We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chateau St. Gerlach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Chateau St. Gerlach
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 331: English reviews
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay very much. The service is excellent, staff is friendly and attentive. The restaurant food is stunning. The wellness facilities are nice and proper the only "negative" is that there is only one shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emdu
Loosdrecht
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a senior suite in the formar "Prachthof" nice big room and superior bed, room a bid dark, though cosy.... All very clean. The "journey" to the pool and sauna, was a surprise, everybody is walking with their bathrobe and or umbrella from the room to the pool. The locker-room and facility is way out of date for a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fuhren J
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Fuhren J., Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach! Good to hear you enjoyed your room. We have all different kind off rooms. Some of them are more lighter than others. We’re sorry to hear your time at the Spa & Wellness wasn’t quite what you had in mind. We want to apologies for these inconveniences. Thank...

Banner Elk
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service and restaurant. Beautiful grounds even in the icy snow. Our room ,119, was adequate not as charming as photo of senior suite. VERY loud noises kept us awake, assume coming from the kitchen or maintenance area beneath.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G8870SAjb
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear G8870SAjb, Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach! The icy snow gave our grounds indeed a very beautiful and romantic look. I’m sorry to hear you had this inconvenience, we want to apologies for this. I’m looking forward to meet you again, until then, I wish you the best. With warm wishes, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations

Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We drove there from Amsterdam. I had read a review which said this wonderful castle and state was un-Dutch!!! Well, I am not from the Netherlands but I find their way-of-life most healthy, sustainable and family-friendly, the three main points I happen to discover on this fairy- tale castle. We had an apartment -huge and beautifully decorated, overlooking the gardens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes D
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear Mercedes D., Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach and your beautiful words. We’re really appreciate your kind words about your latest stay at the estate. Good to hear you enjoyed our service and hospitality. It’s really true, we’re surrounded by the beautiful nature, maybe we seeing you again in the summer? We’re looking forward to see...

Tervuren
Reviewed 1 week ago

great stay with family! beautiful region for promenades ande very close to citu of maastricht great idea to visit maastricht and benefit from shuttle service nice swimmingpool, kids friendly nice service very nice rooms

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank csN2515SX
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear csN2515SX, Thank you for your visit at Château St. Gerlach! Nice to hear you had a lovely time at our estate. The estate is very close to Maastricht and other cities, for example Aachen. Good to hear you enjoyed our service and facilities. We’re looking forward to see you again. With kind regards, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations

Ronse
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great stay: warm welcome at check in, gastronomic Sylvester diner with high quality wines, unique Sylvester party and nice firework at midnight! I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a unique experience to celebrate memorable events!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wc2017
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear wc2017, First of all I wish you a happy new year! Good to hear you had a warm welcome at Château St. Gerlach. Nice you enjoyed our Silvester party and made memorable memories. Thank you for your recommendations, we appreciate this. With kind regards, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My kids have grown up going to Gerlach since my oldest was born. My wife and i find it to be the most relaxing place to go to and the kids call it paradise. We have been more than 20 times over 10 yrs

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mschaedel
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear mschaedel, First of all I wish you and your family a happy new year! We’re happy to hear Château St. Gerlach is your favorite family getaway. That’s a lovely compliment! Nice that you had an relaxing time at our estate. We’re look forward to seeing you and your family again! With warm wishes, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations

Oostkamp, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very busy, staff had trouble providing a good service. Pool was overwhelmed by noisy kids ( we have one ourselves thus nothing against polite kids). Breakfast area too crowded. Magnificent setting however and friendly staff !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W8876RAjb
Ann-Sophie E, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear W8876RAjb, First of all I wish you and your family a happy new year! Thank you for your stay at Château St. Gerlach and your feedback! We’re not happy to hear your stay wasn’t quite what you had in mind. We’re very sorry about that. I want to apologies for this. We had a very busy period in our...

Mohandessin, Cairo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

it was the star of our 2 weeks road trip. very nice hotel, friendly staff and very helpful, and rooms were very pleasant. bistro food and service was implacable, my wife tried their massage and she was very happy,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 405ahmedf
Rachelle P, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear 405ahmedf, Thanks for your stay and your kind words about our service and the estate. We’re proud to hear you had an amazing time at Château St. Gerlach. We’re looking forward to meet you again! I wish you a Merry Christmas and the best wishes for 2017! With warm regards, Ann-Sophie Empt Guest Relations

Limburg Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

If You are looking for the top-place to be in the south of the NL, You have found it here! Top-quality in ambiance, food and beverages, location, hospitality. Visit all the historical buildings on the large site. Just awesome! And for the WW2-buffs: discover the story of Joe Ryan and the bullithole in the mirror!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJbLimbricht
Ann-Sophie E, Front Office Manager at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review

Dear MjbLimbricht, Thank you very much for your stay at Château St. Gerlach. Wat a lovely compliment about your stay and our estate. Thank you very much for your kind words. You are absolutely right, the documentary of Joe Ryan is an absolute must see during a stay at Château St. Gerlach. For now I wish you beautifull christmas days...

393 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (350)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (184)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
2.1 km away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 47 in Valkenburg
160 reviews
8.4 km away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
1,182 reviews
16.2 km away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
204 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
395 reviews
17.9 km away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvelous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Price Range: €161 - €284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chateau St. Gerlach staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Chateau St. Gerlach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms were very comfortable dinner and breakfast were delicious”
 of 5 bubbles 405ahmedf, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a separate shower if you are a bid older.... otherwise you have to take the shower in the bathtub ......”
 of 5 bubbles fth2013, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, only the price and surface makes the difference.”
 of 5 bubbles EJM20152015, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had room 418, a two-story apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles Mikaiel, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room with a terrace is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles cclondon581, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay