We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Torrance Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Torrance Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Torrance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 460: English reviews
Studley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Room was OK, very narrow so felt a bit cramped, if there had been more than just me it could have been too much steps everywhere made it a bit treacherous to navigate to bed! Shower had a gradient on the tray (to keep the water in one assumes!) but you have to walk up this slope to exit the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank missbad92
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Torrance Hotel.As you suggest there is a quarter of an inch dip in our showers and as per our room directory bath mats are available from housekeeping should this slight incline prove to be an inconvenience. The cost of our Full Scottish Breakfast is £10 which includes a cold buffet of...

Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Poor quality of customer service, poor staff accommodation, the rooms weren't entirely clean, also well below mediocre for the prices the actually charge for the room. The only way I'd visit here again is if they paid me to do so, even then it would be a struggle to get me back. I do not recommend this to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Ben L
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry Ben don't know where you stayed but it definitely wasn't The Torrance.We don't have any Staff Accommodation far less charge for it!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015

I have visited your restaurant before but tonight was one of the worst meals I have ever had Reasons below 1 For a four star hotel to serve a sherry in a tumbler 2 Soup was obviously watered down to serve four as the soup was then changed 3 Main course served on cold plates the vegetables were cold as...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank patricia m
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim I would once again like to thank you so very much for your kind offer and the beautiful meal we had yesterday It was very much appreciated by all of us and we will be back again in the very near future.Thanks again Yours faithfully Mrs Patricia MacDonald. . Dear Patricia Thank you for your kind comments and...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Visited the Torrance Hotel on my birthday. The restaurant wasn't all that busy and we were sat in the conservatory, which is very nice. The staff were pleasant and our order was taken. My wife ordered the Stornoway Black Pudding for her starter, which had a poached egg on top. When the starters arrived, eventually, the yolk of the poached...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stuart C
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and staff alike. I am sorry you felt that your steak was not up to standard although this was not conveyed to your waitress when she carried out the prerequisite quality check at your table. You did however complete our trial tablet customer comment questionnaire at your table and through this...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Visited this hotel for dinner tonight and was very disappointed with the food and the service. I would not recommend eating out here. I thought that it was very bad value for money. I would not recommend going here for a night out.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank maggie d
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that on this occasion we have not met your expectations and would ask you to contact me personally at the hotel in order that your review can be investigated in more detail. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Lovely room,food was gorgeous and staff were really professional!free champagne was given because of my partners birthday! Hotel its self is stunning and all scottish themed,I will be back as we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Torrance hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank M
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our popular Honeymoon Spa.I am pleased to say that similar sentiments to your own are often expressed by our guests who feel that the high quality of the hotels facilities are reflected in the quality of the food and service of the staff.i hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

I treated my girlfriend to two nights in the Honeymoon Suite at Torrance as it was recommended by a friend. Staff and food was nice enough. The suite looked lovely and the hot tub was great as was the bigger shower! However, as the suite is directly opposite the main lounge where all parties etc are held, you will get...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Wayno87
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit to the Torrance some months ago.Since you brought the noise problem to our attention at the begining of the year we have now put measures in place which ensures that when we have a function in our large function room we alert any potential bookings for our Honeymoon Spa to this...

Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for work. Usually stay at a different hotel each visit with mixed results, however will definitely be returning to The Torrance. The decor is very tasteful with the comfiest bed in any hotel I have stayed at. Ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely. Overall a really nice experience

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sprince35
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your experience of the quality of the accommodation,staff and food at the Torrance Hotel. I am pleased to say that we seem to have exceeded your expectations and can further state that this is commonly echoed by many of our guests.I am delighted to welcome yet another convert to...

Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

After visiting here for the second time, mainly due to the fact that the staff are so great, we ordered our starters only to be told, for the second time in 2 visits, they didn't have it. not again I complanned?. As usual the staff were very nice & apologetic but it doesn't take away from the fact I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lorraine n coli... C
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Torrance.I am pleased to say that your comments regarding our staff are often echoed by our customers and can only apologise that you were unable to experience your dish of choice on this and previous occasions.I thank you again for your comments and have relayed them to and...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We were here on a Sat night with some friends. I don't normally write many reviews but just had to for this place. The service was brilliant - so friendly, helpful, personable and good fun. The food was delicious. The staff were very attentive but didn't rush you at all, which makes for a great night. This was my second...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank somelikeithot_13
James M, Manager at Torrance Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff,food and ambiance at the Torrance.We do aim to provide a quality venue which at the same time is relaxing for our guests and look forward to your return visit.

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
5.8 km away
Busby Hotel
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
387 reviews
22.1 km away
Lynnhurst Hotel
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
514 reviews
3.7 km away
Macdonald Crutherland House
Macdonald Crutherland House
#3 of 7 in East Kilbride
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
308 reviews
7.9 km away
Redhurst Hotel
Redhurst Hotel
#51 of 95 in Glasgow
168 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcoming traditional village hotel in walking distance to Scotland's largest undercover shopping and leisure centre in East Kilbride. East Kilbride has many local attractions including Village Theatre, Golf Courses, Ten Pin Bowling, Ice Skating, Odeon Cinema and is only 7 miles from Glasgow city centre. Built in 1773 by General Stuart of Torrance as a cotton-spinning mill and workers' houses the building in Torrance Square provided a focus for town life. In its many incarnations the popular Torrance Hotel has also housed a school, a shop and a Coaching Inn, but it has always been at the heart of East Kilbride. The building has retained all its original character and charm. We have 20 comfortable bedrooms including the newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite for 2007. Enjoy a meal in our warm and friendly restaurant or lounge bar which caters for a wide range of food from traditional meals to bar snacks. We are a 5 minute walk from the local train station which will take you straight into Glasgow's Central Station which runs every half hour. If more information is required then do not hesitate to ask our friendly receptionist staff. We would like to advise guests that there will be no bar or restaurant facilities for the next 4 months. We are undergoing a major refurbishment to improve the services to the guests in the future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Torrance Hotel

Address: 135 Main Street | The Village, East Kilbride G74 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: €99 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torrance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Torrance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Hotel East Kilbride, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Kilbride
#3 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Torrance Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Torrance Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family had the entire hotel, and everyone said how quiet the rooms were - so well done for that.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciabK4110CX, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about other rooms but we were on the 2nd floor corner and was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Z2520OOlindan, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 and 2 are not very private”
 of 5 bubbles 746martind, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sorry, but we only had a meal and didn't stay in hotel. However what we did see was very nice indeed”
 of 5 bubbles LyndaB560, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is to die for!”
 of 5 bubbles V4017YCdeborahw, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay