We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dr. Holms Hotel

Booking.comUS$139*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$155*
US$139*
Great Deal
US$155*
US$155*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Dr. Holms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dr. Holms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Reviewed 30 January 2016

The hotel is still very classy looking from the outside but it has not been refurbished for the last 20 years. The rooms are small and shabbily furnished and very thin walls make it difficult to sleep when neighboring rooms are talking loud. Extras for storing skis and using the wardrobe closets in the pool area does not make it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carsten B
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear carsten B! Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor! We are doing some minor changes with several rooms and we hope we can offer better experiences for you and other guest in the future. There is no cost for using the wardrobe closets in the pool area, when you unlock the closet you should get your coin back....

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Dr. Holms Hotel is a classic mountain resort, with a long history of the rich and famous visiting and sipping Champagne That was then , now just the exterior and location is left No service, no open food outlets , old interior and a TV system from the 90s which is unplugged because no outlet by the TV. Its frankly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mobiletraveller64
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mobiletraveller64. Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor! I am very sorry that Dr. Holms Hotel did not live ut to its reputation and your expectations. I am very thankful that you shared your experience with us and to make us aware of the areas we must improve in. Best regards Tove Hoftun

Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We have been repeat visitors to Dr Holm's Hotel in Geilo, Norway. We have spent New Year and winter breaks several times with our children and their friends. What we have always loved is the traditional style, great service and old-world luxury feeling the hotel and its surroundings offered. We've always felt it was worth the (steep) price. This time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte E
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte E. Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. Extra towels for the pool area should be in every room, and I deeply apologize that your room dit not have extra towels. Bathrobes and slippers is unfortunately not standard equipment in our rooms, but can be booked in advance or during your stay in the reception. Guests who...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 7 January 2016

This by far was one of our worst stays in any hotel in any place we have stayed around the world. We booked three nights here between Christmas and New Years due to ice climbing plans in the Hemsedal area(only because we waited too long to book anything closer). Foolishly we thought "old world charm", some pretty good reviews, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank threecharm
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Threecharm. Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. I am very sorry for the unpleasant experience you had, and I deeply apologize that Dr. Holms Hotel did not live up to its reputation and your expectations. However, I am very thankful for your views on the issues we need to address, in this way we can improve and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The hotel is an old and quite impressive building sitting just above the town and well located for the downhill skiing. Cross country skiiers have a 15/20 minute walk to the trails. The public areas are quite smart and well presented but once you got onto the bedroom floors it became quite tired. Dining and bar staff were very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne001_12
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne. Thank you so much for taking your time to review Dr. Holms Hotel. Thank you for kind words and thank you for for sharing your views on areas we need to improve in. Best Regards Tove Hoftun

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Spent Christmas here as part of a winter activity holiday with Headwater. Great food, service, staff, hotel facilities are great and it was lovely to share in the Norwegian traditions. It is only a few minutes from the railway, and ski slopes which is a big bonus. Would recommend highly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimphillip
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimphillip! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us during Christmas and we are very thankful that you shared your experience on tripadvisor. Best regards Tove Hoftun

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Their were many problems the biggest being the fact that no hot water was supplied to the bathroom. Another issue was that the T.V gave only Jurassic Park movies and five other channels. Finally another big problem was a lack of parking spaces. However the hotel is located a few minutes away from a ski hill and sledding hill. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red_Baron_0983548
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Red Baron. Thank you so much for taking your time to review Dr.Holms Hotel. I am very sorry for the negative experience you had during your stay. However, I am very thankful that you shared your experience with us and to make us aware of the areas we must improve in. Best regards Tove Hoftun

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We were looking forward to a fantastic stay at a great spa and ski resort, Dr. Holms. The location is great, only a short walk from the ski slopes at Geilo. The spa treatments and the pool area were ok. However, that was about the only good thing about the hotel. The service was poor in the restaurant, the food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frode H
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frode. Thank you so much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor! We are very sorry that Dr. Holms Hotel did not live ut to its reputation and your expectations. However, I am thankful for your views on the issues we need to address, in this way we can improve and hopefully offer better experiences for you and other guest...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are totally irresponsible and careless. The management should be fired because she models this behaviour and encourages it. And the people that do housekeeping don't do much by way of cleaning. A porter that was paid to take my suitcase to my room broke the handle and threw away the part he broke and dumped...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank funlovingo
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Funlovingo. I am very sorry for the negative experience you had during your stay at Dr. Holms Hotel. I can only ask you to accept my apologies. I am thankful that you have shared your experience and hence given us the possibility to improve. We are more than willing to pay for the repair, please do not hesitate to...

Europe
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a family weekend off season. Its a nice hotel although not much to do around when its not winter. Went for a few walks and relaxed indoors. Food Was good although quite an expensive hotel. Beware that the days they dont serve buffet they have only one set menu for dinner. And the beds are soft and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Journey b
tove h, Informasjonssjef at Dr. Holms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sisca. Thank you so much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor! I am truly sorry that your room was noisy. I completely agree, we should have given you a room away from the bar area due to the conference. If you visit us again please do not hesitate to ask for a quiet room. We hope to welcome you...

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geilo hotels
1.7 km away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
284 reviews
0.6 km away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
76 reviews
1.0 km away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
144 reviews
0.3 km away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#5 of 13 in Geilo
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Ro Hotel
Ro Hotel
#7 of 13 in Geilo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dr Holms Hotel - for your comfort and well-being. Dr Holms Hotel has been a source of recuperation, comfort and well-being since the beginning of the 20th century. Dr Holms is situated in the heart of the beautiful mountain scenery, and is a starting point for inspiring and exciting adventures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dr. Holms Hotel

Address: Timrehaugvegen 2, Geilo 3580, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Price Range: €111 - €258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dr. Holms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dr. Holms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr Holms Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dr. Holms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dr. Holms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My rioom was located just above the bar, which can be a bit noisy if you are sensitive (I was not bothered myself)”
egilk, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to get one of the newer rooms”
LarsNilsen, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
HenriBn, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with view over Geilo”
thomasmW6351BR, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“first floor is close to the Restaurant, perfect for short distance from room to food”
396sebastianl, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$139* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$155
CheapTicketsUS$155
Orbitz.comUS$154
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates