estate! Our apologies for the noise from the hotel entrance. I wish you a nice start into the new week, hopefully we see you again! With kind regards, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely the most luxurious experience of my life. The Chateau is gorgeous with a capital "G", the staff was wonderful, food was over-the-top delicious and I can't imagine a better way or place to spend a very special birthday with very special friends. Highly recommend, BUT, not for those on a budget. This IS an expensive luxury.

Helpful?
Thank nspoylo
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear nspoylo, Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach! Good to hear you had a great experience at our estate. Nice to celebrate your birthday with your friends and a beautiful location. I hope you will remember this day and we’re looking forward to see you again! With warm regards, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations More 

Antwerpen
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms and public places need to be restyled. Outdated furniture. Room not clean, some of the lights were broken. No hairdryer, no toilet brush available. No staff in the public bar. For the price, this should be available at least.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ClaudetteAntwerpen
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear ClaudetteAntwerpen, Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach. Unfortunately your stay wasn’t quite what you had in mind. We want to apologies for these inconveniences. That’s not the service and hospitality we want to provide. Our estate and surroundings are historic and full of art, so we also want to show this in our rooms and de... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

perfect location, nice room and excellent restaurant. Utmost friendly staff. This location is a perfect week end destination in the very proximity of Maastricht and Aachen. Also the surrounding is perfect for walking and discovering nature. The only weaker point is the lighting of the rooms. Although dimmed lights are cosy, there is not enough light in the rooms for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank albertbrussels
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear albertbrussels, Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach! Good to hear you enjoyed our location and your dinner at the restaurant. Indeed the estate is only half an hour from Maastricht and Aachen. It’s located in the country site of Limburg and very central to other cities. Thank you for your tip! I’ve already shared this point... More 

Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here two night on business and it was the perfect place, especially versus the clinical nature of the usual 'corporate hotels'. Comfortable, homely, classical. Highly recommended. The restaurant was also very nice. The food was very fresh and the service premium. Great hospitality and wonderful experience!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JustsJ
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear JustsJ, Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach and your lovely words! Nice to hear you enjoyed our countryside estate and the surroundings. Indeed it’s a good place to feel homely and comfortable. We’re looking forward to meet you again. With kind regards, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been positively surprised by the property. We spent there a long weekend and it was amazing. The property is big and the rooms are spacious. The breakfast is at the level a 5 stars buffet and really good. The spa is super cozy and we enjoyed it a lot.

Helpful?
Thank bbp_12
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear bbp_12, Thanks again for your stay at Château St. Gerlach! We’re enthusiast about your lovely words. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our estate and the facilities. Good we surprised you in a beautiful and romantic way! There more surprises yet to come, so we’re looking forward to meet you again! With kind regards, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations More 

376 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (333)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (171)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
2.1 km away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 49 in Valkenburg
156 reviews
8.4 km away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
1,110 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 49 in Valkenburg
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 49 in Valkenburg
202 reviews
16.2 km away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
469 reviews
17.9 km away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvelous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Price Range: €166 - €328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chateau St. Gerlach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Chateau St. Gerlach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a separate shower if you are a bid older.... otherwise you have to take the shower in the bathtub ......”
 of 5 bubbles fth2013, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, only the price and surface makes the difference.”
 of 5 bubbles EJM20152015, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had room 418, a two-story apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles Mikaiel, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room with a terrace is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles cclondon581, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air-conn if travelling in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles Tims54, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay