We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunderland Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 648: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I came here once for a Travel & Tourism trip. I haven't stayed in any of the rooms. I have only been on the reception floor and in the business meeting room, but wow! This hotel looks so luxurious. It is very well furnished! From the outside the hotel doesn't look like it will be luxury, but inside it looks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izak H
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sunderland Marriott on TripAdvisor and thank you also for your kind comments. It is always pleasing to receive such great feedback and we hope we will see you back at the hotel very soon, perhaps for an overnight stay. Warmest regards Gillian Eaton

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We were offered this hotel after an overbooking at the Sir William Fox at Westoe. I understand it is Sunderland's only 4 star hotel. Situated a couple of miles north of Sunderland on the coast opposite the beach at Seaburn. A few restaurants within 100 yards or so including two Indian and two Italian. Large room, large comfortable bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david54196
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to read your review and thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy our facilities at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel and hope we will see you again in the future. Warmest regards Gillian Eaton

Cottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We have just returned from a very good weekend break to the Rugby League Magic Weekend in Newcastle. We originally booked the Sir William Fox hotel, near South Shields, as soon as the fixtures and venue for Magic Weekend were announced last October. Three days before we were due to travel (seven months after the date of booking) the Sir...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hatton51
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted that we were able to accommodate you at the Sunderland Marriott following your out-booking from the Sir William Fox, near South Shields. I am also pleased you found the hotel and its facilities to be first class. Our staff work extremely hard to deliver a great customer experience so it is very rewarding to receive such positive...

Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Major road works were being carried out right outside the Hotel which is outside of the Hotel's control, they were very good in e-mailing warning of the inconvenience and apologised. I use a wheelchair, crutches and have a 'Blue Badge' for disabled parking. As we arrived the last disabled parking space was being occupied by a male who sprang out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am so sorry you encountered some issues during your stay at the Sunderland Marriott. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Your comments have been discussed at our weekly operational meeting and will be addressed by those departments concerned. On a positive note, I am delighted you found...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

From the moment I walked into the Marriott I felt at home, the staff on the front reception were very polite and accommodating, they knew the answers to all local questions I had. And also held onto our luggage as our room wasn't quite ready. We had lunch in the bar which was very nice and then went up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krystanHonour
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing your review and I am so pleased you found the hotel to be very good and the staff excellent at their jobs. Your kind words have been passed to the team. Thank you also for your feedback on the issues you experienced, which have now been discussed at our weekly operational meeting. My sincere...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

My partner and myself spent 2 nights at the Marriott hotel in Seaburn as a base for attending the foo fighters concert at the stadium of light. We paid £84.00 for a Sunday and £179.00 for a bank holiday Monday (concert night). We booked a lesser priced non sea view room in an attempt to save a little money on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to post your review in a forum such as this one and thank you for your valuable feedback. I sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered and I am sorry that some services did not meet your expectations. Thank you also for bringing to our attention the issue with the toilet in room...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Excellent 3 night break.A first class hotel with a superb sea front location. Our bedroom was excellent very clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed.Bar was very good and the cream scones were delicious.Breakfasts were as usual of the highest standard and the restaurant is one of the nicest we have been in.The bar and restaurant staff were always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 61ThomasP64
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted you had an excellent birthday break with us and you continue to enjoy our facilities. The staff work extremely hard to deliver a great customer experience and I am glad you always find them to be pleasant, polite and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warmest regards Gillian Eaton

Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

Had a really restful and enjoyable stay at the Marriott. Since our last stay the hotel has been given a spruce up and we were really pleased we chose this hotel for a bank holiday break. Lovely sea views and helpful staff . Room very comfortable and clean. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norweigandreamer
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your short break at the Sunderland Marriott and you continue to enjoy our facilities. It is always encouraging to receive such great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Sunderland. Warmest regards Gillian Eaton

Reviewed 19 May 2015

This is a really nice hotel. However, not many evening meal choices, for a fab hotel I found this disappointing. I will say the breakfast was fantastic - but I am a full english breakfast girl. The view out the front of the hotel is of the sea, which is approx 50 metres from the door. Superb.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlyDodds
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your review on the site, following your recent stay at the Sunderland Marriott. I am really pleased to read your lovely comments, however I am sorry you were disappointed with the evening meal choices and your feedback has been passed to our Chef. The hotel is in a fantastic location in Sunderland, overlooking the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2015

I have stayed in many Marriott's around the UK (not my choice but my company's decision) This particular hotel is very run down from the outside and the rooms are very basic inside. WIFI did not work in the rooms plus they expect you to pay for it (are we in the 21st century now?) tea and coffee offering is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 769Andrew
SunderlandMarriott, Director of Operations at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to post your review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered and I am sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. I have contacted you direct so that we can discuss your feedback further. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused.....

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
256 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sunderland
770 reviews
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
6.4 km away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
405 reviews
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Price Range: €80 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott Hotel United Kingdom
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunderland Marriott Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
4 months ago
Ilkley, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sunderland Marriott Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra for superior room. Well worth it for extra space and fabulous sea view”
 of 5 bubbles _lynda24158, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front view over beach”
 of 5 bubbles Gimamo, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are a bonus.”
 of 5 bubbles Cheryl19542014, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view above ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles BPasta, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“204 lovely size and sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Daisies99, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5