We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Selma Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Selma Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Skip lunch buffet, because it is not very exciting. Go to town and eat instead. Breakfast buffet is very basic, with little organic food. Excellent possibilities to take a stroll in the woods. Do take the Elemis whole body treatment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank O4000TWmaria_
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Your feedback is important for us. It means that we can only get better and better. I will use your comments at our next qualitymeeting. Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Selma spa is amazing! The atmosphere there makes you feel so relaxed, the food taste so good and the treatments there are the best! We went on a weekday and were alone in the almost all the time. The hot stone massage was great and the classes really good. Try the body pump!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FritteFriday
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your evaluation. I'm so glad you had a great time here at Selma Spa. I wish you welcome back again. Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Selam spa is very basic but at the same time a cozy and a relaxing spa. We had a nice time there and the food is delicious! This spa has a lot of potential and could be more decorated or offer a bit more rooms for massages at everything was fully booked all the time :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Axelledodeman
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your evaluation. I'm so glad you had a great time here at Selma Spa. I wish you welcome back again. Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

New Jersey
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We were a group of 20. We booked a one night stay with 3 meals. The breakfast and lunch were buffet and were excellent. The 3 course dinner was only OK. The service was kind of slow. The asparagus appetizer was just fair. The salmon main course was good. The dessert parfait was icy. Our room was very nice. Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Bettan
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Your feedback is important for us. It means that we can only get better and better. I will use your comments at our next qualitymeeting. I wish you welcome back again Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I have visited this spa many times before. This time I spent a night in one of their newly decorated superior rooms. Very nice! Modern and classy at the same time. We enjoyed their signature 2 hour packages in the spa and it was wonderful. The pool/spa area is also much nicer than last time with different kinds of saunas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mamamolu
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your evaluation. I'm so glad you had a great time here at Selma Spa. I wish you welcome back again. Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

Oslo
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Entering the hotel it all seemed a little sterile. The rooms was ok - but nothing more. The bathroom was cool. The bar area did not feel inviting though it was a bar- and the food at the restaurant upstairs was ok and nothing more. In total an average experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveller125
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Your feedback is important for us. It means that we can only get better and better. I will use your comments at our next qualitymeeting. Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

Falun, Sweden
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I was very dissapointed at this small SPA. The pool area is very small and there was garbage next to the outside pool both days we were there. The website said that you could click to reserve a spa-treatment, but when we got there there were no times available. If you actually want treatments you have to book far ahead....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kattis L
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback. This does not feel good to us. We must have failed totally in our delivery when you were here. I will use your evaluation at our next quality meeting. Thanks once again for your feedback Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

Sweden
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Sampled two rooms during our Christmas visit - one renovated and one not renovated. Both rooms were spacious with big,comfortable beds and with a mini-bar in the renovated room - no luggage rack in either room and not much storage in the wardrobes either with some awful plastic hangers to greet the view on opening the wardrobe doors. Excellent faciities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BryanSweden
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your evaluation. I'm so glad you had a great time here at Selma Spa. I will certainly use your evaluation in the next grade meeting. Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

Charlottenlund
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Some time you have experiences that makes you breathless. This felt into this category - unfortunately in a negative sense. We planed to celebrate Christmas at the Spa but decided to leave after one night. The room was poor standard, the food was badly cooked and service was non existing. For example - we asked for transport to the train...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Niels Klem T
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your evaluation . Sad that your experience was not as you expected . Sorry, there are no taxi operations in Sunne, but Selma Spa have a private shuttlebus. I 'm glad it worked out that we transported you to the station. I will certainly use your evaluation in the next grade meeting Best regards Ulf Engström Operation...

Orebro, Sweden
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Big room and big bathroom. Great view over field and lake. Nice pool area and a good three course dinner. We had to wait a long time for the maincourse, suspect that they forgot about us. The food was good though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60Pelle
SelmaSpaMgt, Chef at Selma Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback . Nice that you had a good time with us. I am sorry you had to wait for your dinner, but I hope to see you here soon again. Best regards Ulf Engström Operation Manager

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunne
35.7 km away
Scandic Arvika
Scandic Arvika
#1 of 2 in Arvika
121 reviews
35.7 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bristol
1.6 km away
Prostgarden
Prostgarden
#1 of 6 in Sunne
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Ulvsby Herrgard
Ulvsby Herrgard
#1 of 3 in Sunne
24 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Broby Inn
Hotel Broby Inn
#3 of 3 in Sunne
19 reviews
3.6 km away
Ulvsby Gard
Ulvsby Gard
#4 of 6 in Sunne
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Several times award winning Selma Spa+ is situated in the beautiful Fryken Valley (Fryksdalen) in Värmland. We offer you an uforgettable stay at our spa in the Swedish countryside, with a splendid view of Lake Fryken and the wilds of Värmland just around the corner. You may choose from from a variety of delights, everything from one of our lovely relaxing facial treatments to wines from one of the best wine cellars in Sweden.We have received some harsh reviews regarding our rooms and the spaarea before. But please note that the spa-area is newly renowated (summer of 2012), our Superior rooms have been renovated in the spring of 2013. The Standard rooms are from 2006, so none of the rooms have the style of 1991 anymore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Selma Spa

Address: Sundsberget 3, Sunne 686 28, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Varmland County > Sunne
Price Range: €171 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Selma Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Selma Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Selma Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“newly renovated is recommended”
  • Hotel bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Frequenttraveller125, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a nice view of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles KattisL, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Very long corridors - so try to get a room near the lifts!”
 of 5 bubbles BryanSweden, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Select rooms on the "new" renovated wing.... (3xx, 4xx) Far better than the ones in the "old" wing (2xx).”
 of 5 bubbles Niklasoslo, 24 Aug 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in room 425, which is a two floor room in the old part of the Spa. A nice bath with a great big bathtub on the first floor, together with a nice lounge with a big flat screen TV. The bedroom is on the second floor with own bathroom, and a porch. Mind this is the old part of the Spa, and thus the porch is quite worn out. But it's nice and quiet, further away from the dance floor in the bar, and the dining area. All which can have some noise to it, as people tend to go outside. Then again, the place is BIG, so you have to walk for a little stretch on the 4th floor, to reach room 425. It's almost at the end. I would pick this room again anytime.”
 of 5 bubbles Ritcheyx, 11 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay