We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Morritt Country House Hotel

0.0 km from Greta Bridge centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 407: English reviews
Start your review of The Morritt Country House Hotel
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Never heard of Greta Bridge before we were introduced to this lovely part of the country by friends, Ray & Sue. Hotel is a very good location for the places we visited - High Force waterfall, Barnard Castle and best of all Bowes Museum. What a great weekend! The staff at the hotel are really friendly and helpful and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol268
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just off the (busy) A66 around 10 miles north of Scotch Corner. Lovely building which has obviously had money spent on it recently - new carpets, good decor but still retaining character of a country manor hotel. Very please this staff, well appointed bedroom with great shower. Attached is the spa facility, review separately. We had a meal in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly staff, room was clean and comfortable. But the food was the best ever..... Id happily drive the three hour trip from home for just the meal. You cannot fault this hotel.... I will definitely be re booking if passing again on business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewh102016
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here for a business meeting the following day at Barnard Castle. Nice independent hotel with quirky decor and old world charm. Friendly staff at check in although they were having difficulty with new wifi router which can be an issue for those that are email and internet dependant an as mobile phone signal is not available on most network...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BJHurst
MorrittGM, Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello BJHurst, Thank you for a great review. As you are aware we aim to have all issues with the WIFI ironed out asap with it then offering all that you need as a business or leisure guest. We are on a rolling refurb program and all the feedback is very well appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely 2 night stay at The Morritt Country House Hotel. The staff are all exceptional, very friendly and very helpful. We were given a beautiful room by Michelle who made us feel at home immediately she is so friendly and helpful (she even came to our room to sort out my husbands computer). The food in the restaurant Gilroys was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathherring
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello heathherring, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you found everyone so welcoming, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Morritt Country Hotel & The Garage Spa- I was Overwhelmed & also very pleased with Myself as I had booked this Fab hotel as a surprise for my partner for 3rd Feb. I had obviously not informed him that I had emailed & requested if possible for us to have a Four Poster Bed.. I was fortunate to receive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lesley l
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lesley, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and that all the staff had welcomed you well, and I hope we can welcome you back to The Morritt Hotel and Garage Spa very soon. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited a couple of weeks back had a great room with views of the garden.Had food in the bar and it was really well prepared with all the traditional dishes you expect from hotel bar. Breakfast next morning had everything you need cooked well and the best poached eggs. All staff brilliant and couldn't do enough for you. Will be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lemontop21
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lemontop21, So glad you had an enjoyable time at The Morritt Hotel and Garage Spa! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Today I have been to the garage spa bought as a xmas present off my daughter having been there before was really looking forward as it also included her nan where we got a lovely back massage.the spa it's self was far too over crowded having to wait for facilities so very disappointed. I then asked at reception about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raws800
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello raws800, Thank you for your feedback. It does shock me a little as we have had some really positive feedback about Sunday Lunch recently. The comment about the famous person does not sit right with me as all the staff aim to treat everyone with the same level of service. As stated we have recieved psoitive feedback about the...

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I attended for a wedding, and stayed in a standard room for 2 nights with breakfast. The lounge area is very cosy with comfy seating, and the function areas good too. The bar has great old pub decor, but when we arrived we had to wait a long time, before going back to reception to get them to find the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine G
MorrittGM, Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed. I am really glad you mentioned out fantastic gin selection and the improved hotwater i hope this goes in some way to show people reading our reviews that we are trying to improve all areas of our guest experience. I am personally looking into this and if...

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for a brief one night stay while visiting the area on business. The hotel staff are polite and friendly. The food is good and reasonably priced. Rooms are clean if a bit dated. My biggest complaint was the Wi-Fi, which was patchy at best in all areas of the hotel and if you want to use your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 935steve
MorrittGM, Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. In terms of the WIFI we are in the process of updating this to make it more accessible for our guests. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to call me on 01833627232 or email me on gm@themorritt.co.uk. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
18.3 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,954 reviews
11.1 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
38.6 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
963 reviews
21.7 km away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
739 reviews
4.0 km away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Address: The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Greta Bridge
Price Range: €86 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morritt Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Morritt Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Motherwell, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Morritt Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in The Chrystal room 40 - lovely 4 poster and comfortable suite and roll top bath”
 of 5 bubbles heathherring, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in The Crystal Bungalow attached to The Garage Spa- NOT noisey when Spa is open... Tranquil...”
  • Antique Pine Four Poster Bed in Crystal Bungalow.....
  • The Garage Spa- 1 of 3 Tubs this is the Hottest One.... I only misjudged step & went in head fir
  • Free Standing Bath.... Heaven...
 of 5 bubbles 24lesleyl, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms above the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 935steve, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid Room 9,,,very warm next to boiler room !!”
 of 5 bubbles StuartWflyfisher, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the room before you accept.”
 of 5 bubbles Beejay1948, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5