We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel ECU - Different Hotels

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel ECU - Different Hotels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with a group of 13. Was told a 'boutique hotel' was booked which immediately raises expectations. Unfortunately these were not met. Room on the 5th floor smelled of sewage, I'm sure it came from the bathroom. Lack of tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, bottled water in the rooms costs €3! Carpet in hallway looked tired. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarlienH
Bredene, Belgium
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

entranche not clear at the outside,to much noise from the hall and the other rooms also from the ventilation in the bathroom,room to small,not clean--> dirty laundry from the visitor before us underwear an t-shirt,empty bottle of spa of the visitor before us,receptioniste not friendly in the evening, no code to leave the parking

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Filip L
Reviewed 2 November 2016

it was a short stay but everything was OK !! As we do not stay often in a hotel we did not know that the electricity only is ON when the "door key " is put in the "card holder ". There was a large variety to have breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martine D
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 31 October 2016

+ central location in Genk and in Limburg (C-mine, Bokrijk, nature reserves, Hasselt) Very nice breakfast buffet Quiet rooms Modern and clean rooms - hallways need renovation (dirty carpet, paint on doors coming off) Only one small elevator Staff has limited knowledge on outdoor activities Toilet in room right next to bed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WeekendLimburg
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We booked here after our first choice cancelled our reservation due to "technical difficulties" Location is very convenient as its directly across from the Train Station and a very short walk to the city Center. Odd setup as it is not very well signed and when you look in the front you see a elevator. the Reception is on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark Y
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Great hotel in the center of Genk I have stayed many times and love the small boutique style of this hotel Rooms are spacious except those near the lifts try to go for the top floor as these are the best ones. Parking is an issue at times but you can par in the road out front except on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unforgiven67
DifferentHotels, Manager at Hotel ECU - Different Hotels, responded to this review

Dear, One word = THANKS! See you next time! Best regards, Sonny Biesmans Guest Loving Assistant Manager

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We booked this hotel in Genk because we attended a wedding in this Belgium town. (I guess, because the hotel was renovated and) the entrance was at the back of the street so it was not easy to find. The rooms looked like they were just renovated and looked modern but were a bit small. As we just stayed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkAdriaanse
DifferentHotels, Manager at Hotel ECU - Different Hotels, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for your review. Nice to see you enjoyed your stay. We would like to inform you that we are busy to renovate our corridors. Hopefully we can welcome you in the near future. Best regards, Sonny Biesmans Guest Loving Assistant Manager

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Small but modern and clean rooms, in general the entire hotel is very modern. It is in Genk's city center and they have their own parking lot. The breakfast was really good and the service very attentive and pleasant. I found it really cheap for that what they offer. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pau P
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel ECU - Different Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Pau P, Thank you very much for your fantastic review, and for highlighting our rooms & location. We hope to welcome you again in one of our Different Hotels! Guest Loving Relations Manager, Tessa.

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel a few days ago. When we arrived we noticed reception is on the 1st floor. After getting our room key we walked in and was really disappointed. The room looked nothing like the one on the website. The bathroom is opposite the bed. When going to try to shut the sliding door it has no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pals06
DifferentHotels, Manager at Hotel ECU - Different Hotels, responded to this review

Dear, What a pity that you didn't liked your stay. We always try to have an open & clear communication on our website. Feel free to contact me during a next stay. Best regards, Sonny Biesmans Guest Loving Assistant Manager

london, england
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I initially was given a room which was nicely decorated but certainly a box room. There was no fridge and unfortunately there was a big dip in the bed. I did complain and was swiftly moved to another room which was much nicer, It had much more space, it was light and airy and had a fridge, a seating area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winnery26
DifferentHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel ECU - Different Hotels, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review and the kind words concerning our wonderful and helpful staff! We really appreciate this. We think it is very important to please our guests. We experienced that other guests think that the room is also fine. But if you prefer another room, our team looks for the best alternative! We would...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genk hotels
0.1 km away
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
0.6 km away
M Hotel - Different Hotels
2.7 km away
Hotel Atlantis - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel 't Hert
Hotel 't Hert
#6 of 11 in Genk
41 reviews
0.1 km away
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#9 of 11 in Genk
21 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#3 of 11 in Genk
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ecu: From the moment you set foot in Hotel ECU you will appreciate the warm and personal welcome. Hotel ECU offers a sober and trendy decor illuminated by light colours. This urban hotel is located right in the heart of bustling Genk. Combine an enjoyable overnight stay with one of the best breakfast buffets in Limburg! Sleep: Hotel ECU offers 51 guest-rooms with bath and/ or shower. The rooms also provide free wireless internet, a television with Movie Channels and a telephone. Meetings: Business travellers are more than welcome! The meeting facilities are extensive and can be arranged according to your needs. The meeting room is bright and spacious with free wireless internet and can accommodate a maximum of 16 persons. Drink and taste: The lounge bar is a delightful place to unwind over a drink and some pleasant music. You can enjoy lunch or dinner in the following restaurants nearby La Focaccia (3,6 km), Brasserie Royal (700 m) or restaurant Gusto (20 m). Relax: After a day shopping, walking or cycling, what could be more relaxing than a private sauna? Use of the sauna includes bathrobes, towels and care products. (fee) For wellness and massages you can visit Carbon Sense (20 m). The area: Take some time to get to know the area. Visit the Bokrijk open-air museum, discover the c-mine expedition and get lost in space at the Cosmodrome. Indulge your love of nature at the Hoge Kempen National Park, the largest in Flanders (6000 ha) and only a stone's throw from the hotel. Get some retail therapy in the modernised centre of Genk, Maasmechelen Village or in the nearby cities of Maastricht and Hasselt. Practical Information: You can park your car for €7,5 instead of €9 per night in the private car park. The main station is a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel ECU - Different Hotels

Address: Europalaan 46, Genk 3600, Belgium (Formerly Hampshire Hotel - ECU Genk )
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Genk
Price Range: €63 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ECU - Different Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel ECU - Different Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Ecu Genk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel ECU - Different Hotels staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel ECU - Different Hotels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One side is a busy street and another is Parking Lot. High Floor!”
 of 5 bubbles marky443, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Large room where possible!”
 of 5 bubbles winnery26, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“new part of the building , the old part's rooms are not that nice !”
 of 5 bubbles mehmetkursatp, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on the first floor, if you need wheelchair acces.”
 of 5 bubbles ElenaBombeke, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“My room was on the second floor, next to the elevator and overlooked the street. I was not disturbed at all. it was very quite.”
 of 5 bubbles edwardbV4651EB, 19 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay