We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cantley House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cantley House Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

485 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cantley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 479: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Tired and dirty... some period features but the room felt grubby. breakfast was chaotic, the wrong breakfasts were presented to us in the morning... oh - and we found dog chews in the safe! note to management - tired and dirty doth not a charming hotel make!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol9751
Thomas_CHH, Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol 9751, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy some aspects of your stay with us. I'm disappointed with what you have experienced during your stay and I can assure you that it was not the norm. We continue to train and educate our staff but it is dissapointing to read that...

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Lovely stay with my partner in May. Friendly staff, quiet hotel, lovely jucuzi bath we enjoyed before bed. I would definitely stay again. Advertised as free breakfast on Trip Advisor but we were quoted around £15 for 1

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misselem
Thomas_CHH, Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Misselem, Thank you for your review of Cantley House. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am however puzzled by your comment about breakfast being free as I could not find such information on TripAdvisor. I hope you will choose to stay with us next time you are in Wokingham. With kindest...

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

We went to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Booked a superior room. £158 bed and breakfast. Welcome was weak, warning us there was a wedding in the hotel. Room was WAY more shabby than chic; Threadbare bathrobes, almost translucent towels, scum encrusted shower fitting, patchy underfloor heating, shoddy furniture in the room. But, Miltons restaurant was excellent, a short walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel T
Thomas_CHH, Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nigel T, Thank you for your review of Cantley House. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are currently addressing all the issues you have described to avoid future problems. Most of our rooms have been refurbished but indeed we still have some rooms awaiting an upgrade. We had an issue with our towels supplier...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

I've been staying on and off for the last month. They've now stopped serving the full menu in the restaurant on Mondays and Tuesday's leaving a very short bar menu if you have to eat here. Today they'd even stopped waitress breakfast service with no explanation. Wifi is very weak/ non existent. No hot water in the shower for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevewilly_12
Thomas_CHH, Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stevewilly_12, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our menu choices in the bar. We do offer a la carte menu Tuesday to Saturday and table d'hote and bar menu Mondays. You should have been offered our full menu on Tuesday and I'm ever so sorry that it did not happen on...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This hotel has a special athmosphere but not extremely ideal for a short business stay. Rooms are small and a bit outdated. Breakfast choice was horrible, dinner a-la-carte is not impressive either though food was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RandZ0805
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

My wife and I had our Wedding Reception at Cantley House in late August. What first struck us about Cantley in the lead up to the wedding was the unwavering support and flexibility we had from the hotel staff, and particularly our planner, Angie. Nothing was impossible; any idea we had or requirement we needed was catered for with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We have stayed here a few times now, great location and grounds, really pretty. The rooms and overall quality of hotel is going downhill fast. The rooms look tired, the decoration is old, ropey and is need of an update. There are always notes to say updates are going on but I have seen little evidence of this and on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leesajaypeee
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leesajaypeee, Thank you for leaving your review of Cantley House. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your room during your last stay with us. I can reassure you that our refurbishment program is well under. We have opened our new bar The Vault in September and most of outr rooms are fully redecorated. We only have 8 small...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015

This is a nice hotel in a good location, set in grounds next to a park on the outskirts of Wokingham. While it is a big period property, it does need updating. Disabled access would be an issue here because there are steps all over the place and anyone with mobility issues would not be able to access much at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elmshart
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear elmshart, Thank you for your review of Cantley House. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with you bathroom. Indeed, we have still some small Cosy Double rooms that are dated. This is something we have been addressing this year and we have completed refurbishment of most of our rooms Also, in September we have opened a new bar The...

Reviewed 2 October 2015

Really enjoyed my stay at Cantley House Hotel. It was my base for 4 days, while I was training at a nearby centre. The staff is very friendly and helpful, providing a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Good breakfast menu, big, light room added to the overall experience, which I would rate as excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flemming B
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We only stayed one night but as it was a Saturday night we shared the hotel with a wedding. As we were over the garden area a number of guests were outside till the early hours and as a light sleeper with good hearing it was a little annoying, particularly as the language was quite colourful! Not wanting to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
Thomas_CHH, General Manager at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet H, I am ever so sorry that you didn't enjoy some aspects of your stay with us. We did inform you at the time of your booking that we had a wedding on the same day and I'm sorry that you were disturbed by other guests. I do apologise about the problem with the lukewarm water but we...

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wokingham
3.0 km away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
9.7 km away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
3.5 km away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
969 reviews
14.2 km away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cantley House Hotel is a spacious independently owned, 36 bedroom Victorian Country House Hotel set in 50 acres of beautiful Berkshire parkland, 2 minutes from the historic market town of Wokingham. The building has been carefully restored over the years maintaining its many beautiful architectural features. The Clock tower wing with architecture inspired by local Almshouses was constructed in 2001, adding 15 Executive rooms and suites with wonderful views of the grounds and gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cantley House Hotel

Address: Cantley | Milton Road, Wokingham RG40 1JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham
Price Range: €93 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cantley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantley Hotel Wokingham
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wokingham
#5 Family Hotel in Wokingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cantley House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cantley House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else.......”
 of 5 bubbles 7timl, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the clock tower”
 of 5 bubbles michw21, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ground floor rooms over looking the garden are large with your own small terraced area.”
 of 5 bubbles 993willc, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cozy restaurant, great service.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveler_4season, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Fortunately we did not stay over”
 of 5 bubbles victhegeordie6, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5