We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Linkway West, St Helens WA10 1NG England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Mercure
US$241
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$224
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (19)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure St. Helens
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in St Helens
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mercure St Helens Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller. Nestled in the charming town centre of St Helens, the Hotel is within walking distance of the Central St Helens Train Station, Hotel guests can easily access nearby cities like Liverpool & Manchester and their respective airports John Lennon Liverpool Airport and Manchester Airport. For all the sports fan, St Helens Hotel puts you just up the road from two iconic football teams and a world-famous rugby league club too. With easy access to Liverpool and St Helens with the M62 close by, you can be at your meeting or at the shops in no time. Cheer on your football team at Anfield or Goodison Park. Or watch the rugby at Langtree Park, St Helens’ home ground. Haydock Park and Aintree are just a short drive away, so there’s lots of horse racing to enjoy, plus all the shops and amenities of Liverpool. At the end of a packed day, come back to the hotel for a relaxed Jacuzzi followed by a tasty meal in our Restaurant Please be advised this is not a pet friendly hotel
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Baggage storage
Internet
Hot bath
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
94Reviews3Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 21
  • 14
  • 8
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John_from_NM wrote a review Jun 2022
New Malden, United Kingdom215 contributions155 helpful votes
Not many people would book an extended stay here, but if you need an overnight stop in St Helens then this hotel is superb. Clean, efficient, masses of parking, good restaurant, comfy beds, well equipped bedrooms, friendly staff. Add in that I was allowed to park 3 hours before check-in, and that the opened the breakfast restaurant early for me because I needed to be away very early the next morning, and here is almost nothing more that a hard-working management can provide to make one feel welcome. Very highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Jan wrote a review Jun 2022
Cumbria, United Kingdom8 contributions
Lovely welcome on arrival, hotel was very clean and spacious. The room was very clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast there was a good range of hot and cold plus coffee,tea and juice. Darren was very helpful and couldn’t do enough, I am gluten free and he brought me gluten free bread. A very attentive chap looking after all the guests in the dinning room. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Remember to pop your keycard in the slot as you go in your room to control heating etc
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Hotelstay wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed last week family of four fantastic hotel with great leisure club. Quick easy check in, upon arrival. See a lot of negative reviews on here regarding car parking, As soon as we arrived advised to input our REG details in to machine and that was covered for two days. Really don't know why guests are complaining. Reception was helpful and advised best places to go and where to get a train from into Liverpool. Room had a lot of space and bright and clean. Breakfast service as quick and efficient, Even took a few muffins home for the long drive. Special Thanks to the lady on reception when we checked in 29th May was really helpful and understood our needs. Will book again closer to Christmas Tommy
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: 3rd floor looking west
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Tony Stapleton wrote a review May 2022
15 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed at the Mercure Hotel couple of weeks ago me and my partner. Could not have asked for more. Food and service spot on, staff could not have been more helpful rooms really good everything you would need and very clean Look forward to going back. Tony Stapleton
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jayne H wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Rooms absolutely disgusting, had not been cleaned for a very long time. Manager made my daughter move hotel furniture as she had to move rooms twice, first room had mould all around tge window. Gave us broken put up beds for children to sleep on which resulted in 1 child falling off. Pyramid room had 2 week old mouldy fruit in bar sink, was infested with ants, we had to clean the bar on the morning of the wedding because it was disgusting. Poor quality food, not enough for guests and was given left over food from an event a couple of days before our wedding. Manager was very rude to guests. Dietary requirement guests got 2 chicken skewers and a couple of chips. Dj very poor, he had the attitudd that he really didn't want to be there and did not interact with guests. Complained to manager 🙄
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
lauren-ashley-x wrote a review May 2022
27 contributions9 helpful votes
Had a lovely stay, staff where nice, room very clean but I was just disappointed that the pool shut at 6, we got there for 5:50 & was told we couldn’t go in. Anyway I managed to get in for 20 minutes as I was cheeky but if your paying to stay over somewhere & the pool is advertised it should be made clear that last entry is 4:45 on a Sunday otherwise we wouldn’t have booked it. We wanted a nice swim & chill but we ended up with a rushed 20 minutes in the jacuzzi. Overall nice chilled stay though.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
EmmaS1980 wrote a review May 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom63 contributions14 helpful votes
Housekeeping do a great job, the place was spotless. Reception staff on arrival and check out were lovely, friendly and efficient. Despite poor review we’d seen breakfast was tasty enough just a little too busy, staff were doing their best but didn’t have space. Sadly that’s where the positives end, we ate dinner in the restaurant the FA Cup final was playing. When a black player missed a penalty a diner at another table shouted a racist term. I was horrified, I was dining with my mixed race child who thankfully didn’t hear and wouldn’t have understood it anyway. When we left the restaurant I asked to speak to the duty manager. The General Manager arrived I informed him of the incident and he took no action all he said was that he would call the police for me if I wanted to pursue it. No apology, no action, didn’t speak to the racist sat in his restaurant. Disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I’d try another hotel if you don’t want to encounter bigots
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager St Helens Hotel, General Manager at Mercure St. Helens
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Emma Thank you for your review and again I have to send my apologies. I personally spoke to you at the time and due to the nature of the issue I have offered to call the police so they can deal with the matter as I can't go accusing other guests of being racist based on what you have told me. at the time all you wanted to do is throw the other guest out without having the full facts or other witnesses to confirm what has happened. I have asked other guests and staff which were present at the time and no one has heard what was said. Once again my apologies and thank you for your review
Read more
Les F wrote a review May 2022
HULL6 contributions6 helpful votes
Whilst I do not have any complaints about the room or the meals provided I must make you aware of the parking arrangements and the hidden pitfalls. When signing in at reception I asked about the car parking and was told to enter my car details into the computer. I was assured by the receptionist that that was all that was necessary. There were no prominent notices to make me aware of anything else I needed to do. My stay was for two nights. A few weeks later I received a letter from Civil Enforcement Limited stating that I had been parking illegally on the second night of my stay. At no time had I been told that I had to check my vehicle in every day. I rang up the hotel for an explanation, and, yes, you've guessed it, it was not their concern. They did not deal with parking issues. That was the responsibility of Civil Enforcement Limited. They gave me a number to ring, which was the same one I had found on the website and tried calling without any success because they do not discuss cases over the phone. My next move was to appeal to CEL, who subsequently sent me a letter asking for proof of my stay, which I provided them with. In the meantime I contacted the hotel again, and once more they were not interested. Today, despite valid proof of my stay, my appeal has been turned down because of a "major keying error" meaning my vehicle registration mark was not entered properly. Yet what I had keyed in was perfectly acceptable for the first night. My fine of £100 has however been reduced to £20. Make what you want out of that! I can appeal to the ombudsman, but then CEL pass everything over to another agency and the proposed fine goes back to £100. In my opinion the hotel has a duty of care to each customer parking a car on the premises to tell them how to register their vehicle properly in order to cover the length of their stay and warn them of the consequences if they don't. Saying that it not their responsibility is not good enough. No doubt the hotel and CEL will have some reciprocal agreement. BE WARNED
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Roy Haughey wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Had a great stay at this hotel, really friendly staff, great food, nice atmosphere with a lovely pool and sauna and fully equipped gym. Good atmosphere, chilled gardens to relax. All in all highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Sarah S wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
We stayed for two separate nights. The hotel was clean and tidy. The buffet breakfast was a disappointment on both stays. On the first visit we were not handed a fact sheet but this was provided on our second visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager St Helens Hotel, General Manager at Mercure St. Helens
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Dear Sarah Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St. Helens Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideSt Helens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure St. Helens
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure St. Helens?
Nearby attractions include The World of Glass (0.1 km), The Citadel (0.3 km), and The Phoenix Inn (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure St. Helens?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure St. Helens?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure St. Helens?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure St. Helens?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ba'Bursi, Lily's Victorian Tearooms & Restaurant, and Thai Jaa Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure St. Helens?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Mercure St. Helens located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of St Helens.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure St. Helens?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Windleshaw Chantry (2.2 km) and Knowsley Hall (5.3 km).