We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
Antico Borgo Poggiarello
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Antico Borgo Poggiarello
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Rijswijk
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was our second stay at Poggiarello, and what a stay it was. Wonderful admosphere and great hospitality by Roberto and family. Good swinging pool, opportunity to have a authentic dinner, prepared by a enthousiastic cook, with a passion for his proffesion. The best view ever on Tuscan landscape with view on a San Gimignano on the horizon. Accomodation what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans054
United States
Reviewed 12 July 2011

First impression - a gypsy camp full of hobos. Awful, just terrible, the place has no A/C but the owner says in a flippant and condescending way, "oh, well, in the night time just open the windows because we are in the mountains and it cools down." OK but what about in the afternoon if you want to relax in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Frequent_Traveler
poggia, Proprietario at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we point out that despite all that you wrote, you were in my farm only 15 minutes, so you have not had the opportunity to test the quality of our services.

calgary
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Roberto and his wife were wonderful hosts at this marvelous B and B. Our accommodation was excellent and wished we could have stayed longer. A perfect location for taking in all of the sights in the Tuscany area. Meals at the B and B were outstanding. Both Roberto and his wife produced some of the best suppers and the Tiramasu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank golfandwinegal
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Had a wonderful stay- 3 nights in late Autumn, walking and driving around the many local hill towns and villages. The hotel is beautifully located on the brow of a hill, really remote and far away from any passing traffic or noise. The old farm stead is restored as charming suites. We had a double room with a good bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stefan53
Durham, New Hampshire
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I think a lot must have changed since many of the other reviews have been written, because our stay at Poggiarello was wonderful. I was traveling with my fiance and my parents, and as my parents had booked the trip, I knew nothing about the place before we arrived. The drive in was a tad complicated (and the directions were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ljcurren
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Bad value for money place is quiet, too quiet, far from rest of the world - first real village is at least 10km. Food is not bad, but relatively expensive, no a la carte menu. Rooms are old furnished, beds are hard. Swimming pool is ok, but beds and surroundings are poor with no ambiance. €120/night is far too much....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BriBraopreis
poggia, Owner at Antico Borgo Poggiarello, responded to this review

Dear Mrs or Mr BriBraopreis, Thank you for your review. Just some point that we want to make clear. Our dinner has composed by 5 courses (each one different day by day) and the price is 29 Euro p.p., The apartments are furnished in OLD TUSCANY STYLE and the beds are anatomic the surroundigs are in national walnut wood. Our...

Dublin
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Poggiarello is a great place for those who want to be a little off the beaten track, but not too far from amenities or places of interest..Here you can have your cake and eat it. It's set amongst extensive woods on a hillside with expansive views. From the upper part of the site.Paulo will likely point out the hill towns...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pollera
san francisco, CA
Reviewed 6 November 2009

After traveling extensively through southern France and Italy we look for rural and ancient places to stay and Antico Borgo Poggiarello is our favorite. This part of Tuscany is exquisite, with rolling hills and ancient towns, but mainly we love this place because of the family that runs it. It's the closest a foreigner will get to living "under the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graphicdesign
marin county
Reviewed 6 November 2009

this was our 2nd trip to Poggiarello, and we loved it even more than the first time.Our apartment overlooked the most beautiful sunsets we've ever seen! We absolutely love the family.. the hospitality couldnt have been better! Grazia, the wife of Nino the owner, gave me some amazing cooking lessons, I came home to San Francisco and bought a pasta...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VittoriaMarinCounty
ct
Reviewed 11 October 2009

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with a kitchen (which we didn't use as we were only there one night), small dining area with table. pool was very nice, scenery is spectacular and the hosts were very charming- great with our 10 year old and the teenagers as well. Food was really tasty-perhaps has changed since original revews. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knatalie

448 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (241)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Bruco Apartment for 8 (62)
Viewed
Giraffa Apartment for 4 (34)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Tartuca Apartment for 6 (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Torre Suite for 4 (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteriggioni
2.9 km away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
783 reviews
4.3 km away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
178 reviews
15.0 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#4 of 12 in Monteriggioni
481 reviews
21.5 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
505 reviews
15.1 km away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Antico Borgo Poggiarello, a special place to stay!Farmhouse in Tuscany, Senese Chianti, Italy, with swimming pool, Roman Bath, 14 holiday apartments, sat-tv and Free Wi-Fi Internet, a typical restaurant with the best traditional food and Chianti wines. The interiors and exteriors of the village in common use are equipped to accommodate people having difficulty walking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Antico Borgo Poggiarello

Address: Strada di San Monti 12 | 53035, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Price Range: €98 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Antico Borgo Poggiarello 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Antico Borgo Poggiarello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Antico Borgo Poggiarello staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Antico Borgo Poggiarello staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“apartment was great for our family”
 of 5 bubbles loralieh, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tuscan hillside panorama, large rooms, nice restaurant, pool and grotto”
  • Taken from the private patio outside our suite
 of 5 bubbles jarrodfelton, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles elinoar, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All apartments are good locations and vary in size - I have stayed twice, once as 2 adults and 1 child and once as 4 adults and 1 child...each was perfect for our needs. When we went as a couple we got a suite which had a lovely private terrace :-) Another tip would be to go hungry to dinner - as it is so lovely you dont want to waste any!”
 of 5 bubbles Wynnie219, 25 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Not all rooms have views of the countryside but there is a wonderful terrace on which everyone can sit, relax and enjoy the views.”
 of 5 bubbles MollyLondon2014, 22 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5