Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli

The breakfast room
Traveller (226)
Suite #301
Room & Suite (124)
Healthy options at the breakfast
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

€144
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 3 hotels in Imatra
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Modern, restored Hotel, dating from 1903, connected by tunnel to art nouveau-style Castle Hotel of the same name.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Scandic is ideal for families

Location

Torkkelinkatu 2, Imatra 55100 Finland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Lappeenranta Airport
35.7 km
See all flights
Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
228.4 km
See all flights
286Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 105
  • 59
  • 27
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jyrki Uimonen wrote a review Jan 2023
Savonlinna, Finland3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very interesting history of the hotel, beautiful Juged-structures and items from hotel and Finnish history.
Modern extension Spa & Congress building with covered connection tunnel.
Small, relaxing pools and sauna.

An excellent New Year Dinner. Excellent service and stuff.
Strong recommnedation, when staying in Imatra, we will choose Scandic definitely again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imatran Valtionhotelli, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli
Responded 5 Jan 2023
Hello Jyrgen1972, Thank you very much for your great review! I'm more than happy to hear that you really have enjoyed during your stay with us! I will tell your regards to the team. Hopefully we can host you soon again, Have a lovely new year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NiinaSuomi wrote a review Nov 2020
Helsinki, Finland33 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is great, however, there were little things that changed the whole picture. We had to wait for a reception girl for 15 minutes, and she wasn't very welcoming. Superior room in a new building was nice but, unfortunately, not clean with dust and toothpaste stains. They have no towels in the spa, so you have to take a room towel to the spa. There were only 2 basic towels per person in a room. Only one sauna was open during our stay, other were under maintenance. Breakfast was okay, however, some croissants were day old, bacon was overcooked, and no social distancing possible as the buffet room is quite small.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Superior rooms in a new building if you do not like outdated hotels. They are closer to the spa...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kimmo R wrote a review Aug 2021
Helsinki, Finland36 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a historic building, which I had planned to stay at for a long time. The building itself is very nice and well located next to the rapids. The personnel was friendly and undoubtedly they were doing their best.

The problem is that they are running the place as it was any normal Scandic anywhere. Couple of examples: (1) the hotel has a nice bar, a library, but they don't serve the bar, customers are expected to pick up their drinks at the reception and take them to the bar, (2) the bathroom had the cheapest possible shower cabinet, which is probably not very durable, but left the whole bathroom flooding after taking shower, (3) hotel restaurant had quite unimaginative menu (probably Scandic standard). The food was good, although not exceptional. They did not serve bread to the table but customers were told to pick up their own bread across the restaurant. (I wonder what the waiting staff was supposed to do then.) Also, french fries with the main course were wrapped in paper as they typically do at petrol stations or in hamburger joints. Not very appealing.

I strongly recommend the hotel management to pay attention to small details as mentioned above. Perhaps visiting a first-class hotel somewhere else to see how they treat their clients. The hotel has potential, but they will have to improve their customer experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
meerola wrote a review Jul 2021
Helsinki, Finland80 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose the hotel for its location and its long history. For our first night we chose the 2-story Presidential Suite because we thought it would give an experience worthy of the building. As the room was not available for our second night, we changed to a Master Suite for night two. Both rooms were in the beautiful old building of the hotel.

We were sorely disappointed with the worn-down state of the rooms as well as the very basic service offering. The room minibar did not feature any local products but was like every minibar in a Scandic hotel anywhere. Same with the breakfast buffet: generic hotel breakfast items which you could have had anywhere even though we were in a region known for its culinary delicacies like Karelian pirogi.

The Master Suite had an old stone balcony but the balcony was completely empty and the chairs inside the room were not suitable for taking out to the balcony. Therefore a feature that could have made the stay lovely had there been a couple of chairs there ended up being another disappointment.

The hotel was full but understaffed which resulted in long queues in a cramped space where many travellers chose to ignore the hotel’s mask policy. The staff was impossible to reach via phone either, to sort out things missing from the room such as the agreed extra bed for our child.

We stayed during a heatwave and the room was impossibly hot because the hotel does not have air conditioning. Please keep this in mind when planning a summer stay.

I would not recommend staying here. The price is way too high for the experience. The building is better observed from the outside.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Water noise from the rapids resembles highway noise. Windows have to be kept open in summer...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaikkuT wrote a review Jul 2021
Finland20 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful hotel, lovely building, setting and scenery. Service fine breakfast ok. But our room,lovely as it was, had no air conditioning. It was 32c when we arrived, and rose to 33c by 11 o clock on day of departure. There was a single plastic fan, and "only one per room unfortunately" the front desk told us apologetically. There was not much sleep during those two nights. Granted, the weather was exceptionally hot during our trip, but you'd think for 170€ per night they'd find you a second fan.
The hotel is a beauty well worth seeing, but do not book it if the weather is hot and you want any sleep during the night!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kaisui2016 wrote a review Jul 2022
172 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had to postpone one earlier reservation and spent 4 days in this hotel. Out idea was to see the surroundings and just sleep in this hotel. The breakfast was very good, and we also appreciated the dinners served in Linnansali restaurant. The service was excellent.

The idea to sleep however did not happen as the rooms don’t have air conditioning. We were obliged to keep the window open all night. Fortunately during our stay the outside temperature in the night was chilly, so we got fresh air to the room.

The price per night is too high for a hotel without air conditioning.

We were on holidays and took it easy, but airco should be a must in this kind of hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imatran Valtionhotelli, General Manager at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli
Responded 8 Sept 2022
Hello Kaisu, A huge thanks for your kind words! I'm glad to hear that you were satisfied to our restaurant and service. I apologize the lack of air condition in the rooms! I hope that we can accommodate you again when the weather is more chillier! Have a lovely Autumn!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jyrki R wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
THIS HOTEL HAS NO AIRCONDITIONING - that is all you need to know if you are travelling during the hot summer time. Customers were literally crying while trying to get the staff to open window in their rooms as temperatures climbed up to 30 degrees Celsius and the air was so mois it made sleeping next to impossible. And no, open windows are against the hotel policy. We had a French balcon and were able to open the door letting the room tempereature to be the same as outside air - 26 degrees Celsius and a bit less during the night but it was still really unfomortable as linen was all moist.

I am OK to pay premium prices for good service but over 200€ per night for this nightmare was next to cruminal! Beautiful hotel and magnificent rapids are no excuse as you can see them for free.

Stay away if temperature is above 22 degrees Celsius!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Overpriced hotel without airconditioning, parking is free but available slot is hard to find. Be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte wrote a review Jul 2023
40 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a unique castle hotel in Finland! Everything here is giving that old style castle vibe and I love it. Yes, it's in need of restoration, but one can also appreciate the slightly worn down interior design. It gives character!

We had a superior room with a view in the castle building. No air-conditioning, which I personally don't mind. The room had a kettle and some coffee and (Lipton yellow label) tea. We had a toilet with a tub, water pressure was light. No mini toiletries, I was surprised. The breakfast was disappointing: the omelette tasted weird and the bread wasn't fresh.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to test the spa.

Saw a children's playroom and it looked nice with a mini castle and a slide and all!

All in all, I'd definitely visit again to enjoy this beautiful castle hotel and the amazing rapids outside.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Free parking front of the castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Imatran Valtionhotelli, Guest Services / Front Office at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli
Responded 12 Aug 2023
Hello 29sagai, Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad to hear that your visit went well! I apologize about the breakfast experience! We don't have those mini toiletries because we are ecological hotel. I hope that we can see you soon again so that you can test the pool area, saunas and the playroom! Hove a nice Summer! Best regards Jani Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aekrfk wrote a review Jun 2022
Newport Beach, California242 contributions181 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There was a convention in the town we wanted to stop on our self drive tour and all the hotels were booked. We drove an extra 45 minutes to this town and Scandic hotel. We got the last room which was wheel chair accessible. We were in the newer building which is a long walk from the registration desk. If you are in the new building park your car in that lot so you do not have to walk a mile. The rooms were large and nice. Breakfast was okay. Parking was free and secure with a guard. Prices on the higher side but we did not look at other hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Timo R wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful location and friendly staff at the reception and breakfast room. The room, located in the new part of the hotel was too hot and not suitable for any accommodation purposes. In the late evening there was no hotel staff available - maybe because of Covid 19... Visit time: late June 2021.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Charlotte wrote a tip Jul 2023
40 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking front of the castle "
Read full review
aekrfk wrote a tip Jun 2022
Newport Beach, California242 contributions181 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are quiet"
Read full review
TiinaK wrote a tip Jul 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not go on summertime, if you don want to fry to your room"
Read full review
Heltsu wrote a tip Jul 2021
118 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking next to hotel, not many spots. Free of charge"
Read full review
meerola wrote a tip Jul 2021
Helsinki, Finland80 contributions32 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Water noise from the rapids resembles highway noise. Windows have to be kept open in summer because there’s no air conditioning."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Imatra area.
PRICE RANGE
€128 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rantasipi valtionhotelli imatra, rantasipi valtionhotelli hotel imatra
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Scandic Imatran Valtionhoteli
LOCATION
FinlandSouth KareliaImatra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
137
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SCANDIC IMATRAN VALTIONHOTELLI - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Imatra, Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
Nearby attractions include Imatra Waterfall (0.2 km), Imatrankoski (0.09 km), and Imatra Veteran’s Home Museum (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buttenhoff, Konditoria Imatrankoski, and Rosso Imatra.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
Does Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Imatra HotelsImatra Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ImatraHotels near Scandic Imatran Valtionhotelli
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire