We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sunset

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Sunset
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent a week at The Sunset while on a birding tour and our room was just perfect for what we needed. Comfortable bed (though it did move around a bit at times!), nice large shower and all we needed to make our breakfasts and lunches. Missed out on sunsets and the red crabs migration, but watching Golden Bosunbirds from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindsayjq
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled to Xmas Island to watch the red crab migration....and weren't disappointed. Unfortunately, our 3 night stay became 2 nights as our Virgin flight from Cocos islands was delayed 27 hours. Ang, owner, recommended we hire a 4WD (a must to explore the quite large island - we drove 187 kms in 2 days!), and the hotel ticked all... More 

Helpful?
Thank kpc_kpc
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

It was a shame you lost a day of your holiday due to flight disruptions. Since the delay was through no fault of yours I felt you should not be penalised further by paying for accommodation you didn't receive! On a plus you were still able to see the crab migration. I look forward to your return to see a... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I visited Christmas Island for work in September. What was meant to be a 2 day trip turned into 11 days due to unseasonal weather cancelling all flights in and off the island. Throughout this time my colleague and I stayed at the beautiful Sunsets Hotel. Great location overlooking the Indian Ocean, spacious clean and quiet rooms, relaxing swimming pool.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Erica C
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. It is very much appreciated. Your extended stay on the Island is a record for a guest of The Sunset but you made the most of the delay! It was a pleasure to have you here. On a positive note you were able to see parts of the Island time would not have... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stayed here for four nights and loved the location, had everything except meals. Our room on the upper level was big and had a balcony with excepllent views, Sunset was a nice quiet place to relax. There is a swimming pool and the wifi in rooms was free. For meals it was a lot more trickier, many places were not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Helen N
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset and seeing the crabs! A much needed café opened a couple of weeks ago in Settlement which is open for breakfast & lunch. Café 1888. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Great location on the coast looking out over the ocean watching boats pass., 2 mins walk to local pub/resturant and 10 mins walk to supermarket. Access to a kitchen in adjoining biulding if you need it. We used the BBQ in the pool area for a few late nights.

Helpful?
Thank Rod P
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your upper level room with ocean views! Also the pool and barbecue area! It is a good spot to relax! More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I visited The Sunset in Christmas Island and stayed in one of the Seaview ground floor rooms for 10 nights during May 2016. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with plenty of room for mine and my husbands luggage including underwater camera gear. There was a good sized fridge, kettle and toaster with tea, coffee and fresh milk supplied daily.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Perth_Scuba
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

Thankyou Perth Scuba for visiting us once again. I apologise for the mobile bed! Each bed on tiles is supposed to have castor cups underneath the castors! Thank you for your kind words. It was good to see you enjoying yourselves! More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
169 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a week and didn't get a single sunset - there were always clouds in the way as the sun was going down ! Whether you're coming to Australia's northernmost extremity on vacation or on business - this is the place to stay: Right location Easy parking on site Fridge/microwave/toaster/kettle/free average signal strength wifi/reasonable (Australian only) satellite TV choice... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Amstraveler
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. I would have to say the weather during your stay was eventful! Not seeing a sunset was such a shame along with the dive operator being away on holiday. However you took it on the chin and made the most of our beautiful Island. Big thanks to Jahna & Dan for taking... More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Our once-in-a-lifetime crab watching December 2015 adventure started when we arrived at The Sunset Resort. We had a lovely time there - and we couldn't fault it. We were within very easy walking distance of the local shops at the Settlement. Our large and very clean room plus bathroom, with our own balcony, overlooked those magical sea views where we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sunset and the views of the ocean. I remember well the hiccup with the lost suitcase keys but you got to see your first red crabs as a bonus! Thankyou for the kind comments and the postcard from Melbourne last week. You were delightful guests. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Great spot for accomodation and hosts on a pleasant rock in the middle of nowhere. Wonderful people all over the Island. Every Australian should visit here at least once to experience a great spot. Not like your holiday islands of spending etc. More a cultural diversity. Great snorkelling and diving and fishing and jungle walks and sights etc. Thoroughly reccommended

Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff1701
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

Spread the word Geoff! Christmas Island is very unique! Great comments! More 

austrailia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Best place to stay in CI Great rooms lovely and clean serviced daily all the other reviews spot on location location the pool area fantastic clean and refreshing after a day out in the heat the Golden Bosun hotel a hop skip and a jump great meals and service walking distance to town Free wifi works at front of the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ozzygypsy
Angela J, Owner at The Sunset, responded to this review

I am so pleased you had a good week on the Island and enjoyed staying at The Sunset. More 

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flying Fish Cove hotels
0.0 km away
VQ3 Lodge
VQ3 Lodge
#2 of 3 in Flying Fish Cove
11 reviews
0.0 km away
The Cocos Padang Lodge
The Cocos Padang Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flying Fish Cove
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sunset has a perfect location with ocean frontage. The rooms are serviced daily. Rooms are air-conditioned with king / queen size beds or twin share. All rooms have an en-suite, microwave, fridge, toaster & cutlery/crockery for two. Centrally located at Settlement, The Sunset is only a short stroll to shops ,The Golden Bosun Tavern & Rumah Tinggi Restaurant. WIFI is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sunset

Address: 4/55-63 Gaze Road | Settlement, Christmas Island, Flying Fish Cove, Christmas Island 6798, Australia
Region: Australia > Christmas Island > Flying Fish Cove
Price Range: €98 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sunset staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hong Kong, China

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sunset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a room with an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles kpc_kpc, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room 204 was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles HelenN162, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms = private balcony, flyscreen doors. Downstairs front room - no flyscreen doors & share communal balcony”
 of 5 bubbles rhodp, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms with Seaview on second floor”
 of 5 bubbles Perth_Scuba, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“We were very lucky with our room on the first floor - balcony overlooking the sea, quiet, peaceful, ever changing sea views”
 of 5 bubbles jennyr399, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay